We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location not ideal for tourist ok for business” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Oaks M on Palmer

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Oaks M on Palmer to your Saves list
Oaks M on Palmer
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   81 Palmer Street, Townsville, Queensland 4810, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay Longer and Save!
Ranked #7 of 39 Hotels in Townsville
Burnie, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Location not ideal for tourist ok for business”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Stayed two nights on first visit to Townsville en route to Magnetic Island. Should have booked on Strand as location and room size not ideal for tourist, obviously more focused on corporate travellers. Reception staff excellent on checkin. Studio rooms are small but comfortable and property is very clean and fairly new. View of harbour from small balcony (level 7), close proximity to ferry terminal for Magnetic Island. Pool receives little sun and is in total view of reception, gym was very good. Very very pleased we read the Trip Advisor reviews and cancelled our booking at Aquarius Property which looked totally shabby.

Room Tip: Request Level 7 or above, preferably 11
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksM0nPalmer, Manager at Oaks M on Palmer, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
I am pleased that you received excellent service during your stay. We do offer Executive apartments which are larger than our studio apartments with beautiful views of the city, ocean and Magnetic Island. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    92
    35
    6
    2
See reviews for
16
94
21
67
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

This was my second stay for business at the Oaks M on Palmer, this time just for one night. The Oaks M is at the very end of Palmer Street and tucked around a corner in what was once reputed to be a seedy area of Townsville. For a first time customer, you will likely have difficulty locating it without local directions. The room I had on this occasion was very compact, probably too much so given that the large fridge was at the foot of the bed and ran all night. The room was also somewhat musty but that could have been for any number of reasons. Service was friendly and if you are after someting not quite in the centre of Townsville, this might fit your bill.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksM0nPalmer, Manager at Oaks M on Palmer, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
I am delighted our service was friendly and that you continue to choose us for your accomodation needs. I appreciate you taking the time to share your comments and look forward to seeing you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Plus: Room comfortable enough to stay in for several days. Good supply of kitchen implements. Bed comfortable. Quiet. Within walking distance to Magnetic Island ferry & town centre.
Card-key security for lift and after-hours entrance.
Minus: Check-in promised for 14:00 and while actually available at 13:20 that's still too late. (Asian hotels can do morning check-ins - why not Townsville?) Receptionist defensive when asked for estimate of room availability. Odd room entry arrangement - a very small lobby off main passage for two separate rooms.
Rather aggressive signs in room about penalties for causing false fire alarms with toaster.
Balcony not fully enclosed so you wouldn't want to be with young children (or let your "schoolies stay here). Wi Fi not free. Not cheap $152.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksM0nPalmer, Manager at Oaks M on Palmer, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
It was pleasant to hear that our facilities suited your needs and our beds were comfortable. I appreciate you taking the time to share your comments. I do hope you will join us again on your next trip to Townsville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

I stayed here for a few days while in Townsville on business. I was pleasantly surprised as some of the reviews were negative. It's a bit out of the way - down the end of Palmer but it is nice & quiet and the walk up to the cafe every morning is good for you. Plenty of restaurants up the road and having the pub out the front is handy although I didn't eat there. The room I stayed in had a nice view over to the hills and was quite clean and well maintained.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksM0nPalmer, Manager at Oaks M on Palmer, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you for your great review. I am really glad you enjoyed your recent stay with us and enjoyed your view. The cleanliness of our apartments is something we pride ourselves on and I will happily pass your comments on to our team. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
qld
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

A little out of the way if you are new to Townsville . If you have a car and are selfcatering the provision of cooking facilities and washer/dryer would be good if you want to risk the fire department visiitng as others have noted. I found the furnishings and carpet to be cheap . My room had a nice view of the water , but the bathroom was a stark disabled toilet/tower combination with no information of this given on checkin.- great if you need it ;a little depressing if you don't (yet!). It wasnt particularly cheap (155$) and wi-fi was expensive.

Room Tip: its hit and miss ; ask to change if you don't like it
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksM0nPalmer, Manager at Oaks M on Palmer, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
It was disappointing our facilities did not meet your expectations on this occasion. I appreciate your feedback and do hope you will give us a second chance on your next trip to Townsville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We were lucky enough to get a very good week end deal and for the price we paid we probably expected a lot less than we got. We were very surprised when we arrived at how good the hotel is for the price we were charged.

Yes the hotel is way at the end of Palmer Street, and it is behind a hotel. But it's still only a five minute walk to the restaurant precinct. The hotel itself can't be faulted. It' s spotlessly clean and modern with all the facilities you need. Staff are helpful and well trained and there is ample free parking for guests and visitors.

Our room had a small stove top, full size fridge, sink and microwave. The furnishings and fittings were modern and well maintained. Air conditioner was excellent and there was even a small laundry hidden n a cupboard. Pretty much everything we needed for a short stay. And the price for this? $79 per night.

It's hard to machine better value and the Oaks M will certainly be my hotel of choice n Townsville.

Room Tip: The mount Stuart suites don't have a view f the ocean, but the are get comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksM0nPalmer, Manager at Oaks M on Palmer, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Thank you for your outstanding review. It was nice to see you enjoyed your trip and that our weekend deals were within your budget. I will pass on your comments to our Front Office and Housekeeping teams who I'm sure will be as delighted as I am. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oaks M on Palmer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks M on Palmer

Address: 81 Palmer Street, Townsville, Queensland 4810, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Townsville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Townsville
#4 Romantic Hotel in Townsville
#6 Business Hotel in Townsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks M on Palmer 4.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
M on Palmer is a 4 1/2 star self catering property located on cosmopolitan Palmer Street. The hotel is surrounded by lovely a dining precinct with a vast array of restaurants, cafes, city night life and Jupiters Casino. Oaks M on Palmer Townsville features 11 floors of modern, fully self contained studio apartment accommodation complete with washers and dryers - which is ideal for the business and leisure travellers alike. The Metropole Hotel (located on site) is a true Queensland icon which has been reopened and offers conference rooms as well as dining facilities for breakfast, lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Oaks M on Palmer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
m Hotel Townsville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oaks M on Palmer, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.