We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs a Cleaner -Now!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Surfers Aquarius

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Surfers Aquarius to your Saves list
Surfers Aquarius
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   4-12 Old Burleigh Road, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Hamilton & Waikato Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Needs a Cleaner -Now!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed in June with our two children in a two bedroom apartment - staff not very friendly. Our apartment really need a good clean, especially the bathrooms - hair on the ceiling, dirty tiles. The floor in the apartment was sticky. I don't think the bedrooms have ever been vacuumed, hair everywhere. Only one TV, Foxtel didn't work. Indoor pool closed - but did reopen. A sign on our door informing us not to lean on the railings - we were on the 20th floor -so we kept the children inside. This place was so let down by being unclean, they really need to sort out the housekeeping staff - maybe hire someone that knows how to clean -yuck!
The windows rattle a lot when its windy - couldn't sleep.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    37
    14
    7
    3
See reviews for
52
20
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New Plymouth
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Fantastic Apartment building, everything we needed for a great family holiday. Great location, close to everything we needed & literally out the back door onto the sand. Our room didnt have air con but we didnt need it, some rooms did have it however so if you are travelling there in the hotter months i wud recommend asking for a room with air con. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with Air Conditioning
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invercargill, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

It was not far away from everything .Had lovely swimming pools and is right on the beach .Buses are easy to catch right out side the gate. Appartment was great as well enjoyed my stay here with the kids.

Room Tip: Great place to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Aquarius - Surfers paradise
Date of stay: 01/04/2013 a 03/04/2013
Dorm: 6 bed mixed / $25 per night
Deposit: Passport or $20
Overall: 6/10

When I booked I didn't realise it was located in Southport which is an hour walk to surfers centre or you can catch the shuttle bus from the hostel which takes about 15 minutes.

The hostel has its own bar which is overpriced for people travelling & you can't drink your own alcohol. They have a good common area with a bug sofa & ~500 films. They have a pool table & darts & the pool is okay compared to toothed hostels.

The room I stayed in was small but was clean, the room didn't have a locker. The kitchen was clean & well equipped. The room didn't have air conditioning & just had a fan, the room was we ot & I didn't have a wry good night sleep.

The hostel had a few offers for going out that had free entry to 5 clubs. I wouldn't stay at this hostel again but that is just because of the location.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba, Queensland, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment for 2 nights . The weather was terrible so the indoor pool and spa were life savers, but could do with a good clean and a bit of maintainence. The position was fantastic right on the beach. The apartment was fairly dated with a number of issues. The first thing we saw was that the door on the cupboard immediately inside the fornt door was falling off the hinges, the carpet had a major stain in front of the lounge and there is warning signs up everywhere regarding the balconies being unsafe. I realise these apartments are individually owned and the managers are limited in what they can fix/improve but the owners really need to take a hard look around.
We got a deal which was supposed to be half price and I think this would be a fair price for what we were offered. I would be extremelly disappointedif I had paid full price.
All in all a nice weekend away.

Room Tip: Rooms with a B face north and have a nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We spent 10 days in a 2 bedroom apartment in January. We have stayed previously and loved the hotel, although the apartment we stayed in the first time needed some more furniture in the lounge. For 5 people there were only 4 seats. The hotel's facilities are fantastic - a great outdoor pool, toddlers pool, 2 indoor spas and an indoor heated pool, 2 tennis courts, fabulous bbq area. Parking is included. The hotel is absolute beachfront - walk out through the gate and you are on the sand. It is located pretty much half-way between Surfers Paradise and Broadbeach. Both times we have stayed we've had great views out over the beach. However this time we were greatly disappointed by the number of things which went wrong, and the attitude of one staff member in particular.
It started when we checked in and were allocted an apartment with only 2 beds in the second bedroom. We had specifically requested 3 beds for our 3 children. This was quickly rectified. The apartment we were given was beautifully positioned right over the beachfront, had more furniture than our first stay, but that was where the good things ended. Upon entering the room we found a smashed lamp in the lounge. When I rang reception to tell them I was told they knew about it and it should have been removed. Well, yes, but it hadn't. I then told the not too helpful lady that we couldn't open any of the sliding windows. She was going to send someone - didn't happen during our stay, but we managed to open most of them with brute force. Then the door handle fell off of the main bedroom door - locking me inside. My husband eventually opened the door and when reported, was fixed fairly quickly. There was also a ceiling light in the lounge which was hanging by a thread and looked like it would fall any minute. Next we had the towel rail in the main bathroom fall down when a towel was hung on it. The showerhead in the bathroom was also very dodgy and needs replacing. Then we had the second bedroom door lock itself - and us out of the room. We reported this happening at 9am and by 10:15am the handyman had not arrived so we went out for the day. When we arrived home at 6pm the door was still locked. Another, not so polite, call was made to reception and the handyman came with a spare key to unlock the door. Why this didn't happen in the morning I don't know. Turns out the wind pushes the door back onto the wall which pushes in the lock. The wind then slams the door shut. No idea why this door even has a lock when none of the others, including the bathroom and ensuite, have locks. It became a bit of a comedy of errors, waiting each day to see what would go wrong next. We had the cleaner come through only once during our stay, and then only towels and sheets were changed. Floors were not cleaned and nor were the bathrooms. When I called down to request replacement toilet paper, thinking the cleaner had forgotten it, I was told it doesn't get restocked, but that I could buy some for $2.50 a roll. That is so tight! If I stay for one night I get a roll of toilet paper, so technically, couldn't I expect ten rolls over my stay? It's the small things that make, and break, a hotel.
This has been a great property and has the potential to be so again. But right now it needs a lot of maintenance work to be done on the units, and a better attitude from some of the desk staff. I find it very hard to recommend this to friends right now.

Room Tip: Ask for a beachfront room. Also one which has been kept in good condition maintenance wise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

The hotel itself is located about 15-20min walk from cavill ave however, you walk out onto your balcony and you are literally on the beachfront. The furniture inside our hotel room was quite dated however, everything was clean and in working use. The size of the apartment was great. We had a 2 bedroom apartment with its own kitchen, 2 bathrooms, lounge room balcony and extra 'study/room' area with a fold out couch. Overall we paid a good price for the location, the apartment size and layout was great however, was a bit far from surfers and broadbeach and the interiors could do with an update.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Surfers Aquarius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfers Aquarius

Address: 4-12 Old Burleigh Road, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 93 Specialty Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Surfers Aquarius 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Surfers Aquarius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfers Aquarius Hotel Surfers Paradise
Surfers Aquarius Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surfers Aquarius, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.