We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, clean and modern room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oaks Gateway on Palmer

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Oaks Gateway on Palmer to your Saves list
Oaks Gateway on Palmer
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Dibbs Street, Townsville, Queensland 4810, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 41 Hotels in Townsville
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great location, clean and modern room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights for work and this hotel was perfect. It was close enough to walk back into town for meetings and had a number of restaurants downstairs. I stayed in a 1 bedroom apartment which had plenty of room, nice balcony and very clean. The only downsides were the corridor smelt like cigarette smoke and the TV in the main living area didn't have a connection to free-to-air channels. Service in reception was great, no complaints and were very accommodating for early check-in. Just keep in mind that given Oaks are serviced apartments that they don't provide room service.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksGateway, Manager at Oaks Gateway on Palmer, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and were able to take advantage of our fantastic location. Could I possibly trouble you for the room number you stayed in so that I may investigate the TV operation and make any repairs as all units should have access to both free-to-air and selected Austar channels? As you have pointed out, it is dissapointing that we need to remind residents and guests that this is a non-smoking complex, but when this occurs, every effort is made to remove odours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    117
    30
    8
    8
See reviews for
48
75
10
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Had a three night stay in Hotel Room , was really impressed , room was well layed out , clean and modern . Fantastic pool area with 25 meter horizon pool overlooking the river ! Very central location , easy walk to restaurant and entertainment area's .

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Autralia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Oaks on Palmer is a mixture of private units and holiday accom. Rooms are small, bland and very clean. Poolarea is nice, staff - one good and one bad experience. Dont like reception staff with attitude! The king is actually a split king (2 singles pushed together with a fancy name), this annoys me as I spend alot of time looking for properties with K beds -not splits! I would stay here again but would check other places first!!

Room Tip: Ask for city views looks nice at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksCustomerFeedback, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Gateway on Palmer, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Gateway on Palmer. We are glad you found your room clean and the pool area nice and we hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed here for one night. There is no resturant adjoined but there are cafes along the same street. There was no microwave in the room. There was missing cutlery & the kettle wouldn't switch off, which we informed the reception about on checkout. The king size bed was nice, but the sheets,doona & pillow cases had stains.Everything about this room was very average. It is in a handy location, but we found everything in Townsville to be over~priced!!

Room Tip: When you are told the room on level 3 has water views ~ Don't be expecting anything exciting...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moffat beach, australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We had 2 night stay after spending a week on Magnetic Island. I searched the net and having my husband, son and daughter in law and 2 year, we needed a place close to the Marina and the Oceanarium. I settled on Oaks and they matched any price I found. The reservation personal were helpful, friendly and couldn't do enough to assist. After reading many of the Trip Advisor reviews I thought had I made a wrong decision. The apartment was roomy clean and everything you would need. Only drawback, being close to hotel, restaurant, nightclub areas, it was noisy with revellers late at night. Having the air con on muffled the sound somewhat. The location was very good, with great markets on Flinders Street on Sunday morning..short walk over a pedestrian bridge to Tourist Information and coffee outlets. Keep up the good work..Will be back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksCustomerFeedback, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Gateway on Palmer, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Gateway on Palmer. It is wonderful to read that we were able to play a part in making your family holiday an enjoyable one. We are pleased to read that you found your apartment spacious, clean and well equipped and in a good location. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We had a 2 bedroom apartment. Air-con in both rooms, plus the lounge, which was great. The kitchen was excellent - great facilities. We had a 6 seater dining table plus a 4 seater table on the balcony so there was plenty of room for all of us.

The location was excellent with plenty of eateries etc. along Palmer St. We had a view back to the City overlooking the pool and mariner, which was really nice.

Free parking in the under-cover parking was very convenient.

The only negative for our room was that the carpet was extremely filthy. If we walked around bare foot, our feet would be disgustingly filthy and definately had to shower before going to bed.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksCustomerFeedback, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Gateway on Palmer, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Gateway on Palmer. It is wonderful to read that you found your apartment spacious and well equipped. We are pleased you were able to enjoy the location and you were able to sit back and enjoy the view from your apartment. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Chose this property based on other reviews read here on trip advisor. Because my partner and I were staying for a week in Townsville we chose to stay in a self contained 1 bedroom apartment.

Easy to find - relatively close to the airport with excellent parking facilities for those traveling with cars (though carpark a little busy on Saturday night). Mix up on check in revealed reception staff were not aware of our reservation (booking made through travel agent) - I kept all confirmation emails in hardcopy this helped to resolve the issue as well as there being vacancy at the time.

Room (411) was on corner of Palmer and Dean Street with great view of the CBD and Victoria bridge seen from a good sized balcony. The apartment was self contained with excellent cooking/kitchen facilities and utensils - dishwasher and washing machine/dryer was a great bonus. Bed very comfortable and large clean bathroom.

Apartment was serviced every day by friendly staff and clean towels supplied daily - pool facility was outstanding with many hours there enjoyed.

Overall delighted with this property, would appreciate check in issue investigated as I feel if no room were available despite my confirmation email than this review would not be so positive. Also since the property is on walking route between Townsville's restaurant strip and night clubs the odd colourful comment could be heard cleary from passers by at all hours of the night.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksCustomerFeedback, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Gateway on Palmer, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Gateway on Palmer. It is wonderful to read that you found your apartment excellent and well equipped, with comfortable beds and clean bathrooms. We are pleased you were able to enjoy the location and explore Townsville and relax on your balcony. We would appreciate the opportunity to investigate the issues with your booking so ask you please contact us on customerfeedback@theoaksgroup.com.au. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Oaks Gateway on Palmer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Gateway on Palmer

Address: 2 Dibbs Street, Townsville, Queensland 4810, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Townsville
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Townsville
#5 Luxury Hotel in Townsville
#8 Business Hotel in Townsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks Gateway on Palmer 4.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oaks Gateway on Palmer is Townsville's next generation in resort-style accommodation. Located five minutes walk from the CBD & a two minute drive to the Strand,the hotel has a range of restaurants & cafes on its doorstop on cosmopolitan Palmer Street. Offering FREE secure parking, FREE GYM,FREE FOXTEL & FREE WIFI, Oaks Gateway on Palmer boasts spacious hotel, one & two bedroom apartments and is a perfect choice for families, couples or the business traveller. All accommodation options offer sleek modern decor and spectacular river,and hinterland views. Apartment features include full kitchen and laundry facilities, separate lounge and dining area, work desk & balcony. We have restaurant chargeback facilities to the very popular Ribs & Rumps (onsite) as well as the eliquant Jam Corner Restaurant straight across from our hotel. To cater for that special function or meeting we also have our very own Conference Venue located on the same street (Metropole Conference & Events) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Oaks Gateway on Palmer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks Gateway On Palmer Hotel Townsville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oaks Gateway on Palmer, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.