We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet & Peaceful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oaks M on Palmer

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Oaks M on Palmer to your Saves list
Oaks M on Palmer
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   81 Palmer Street, Townsville, Queensland 4810, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Direct & Save 10%
Ranked #7 of 41 Hotels in Townsville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Brisbane QLD
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Quiet & Peaceful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Stayed there for Buiness this week. It is an Apartmnet hotel and is at located at the bottom end of Palmer steet, so in one way it is a lot quieter, but in another way it is a long walk to the great restauants of Palmer street. Although if you like a Pub there is one right at you front door where you can eat Breakfast Lunch & Dinner if you so choose.

My room did share a common door, then we each had our own door. The doors are heavy but once you know that, it is still easy not to disturb your neighbour if you hold the door while it shuts.

It is designed for peope who want to stay longer than one night with a Mini Dishwasher, Microwave and Washing Machine. For a business person like me though there is not really a desk to work on unless you put your notebook right againt the TV which is a great size for watching from the couch.

My room was at the back of the hotel so if you were looking for a view you would be very dissapointed,.Mine was on level one where the gym was, I didn't hear anything. You really wouldn't want to sit on the balcony though as you have a another hotel block looking down on you.

Staff were friendly.

Room Tip: If you want a view get a higher floor. Rooms at Ftont may be noisy on weekends as there is a Pub at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks M on Palmer, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks M on Palmer. It is great to read that you found our hotel quiet and peaceful. The front doors of the apartments at our hotel are slightly heavier than usual as they are special made fire doors. They do make it a little harder to open and close quietly however are required due to fire safety rules. We are glad you found our staff friendly and ill pass your comments onto the Hotel Manager. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    106
    40
    7
    2
See reviews for
17
105
21
79
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
adelaide
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

We stayed at Oaks M for 4 nights,.The room looked nice,modern.light and airy,but we did not like having to clamber over the sofa to get onto the balcony,it was a bit cluttered.Also far too many cushions on the bed,where do you put them at night ?
The down side of this hotel is the location,out in the boondocks....our room overlooked the hotel/pub roof,with the airconditioner going 24 hours a day,the noise was excessive,if that was not enough,we had to put up with constant noise from the railyards...yes we overlooked the railway,also we overlooked the docks which are being re-built,so we had pile drivers,machinery,trains,factory noises all night long,it did not stop the whole 4 nights and days we were there.Added to this was a marine engineering workshop right under the hotel,the men were working outside on the boats at 1.AM,we could hear their conversations and bad language all night.Added to this was the noise from the pub,also a lot of foul language going on.The first morning we asked to be moved ,only to be told we could be moved to the other side of the building and would HAVE to put up with the loud noise coming from the backpacker building next door,and we would be "moved"every night to a different room,some holiday! When we checked out we were asked if we had enjoyed our stay,I had to say no due to the excessive noise,was told we should have asked to move to another room ,I told them we had asked ,we was then told there was plenty of other quieter rooms available.!Another reason not to stay here is the isolation,it is at the bad end of Palmer street,a long walk from the attractions {aquarium,museum} we walked 1 hour the first morning to find breakfast.The cafes on Palmer street are grossly overpriced,[$35 for a steak, with an extra $8 for veg or salad, chips another $8} or you can pay $19 p.p. for breakfast in the pub under the hotel YES $19..... grossly overpriced.If you like sitting in a hotel room with all windows/balcony shut tight,TV going full blast you may like this hotel. Also service was awful,the sheet was only "pulled up" on the bed, and not made properly,a 4 year old would have done a better job.Plus, the lift broke down twice while we stayed there,great when you are on the 11th floor.We were also told that if we had booked through the internet and not with a travel agent, we would have got a better room with breakfast and saved about $60 a night...travel agents take warning.

Room Tip: Look on google,you will see the dock and rail yards.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks M on Palmer, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks M on Palmer. It is disappointing to read of your bad experiences while staying with us. In regards to walking an hour to find something to eat, there are a number of places to eat within a few minutes walk of our hotel. Reception are more than happy to assist guests with finding these. Unfortunately we are unable to control the noise coming from the upgrade of the port however the construction workers have strict council guidelines they have to follow with regards to start work times etc. We do offer guests who are experiencing issues with noise, quieter rooms to look at if we have them available. During your stay, we may not have had rooms for you to move to as we may have been heavily booked. If you wish to discuss any matters further, please contact our Customer Feedback Team on customerfeedback@theoaksgroup.com.au. We do hope you will choose to stay with Oaks Hotels and Resorts again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

A generous sized room with a washing machine and a dryer so you could catch up with domestic chores. Cooking facilities in the room but Palmer St is full of restaurants. A small terrace to sit on.
There were two queen beds, very comfortable. I thought the hotel was at the other end of the street - but that is the Oaks on Palmer, not hte Oaks M on Palmer. Confusing. It just meant a bit more of a walk into the CBD, about 15 min.Room service was superb.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks M on Palmer, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on your recent stay at Oaks M on Palmer. It is great to read that you were able to enjoy the size and facilities in your apartment and that you found the bed comfortable. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Macquarie
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stayed 3 nights in a studio room which was excellent accomodation, washing machine ,dryer and dishwasher included. The apartment is in the main eat street in Townsville and just a short walk to the centre of town. On the downside the apartment block is not easy to find, it is right at the bottom of Palmer street behind the hotel, look for the big "M" on the building. We did 3 laps of the street before spotting it. Our unit was on the SE side and if you left a window open the trains were very noisy day and night as it is close to the docks.
I left my phone charger in the unit when I left, the reception were very helpful in posting it to my next location when I phoned them

Room Tip: Ask for a unit away from the SE corner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks M on Palmer, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks M on Palmer. It is wonderful to read that you found your Studio excellent and well equipped. We are pleased you were able to get your phone charger sent back to you also. We do hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We stayed in this hotel because it was rated no 1 in Townsville. The person on reception was so ignorant when we arrived and not helpful. There was a charge of 12.85 for 2 mins of internet access. We had to upgrade our room as it was overlooking the car park and pay extra to do this. It may be on the upmarket eating area in Townville but in my opinion on the wrong end of Palmer. The bar area close by was scary and noisy and the walk back to the hotel in our opinion was not safe.

Room Tip: Make sure you look for a sea view otherwise you overlook the car park!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks M on Palmer, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks M on Palmer. It is disappointing to read of the issues you experienced while staying with us and that our hotel did not meet your expectations. I will pass your comments onto the Hotel Manager in regards to the staff member you dealt with on your arrival. We do hope you will choose to stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

From the first encounter with the reception to the cleaning staff this hotel was exceptional. The view over the marina and ocean was beautiful. Close to shops,casino and only 20 minutes to airport I am so glad we found the Oaks M. Am lloking forward to going back.

Room Tip: pay a little more fo a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks M on Palmer, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks M on Palmer. We are pleased to read that you found our hotel exceptional and were able to enjoy the views and location. I will pass your positive comments onto the Hotel Manager. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

We chose this place because of the rating on TripAdvisor and the location.
It was really good. Thanks again TripAdvisor.
The only complaint: the very noisy way that the doors close. You just cannot be quite because the latching system is not suitable for a hotel. Two rooms share a common foyer and you cannot avoid disturbing your neighbours no matter how hard you try.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks M on Palmer, responded to this review, August 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks M on Palmer. It was pleasing to read that previous reviews assisted you in choosing this property and that you enjoyed the location. We will investigate your comments regarding the door closing mechanisms at the property, particularly in the dual apartments. We do hope you will choose to stay with Oaks Hotels and Resorts again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Oaks M on Palmer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks M on Palmer

Address: 81 Palmer Street, Townsville, Queensland 4810, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Townsville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Townsville
#4 Romantic Hotel in Townsville
#6 Business Hotel in Townsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks M on Palmer 4.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
M on Palmer is a 4 1/2 star self catering property located on cosmopolitan Palmer Street. The hotel is surrounded by lovely a dining precinct with a vast array of restaurants, cafes, city night life and Jupiters Casino. Oaks M on Palmer Townsville features 11 floors of modern, fully self contained studio apartment accommodation complete with washers and dryers - which is ideal for the business and leisure travellers alike. The Metropole Hotel (located on site) is a true Queensland icon which has been reopened and offers conference rooms as well as dining facilities for breakfast, lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Oaks M on Palmer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
m Hotel Townsville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oaks M on Palmer, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.