We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location but.......” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Surfers Aquarius

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Surfers Aquarius to your Saves list
Surfers Aquarius
4-12 Old Burleigh Road, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Dunedin, New Zealand
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good Location but.......”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

good location but was let down by the uncleanliness and unintersted staff, not helpful or friendly to us at all, esp with directions or bus info.
marks on walls , alot of stains on carpets really needed a clean ,no matching dinnerware , lobby outside room where lifts are was not vaccumed the whole ten days we stayed as dead cockrotch still on floor when we left.,, dirty wall mirrors, only main reception was frequently cleaned,
wayyyy too many chemicals in spas!
overall not at a four star standard.

Room Tip: rooms with A OR B have best ocean views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    39
    14
    7
    3
See reviews for
54
22
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I spent 4 nights at Surfers Aquarius during November 2012 and really enjoyed my stay.

The apartments exceeded my expectations. Full kitchen, laundry and lounge area made the apartment more like a home away from home.

The view was spectacular.

Staff were friendly and helpful.

Apartments were clean and quiet. I stayed during Schoolies and never had any issues with other guests.

Great indoor and outdoor pool areas plus easy access to beach.

Have already recommended to all friends and family. Great value!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This property is large (40 stories) wonderfully located with absolute beachfront access and with great facilities. Sadly the front of house staff let this property down. Almost to a person everyone of them I observed were either rude, unhelpful or just plain disinterested. This is a shame as the property itself is great. The apartment we had was 2 bedrooms (although we only booked for a 1 bedroom apartment it was great to have the extra room). These apartments are obviously privately owned so the equipment in them is more hit and miss and is dependent on the owners taste etc. we were happy with what was provided. The property has 2 pools (1 inside 1 outside) 2 spa pools, Gym, Tennis Courts and a squash court. The apartment we had was on the 24th floor and afforded fantastic views of the sea, beach and the city. The premises is getting quite tired now and to be frank the cleanliness was not where it should have been. Large signs by the elevators and in the foyers warning owners to grant the body corporate to grant them access to the apartments as the balcony railings were "very dangerous" we're somewhat disturbing when standing on them 24 stories up.

I doubt if we would stay there again, mainly due to the appalling staff attitude..

Room Tip: For a great view get an apartment ending with a, b or c
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Upon arrival we were told we had be upgraded to a two bedroom apartment (however we were told not to use the second bedroom & bathroom). The apartment was very spacious with amazing views of the city and beach. Great location; on the beach and only about a 15 - 20 minute walk to Cavil Avenue. The hotels interior is very dated but the views and large size of the apartment made up for this. Late check out is not available - however, the lady at the front desk was kind enough to let us stay until 11AM - this particular lady was very helpful but unfortunately I can't say the same for other staff members who were very unaccommodating and unhelpful. Overall, the cost for two nights was very reasonable in comparison to other hotels on Surfers Paradise.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Great position to stay in Surfers - away from the main strip, so much quieter & low "crazies" factor!, and right on the beach is fantastic. However, the building is looking very tired, balcony rails in poor condition, some rust & mould in the bathroom, staff were OK but not over-friendly.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

Nice by the beach ,clean these are the good things But the staff just do not care made you feel you were being a pain if you asked for any info eg buses never would said good morning/evening.think the staff need a hoilday and stay some were thay would show them what good service is ,would never stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Surfers Aquarius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfers Aquarius

Address: 4-12 Old Burleigh Road, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 102 Specialty Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Surfers Aquarius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfers Aquarius Hotel Surfers Paradise
Surfers Aquarius Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surfers Aquarius, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.