We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel - Average Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oaks M on Palmer

Save Saved
You added Oaks M on Palmer to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Oaks M on Palmer
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   81 Palmer Street, Townsville, Queensland 4810, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay 3 Nights & Save 10%!
Ranked #5 of 39 hotels in Townsville
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great Hotel - Average Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Firstly the good - this is a modern, clean and comfortable hotel. The added facilities of the studio apartment we had made our stay that much more convenient and it was only a short walk to the many restaurants at the other end of Palmer St. There is free onsite parking and the pool and gym looked good.
And the less good - we booked through a popular third party booking site and on arrival the desk clerk could not find the booking and did little to solve the problem, even suggesting that if my card was charged by the hotel I could call and sort it out later - yes perhaps I could but..... Anyway on checkout the staff were more helpful but as nothing had been followed up it still took some time to sort things out. Anyway in the overall scheme of things it was just an annoyance and we would definitely stay again (by which time they will hopefully have free wifi :) )

Room Tip: There seem to be city and mountain (?) view rooms - given the choice the City/Sea view would be bett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksMonPalmer, Manager at Oaks M on Palmer, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Thank you for your review in regards your recent stay at M on Palmer. I was delighted to find that you were pleased with our apartments, facilities and location. It is a shame that the customer service was not up to our usual standard and I will discuss this with our team to ensure this is not repeated. We hope to welcome you back to Oaks M on Palmer soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    86
    77
    32
    5
    1
See reviews for
12
87
21
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Was at the hotel for business and the rooms are very spacious with their own amenities such as kitchen and laundry. Although no restaurant of room service there are quite a few places close by to eat. The only downside was needing to wait several minutes before the shower started having hot watter.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksMonPalmer, Manager at Oaks M on Palmer, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you for your lovely feedback and it is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay. For a convenient dining option we work closely with the adjacent Metropole Hotel who offer room chargeback and takeaway facilities exclusively for our guests. We hope to see you here again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

I stayed here with a room overlooking the marina. Excellent accommodation, very roomy with a balcony and very helpful staff. The only downside was they do not have room service. However right in front of this hotel is another with reasonably priced breakfasts and lunch, more expensive dinner but great outlook over the marina. Up Palmer St are dozens of restaurants, bit pricey but a take away fish and chips (upmarket) reasonably priced and best fish and chips ever. As a single woman travelling my only concern was walking from this hotel a few blocks before all the other restaurants started, it was a bit dark however I had no problems.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the marina. Noise was not an issue at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksMonPalmer, Manager at Oaks M on Palmer, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks M on Palmer. We are glad that you had a comfortable stay and enjoyed the facilities available to you in your room and also at the adjacent Metropole Pub Hotel. We hope to see you here again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

When arrived for Anniversay we were up graded to a Cirty Veiw room which was amazing at night and also given a ninth floor veiw.Great start to one night that ended in two nights away.
Thanks o our friendly staff .
Rooms were narrow but very comfy and impression when first walked in to the room ,was very chic and well presented,. Staff were very helpful and willing to go the extra mile with any questions we had.
Food was accessable easily as on the main street of some fantastic Resturants and in walking distance.Also Metropole out front of Hotel has lovely food if want to relax which can be brought back to your room.

Room Tip: Choose City veiw and floor up higher for overall experience if never been to Townsville and like vei...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksMonPalmer, Manager at Oaks M on Palmer, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you so much for your lovely feedback. It is really great to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We aim to deliver great customer service here at Oaks M on Palmer and it is positive to see this reflected in your comments. We hope to welcome you back here next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeppoon
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

I was at this apartment hotel for a conference next door at the metropole hotel. The room was narrow but functional and the high ceiling made up for the narrowness. The bed was comfy and the pillows were good. The warnings about accidently setting off the smoke alarms and being hit with a $1300 fine was a bit off putting. I was in a 1st floor room right above recepetion and had a lovely view of a Wall. I couldn't even see the sky unless I went out on the balcony. As I was visiting Townsville for a conference about the reef and coast I was dissapointed to not even be able to see anything from my room. I didn't complain as I wasn't paying but If I had been I would have requested another room or changed hotels. Location was good and it was handy for the metropole bar and restaurant, an indian restaurant and there was a good selection of other restaurants a 5 minute walk down the road. It is not right in town but you can enjoy the Townsville skyline and castle hill view from rooms facing north and higher up. Some fellow guests complained to me about the noise from the backpackers next door as well. get a high floor and all should be good.
The first floor landing seems to be a laundry trolley storage area, which wasn't that inviting. The pool looked nice but hardly got any sun and looked cold. (it's not heated).

Overall it was in a good spot (close but not in town), loads of restaurants nearby, the room was clean, well presented and functional. Staff were friendly enough but not overly enthusiastic. Metropole pub next door was clean, friendly and good meals and you can charge back to your room. Would I stay here again? I am undecided.

Room Tip: DO NOT GET ROOM 103B ask for a room higher up facing North for a view of Townsville, Castle Hill an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksCustomerFeedback, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks M on Palmer, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks M on Palmer. It is great to hear that you enjoyed the room facilities and the fantastic meals at the Metropole Pub. To take advantage of the views this city has to offer we recommend booking a City Scape Studio located on our higher floors. We hope to welcome you back here on your next visit to Townsville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

The only negative aspect of the hotel is that it may be hard to find! However most locals know where it is and if u go to the other Oaks, they give u clear and precise directions. Not hard at all. We had the studio room on the third floor. Absolutely perfect. Room was emmaculate and the beds were so so comfortable! The staff were professional and friendly too. Hotel is a stones away from great eating places and a short walk to flinders street. Highly recommend the hotel. Will def return if going to visit Tnvs again. Oh don't worry about the pub noise, just close the door. We had no problems.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksCustomerFeedback, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks M on Palmer, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks M on Palmer. It is wonderful to read that you found your apartment immaculate and with comfortable beds. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed the location and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Recently stayed in beautiful Townsville for a wedding. Decided after seeing TripAdvisor that Oaks M on Palmer would be the place to stay. Palmer St is only about 15 minutes from the airport, so a quick and cheap taxi ride. Check-in was fairly fast and efficient, however didn't feel like the receptionist was really too keen on giving us information. We did ask a few questions, however she didn't really seem in the mood or something. On arriving to our room, we found it to be quite nice and modern, with all the appliances you need for a few day stay. There are a few warnings about the fire alarm, however in saying that it is obviously needed, and we had no problem with being advised in so many places!

You can dine and drink at the downstairs Metropole hotel, and charge items back to your room from there, which we found extremely handy. It is also right next to a Backpackers, so you meet quite a few colourful characters while you are there! The Metropole does also do breakfast in the mornings (between 7am-9am I think) however would have been good to be told this is not on the weekends, only weekdays.

We used both the gym and the pool while there - the gym could do with a water cooller and towel stand, but had some good equipment and all seemed fairly new. Don't be fooled however by the nice photos of the pool on the website - it is quite small, located right next to the entrance and Reception and overlooked by the Backpackers, and under shade most of the day. Not great, but at least Townsville has a beach!

We found the housekeeping service to be quite inconsistent - the first couple of days were fine, even though the room was made up differently each day, then we didn't have our room serviced at all, it was the next day but didn't leave us any towels! Speaking of towels, they do have an environmental policy that states if you leave your towels on the floor they'll take them, if you don't need them cleaned then hang them up and they won't be replaced - we hung them up every day but still had them replaced. Not a complaint as new towels are always nice, but still didn't need them done.

While all of the above was quite alright and wouldn't affect my choice to stay again, what would influence my choice is the distance to the main hub, especially not having a car. It wasn't that far away from anything, but to get the main section of Palmer St, or even further to the city or the ferry terminal, be prepared for quite a hike. We did end up walking this at least once or twice every day, so it would have been nicer to be already staying right in the centre of Palmer St, rather than right at the very end.

All in all, a nice hotel, but will stay somewhere closer to the restaurants next time.

Room Tip: View overlooking the water is nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksCustomerFeedback, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks M on Palmer, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks M on Palmer. It is great to read that you found your room nice, modern and well equipped and that you could take advantage of the restaurant being close by. For future reference, we have another hotel in Townsville, Oaks Gateway on Palmer which is closer to the heart of Palmer Street. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Oaks M on Palmer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks M on Palmer

Address: 81 Palmer Street, Townsville, Queensland 4810, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Townsville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Townsville
#4 Romantic Hotel in Townsville
#4 Luxury Hotel in Townsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks M on Palmer 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
M on Palmer is a 4 1/2 star self catering property located on cosmopolitan Palmer Street. The hotel is surrounded by lovely a dining precinct with a vast array of restaurants, cafes, city night life and Jupiters Casino. Oaks M on Palmer Townsville features 11 floors of modern, fully self contained studio apartment accommodation complete with washers and dryers - which is ideal for the business and leisure travellers alike. The Metropole Hotel (located on site) is a true Queensland icon which has been reopened and offers conference rooms as well as dining facilities for breakfast, lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelTravel.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Oaks M on Palmer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
m Hotel Townsville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oaks M on Palmer, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.