We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for a short stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Raintree Motel

Save Saved
You added Raintree Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Raintree Motel
12 Bowen Road, Rosslea, Townsville, Queensland 4810, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 39 hotels in Townsville
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Good for a short stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We stayed for one night on a stopover on the way to cairns. Stayed in a double room for $104. It was only a short stay but this place did the job fine. Room was clean and a good size. The reception was closed when we arrived at about 9pm but there were instructions telling us where the key was.

Couldn't have any complaints with the place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    7
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
3
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

I had booked from home weeks before I travelled, and was given a discount for a longish stay (10 days). Taxi from the airport cost $22 (about 15 minutes).

Motel is a long way from the centre of town if you don't have your own transport, and the bus service in Townsville is pretty awful on Sundays although adequate during the week. However, I'd picked it for its particular location at the junction of the roads leading to the two grounds being used for the Under-19 Cricket World Cup, as well as the price, and I wasn't disappointed. As others have noted, there's a Coles supemarket, small shopping centre and pub over the road. There is also a superb pizzeria (dine-in or takeaway) on the other side of the traffic lights at the start of Bowen Road.

The bed was extremely comfortable, and I was able to make my own breakfast each day thanks to Barry providing me with a toaster, crockery and cutlery. He also gave me an electrical extension cord as there are no power points beside the bed. There were plenty of hangars in the wardrobe. Wi-fi is free, with a very good signal. Washing machine costs $2 (uses two $1 coins), and the dryer is $1 for 10 minutes - sounds expensive, but they are heavy-duty industrial models and my washing was all dry in 20 minutes. Iron and ironing board in each unit.

My only gripe was the noise when people were sitting at the tables outside their rooms in the evening. It made it quite difficult to work, but in fairness I don't think most of them realised just how much their voices carried. It wasn't too bad, except for one night when the two guys next door were yakking away until 11 pm.

Overall I had a great time, and have no hesitation in recommending this as a terrific place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Resonable value for money, older property opposite good Tavern for meals, good parking, air con could do with a clean.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Arriving off train/bus (a trip which I could not recommend) from Brisbane, I had the good fortune
to be introduced to the Raintree by Jeff a taxi driver - and from the first minute of my 3 day stay I thoroughly enjoyed my accomodation. Not the Ritz, but extremely clean ground level units with abilityto sit outside your front door and soak up tthe sun - plus the opportunity to use the swimming pool and visit a large hotel, 100 yds across the road, for drinks, great food and TAB.
The real bonus of the Raintree was it's very sensible room rate! - complimented by the very best
hosts, Barry and June, you could ever wish for. If in Townsville again the Raintree will be my preference - take my tip, stay here if you can, you won't regret it for a moment!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Much like other reviews: Clean, quiet rear room, bathroom requirements provided + hairdryer, plenty cupboard space, iron/board, plenty beverage reqirements with carton(s) fresh milk. Basic pool. Coles + liquor outlet + Subway over road & a georgous 'Sixties' boutique clothing store & alluring 'lolly' shop. Could not fault this place for midrange tourist price. Yes...a little bit of former 'wet' damage showing around corner skirting board; and loo pressure needed a bit of help once; but shower lovely and hot; nice thick towels. Visiting family we cannot comment on food. Daytime taxi fare from railway to motel was $11.50; night taxi from Idalia to motel was $17. We slept OK on a tourist-range mattress. There was no garden ambiance - OK for our 'sleep-only' requirements. My best tick is that place was very clean + with plenty of tea/coffee/sugar sachets and a small carton of milk for each day's stay - a small item but important to me. I just hate when there isn't enough sugar or milk. So yes, I'd happily go again as a place to bed-down. The place was well patronised on our visit.

Room Tip: Our room 14 was at rear so we had no traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012 via mobile

Staff great & very helpfull rooms great value & clean also has pay TV shampoo,shower cap , tea coffee & milk included for a real great rate also across the road from a Coles shoping Center & surprisingly quiet

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011 via mobile

Great managers,clean rooms,excellent facilities and just over the road from a supermarket, and the Rising Sun tavern which has a terrific bistro with great meals.The Raintree is on busy Bowen Road but it's surprisingly very quiet even inside the car park courtyard area. We stayed two nights,a week apart and had different rooms on both occasions.The first time we were upstairs and the second down in the courtyard area.Both rooms were excellent.,although the downstairs room had a stocked minibar which was handy.You can also purchase drinks from the manager at reasonable prices,cheaper than you would expect to pay at other venues,for example I bought two Tooheys New stubbies at the motel for $4.50 each and the next day at the Townsville Airport waiting lounge I paid for one Tooheys New stubby for $7.00.So the Raintree managers' aren't out to rip anyone off,just give good service.Another thing I've noticed too is that their rates seem to be always consistent,not spiking for busy weekends,school holidays and the like.Location is terrific,rooms are cleaner than your home and the service is friendly.Recommended.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Raintree Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raintree Motel

Address: 12 Bowen Road, Rosslea, Townsville, Queensland 4810, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Townsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 39 hotels in Townsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Raintree Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Raintree Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.