We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a shame” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Shoredrive Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Shoredrive Motel to your Saves list
Shoredrive Motel
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   117 The Strand, Townsville, Queensland, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 41 Hotels in Townsville
Ayr
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“What a shame”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

Hard to find a room on the strand for Easter Sunday so decided to book into the Shoredrive.
What a disappointment.Rooms were clean but very dated, new flat screen TV's that were smaller than a laptop screen, the noisy little box air-conditioner that shook the front wall when running and the door on our room was so warped that the safety catch would not engage.Worst of all was the big , open rubbish skip full of building waste and rotting garbage located in the car park not 10 metres from our door. The owner did tell me they were new to the industry, and in my opinion they will not last long if the don't lift their game

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    18
    5
    7
    4
See reviews for
15
18
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

We only stayed one night. Whilst the room was very tired and needed a revamp we did find it clean. As they say you get what you pay for. It is on The Strand, but up the very far end. It is quiet so we had a good sleep. The bed was reasonably comfortable. We did need to have the fan on as well as the air con did not work that well.I think you could find better accomodation for the price. I don't think I would return to this motel again

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

Really people.... it is well and truely time for you to update these ancient rooms....the facilities are downright unacceptable.

Yes its true some travellers want a cheap stay however, cheap should not mean that travellers should endure musty, outdated and downright unhealthy facilities. The aircon was rusty and barely cooled, the fan was also needed to cool the room and was ancient and very noisy. The mildew on the walls (and not just in the bathroom) meant the room was perpetually smelly and of questionable hygiene. Lack of coathangers, no ironing board, ancient showers that barely delivered a trickle of water that changed temp constantly, and appauling austar choices and poor tv reception were all contributors to make us vow never to return.

The only positives were that the staff were pleasant and it was conveniently located right on the strand. Overall the cheap cost does not make up for the negatives that you put up with. There are more modern rooms available also however after staying in one of these once before I dont believe they are worth the money.

Room Tip: Perhaps ask to see the room before committing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2011

Stayed here for a week...rooms are somewhat dated but exceptionaly clean...will deffinately come back. :-)

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2010

Stayed here for one night & never again.
Pubic hair found in the master bed, bathroom was disgusting - we refused to enter without shoes. Carpet had mystery stains - I didn't want to walk barefoot across it nor put my belongings on it.
Housekeeping staff were rude & front desk staff were pleasant.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QLD
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2009

After a long drive to Townsville with a child under teh age of 2yrs all you want to do when you arrive at your accommodation is relax and be comfortable. If thats what your after also, then DO NOT STAY HERE!! The bathroom had concrete cancer all through the walls with builders bog holding it together, the tap had no paint left on it there was paint flaking of the roof and walls everywhere, there was no facewasher, there where ants that attacked our towels after a shower in plague proportion. The Austar is only Sky news and channel V and the restaurant was not open. This motel is currently up for sale, all I can say is I would hate to be the poor fool who buys it. The only thing to look forward to with relation to this motel is leaving it.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2008

Booked over the phone, given "special rate"...no wonder! Paid $105 for one night - everything old and worn. Cracks in walls and tiles, carpet dirty underfoot, tv from the BETA days, reception bad. Aircon is a wall unit, rattles and shakes. Yet have the nerve to charge $5 for a bag of lollies!
Not recommended for very young children.

  • Liked — Location to the strand was convenient - but a bit of a walk to the "Bucket" water play area for young children
  • Disliked — Rooms are awful and in desperate need of upgrading - a coat of paint goes a long way.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Townsville hotels
0.7 mi away
Waters Edge The Strand
Waters Edge The Strand
#19 of 41 in Townsville
4.0 of 5 stars 116 reviews
1.8 mi away
Allure Hotel & Apartments
Allure Hotel & Apartments
#5 of 41 in Townsville
4.5 of 5 stars 91 reviews
1.5 mi away
Chifley Plaza Townsville
Chifley Plaza Townsville
#25 of 41 in Townsville
4.0 of 5 stars 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
City Oasis Inn
City Oasis Inn
#8 of 41 in Townsville
4.0 of 5 stars 212 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Strand Motel
The Strand Motel
#27 of 41 in Townsville
3.5 of 5 stars 34 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Beach House Motel
The Beach House Motel
#26 of 41 in Townsville
4.0 of 5 stars 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shoredrive Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shoredrive Motel

Address: 117 The Strand, Townsville, Queensland, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Townsville
Amenities:
Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 41 Hotels in Townsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shoredrive Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Shoredrive Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shoredrive Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.