We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All good - great room, great service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oaks M on Palmer

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Oaks M on Palmer to your Saves list
Oaks M on Palmer
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   81 Palmer Street, Townsville, Queensland 4810, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay Longer and Save!
Ranked #7 of 39 Hotels in Townsville
Dunedin, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“All good - great room, great service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2010

This place is lovely! Very new, rooms had everything you could want including kitchen in studio. Great space to store your luggage and nice comfy bed. Service from staff was friendly and efficient. There is a nice hotel in front, which we spent some time in meeting and talking to locals, it also did good meals. Hotel M is at the far end of Palmer St but it is only a short stroll to bars and restaurants. There is also a bus stop a coule of metres up the road for the circut bus.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    92
    35
    6
    2
See reviews for
16
94
21
67
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
australia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2010

Really impressed with the rooms- i stayed in a studio room. It had a kitchenette- it is more for self-catering than room service, etc. Nice and new. Not great views from my room. It was about 15min walk from Flinders street where the main shopping strip is. About 10 mins from some restaurants on Palmer st. Not too bad, but I walked everywhere, and the walking added up after a while!
Main problem was the pool- right next door to reception, in the shade, not heated. It was FREEZING! It looked like iot was more for show than for actual use. The gym was pretty good.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeppoon, Queensland
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2010

As someone who travels a lot for work, I was not too sure about Hotel M when I made the booking, as it was not quite in the centre of the city - however I thought I would give it a go as the price was good.

Hotel M was clean and bright, friendly staff was a pleasant surprise as I had been on one of the flights in which the words 'delay, delay, delay' are used - so a friendly welcome won my heart as a starting point.

Hotel M is very new, all nice and clean and with modern fixtures. While my room was not as large as I had hoped, it turned out that it was very effective for the 4 days I was going to be spending in it. I was at one end of the building (which I like because I have less shared walls for noise) and did not have any interesting views, but that was ok with me.
The bathroom was clean and newish, however poor lighting if you’re a male who has to shave and the water pressure in the shower was just hopeless. I took off the shower head, but still no better pressure! I am not sure why places do this. As people end up in the showers for three times as long, and I personally am not myself if I don’t have a good shower in the mornings.

The bed was a king and very comfortable. A small kitchen area was all I needed for my stay, but it looked like you could have cooked a 4 course meal if you wanted to.
While the walk is some distance to the city, many would find it too far and in summer, it would be to hot to walk that distance unless you wanted to turn up covered in sweat.
Hotel M is in a nice quiet area, with easy access to some nice places to eat. I believe it had a small gym and pool, but as these options don't interest me - I did not really check them out.

I would stay at Hotel M again!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2010 via mobile

Very happy with the choice, ok so it's not right in the centre of town but it isn't really that far to walk and it is a pleasant walk.
Rooms are incredibly clean and well appointed, cooking facilities, dishwasher, washing machine etc.
Very good value

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2010

We stayed for one night travelling up from Airlie Beach to Cairns and loved the hotel. We were upgraded to a suite which was huge and had waterfront views. The room iteself was spotlessly clean and very modern. Yes, there is only a small pool (next to reception) and yes the hotel is at the very bottom of Palmer Street (but this means it's quiet especially on a Sat night!) but we got a bargain last minute price online and I would definitely stay here again.

Word of warning re: Palmer Street, very expensive but maybe it's just the poor exchange rate!

We loved Townsville, it's a young, vibrant city. If you can, go for a wander along the Strand and stop at Juliets for breakfast. The views and criossants are so worth it!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2010

On our recent holiday in Townsville we stayed in a studio at Hotel M on Palmer Street.

Each studio has a king-sized bed, couch and bench with sink, convection microwave, large fridge and dishwasher so you can be self-sufficient if need be. We were lucky enough to stay on the 11th floor, giving us a gorgeous view across Ross Creek and the marina to Magnetic Island.

We found the rooms to be very comfortable, which is probably why we decided to stay four nights instead of the two originally booked. And the location on Palmer Street is wonderful with a myriad of restaurants, bars and cafes to choose from when it's meal time.

We would certainly stay again, finding the location better suited to us than some of the older accommodation available on and around the Strand area.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North West QLD
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2010

Going by the reviews we read on here, I was expecting more from Hotel M.

It was very modern and new and clean, flatscreen tv, small balcony. Quite a good sized shower. The rooms are serviced daily.

But...

The rooms were small - obviously we weren't expecting huge judging by the price, but it was very compact.

Yes, technically it's situated on Palmer Street, but it's right down the very end, a fair walk from the main "action" if you will.

Limited carparking, quite small spaces - you could barely fit 2 regular size cars between the concrete pillars.

There is a swimming pool, but it's right next to reception, which some people probably wouldn't use solely because of that.

There's absolutely no signage from the road, we later discovered it has a big neon sign basically at the top of the highrise, which is only really visible from across the river and no help if you're trying to find it.

The shower kept tripping out between hot and cold, we didn't have the mini dishwasher going or anything so not sure why that was.

Minor details, but we most likely won't be staying there again.

One of the best things about it was the Indian restaurant next door - delicious!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oaks M on Palmer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks M on Palmer

Address: 81 Palmer Street, Townsville, Queensland 4810, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Townsville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Townsville
#4 Luxury Hotel in Townsville
#6 Business Hotel in Townsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks M on Palmer 4.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
M on Palmer is a 4 1/2 star self catering property located on cosmopolitan Palmer Street. The hotel is surrounded by lovely a dining precinct with a vast array of restaurants, cafes, city night life and Jupiters Casino. Oaks M on Palmer Townsville features 11 floors of modern, fully self contained studio apartment accommodation complete with washers and dryers - which is ideal for the business and leisure travellers alike. The Metropole Hotel (located on site) is a true Queensland icon which has been reopened and offers conference rooms as well as dining facilities for breakfast, lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Oaks M on Palmer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
m Hotel Townsville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oaks M on Palmer, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.