We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a great meal and enjoyable evening” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Absynthe

Absynthe
Hamilton Ave, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia
(07) 5504 6466
Improve this listing
Ranked #102 of 278 Restaurants in Surfers Paradise
Price range: $23 - $93
Cuisines: French, Fusion
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
North Sydney, NSW
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Such a great meal and enjoyable evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We attended on a friday night the 19th choosing the 10 course degustation. My partner had the matching wines. The food was just superb.
There is such drama, theatre and presence to the meal. We enjoyed being able to spend a nice night together enjoying the food and company.
Degustation does take over 2 hours, I think our 10 course took about 2.5 hours. We watched people order a la carte and their dining was less than 1 hour for their 3 (or 4) course meal and drinks.
We each had our favourites. But we both agreed the seafood dishes were superb. My partner enjoys all dishes that have vinegar pearls, I enjoyed the wasabi pearls for a bit of fire but not much heat.
My partner has always maintained he does not like beetroot and is fairly dismissive of tomato.
After our meal this second time he confessed maybe he likes beetroot and tomato, I think it is more he enjoys they way it is cooked and presented but it is lovely to see such a fussy eater enjoy new and wonder food, and that is what Absynthe has given us
This was our second time dining please see my review for September for our other experience.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    45
    31
    35
    115
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Warrnambool, Australia
1 review
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Last night, friends invited us to dine for the 10 course degustation menu at Absynthe. I have nothing but good things to report! The service was excellent, the waitstaff carefully explained each dish, and the reason behind the menu, the small serving sizes and the exploration of tastes. We even finished off the meal with some Absinthe shots, lit on fire by the bartender.
Overall it was an incredible experience, exquisite food, excellent service, buzzing atmosphere and an excellent night.
Thank you Absynthe!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
burpengary
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Once is Enough”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Our friends invited us to join them as they had bought a Groupon voucher for the lamb shanks and it was a good opportunity to try a restaurant with a very good reputation. We had no complaint about the taste or presentation of the food on the plate but it is overpriced as are the drinks. The entrees were small but the mains were OK and dessert was sufficient. The experience is not what we would expect for the prices charged because the service staff are no better than below average. It's also worth mentioning that the truffle dish was still available even though they had run out of truffles!! No mention of a discount though. Even Basil Fawlty substituted a Ritz salad when he ran out of Waldorfs.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meyjitte B, Manager at Absynthe, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Good afternoon,

We are slightly confused as to why your complaining, the lamb shank deal is a huge portion And was only $49 for two people. You stated the food was good taste and presentation wise.
Entrees by definition are smaller than the main size. And you stated that the desserts were sufficient.
That brings us to your concern over prices, considering your dear friends paid for you maybe gratitude is too much to ask...however here we go...our entrees start at $30 not unreasonable if you compare to other restaurants of our standard.
And finally I personally waited on your table you were informed that we were out of truffles that evening and that they were substituted for Cep mushrooms. No one at your table ordered the risotto after this information which is fair enough so how would you know if they price was less or not? Which it was.
PLEASE watch faulty towers again and pick up on the main point of the series, that poor Basil was driven mad by unreasonable, demanding and ignorant customers. The series pokes fun at the customers whom stayed at his hotel. It was written by a man who really did own a hotel and who wanted to show the stupidity he endured everyday and the lack of appreciation.
Thank you
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tallebudgera valley queensland Australia
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“would never ever go back.....”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

My god I have been to some very nice restaurants, but this is the worst. All I can say is if you are on a diet go there if you like paying for the smallest meals I have ever seen...go there....The meals were nearly invisible on the plate but hey the plates were nice...thankgod we didn't have desert because from what I seen brought out to other dinners you needed a magnifying glass. It was so expensive and as for the wine well the price was a joke. I would never recommend this restaurant to anybody.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meyjitte B, Manager at Absynthe, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
HI JENNY WHAT IS A DEGUSTATION?

Official Definition & History
Degustation `digu'steyshun is the art of tasting food. Modern degustation probably comes from the French kitchens of the early 20th century and is different from earlier meals with many courses because these meals were served as full-sized meals at each course.

Degustation on the other hand is more akin to sampling all of the chefs signature dishes in SMALL PORTIONS at the one sitting. Usually eight or more courses, it may be accompanied by a matching wine degustation.

Restaurateurs and chefs love showing off their talents, and one of the ways in which they can best do this is by offering a menu de degustation, literally, a "tasting menu" in which a meal can consist of as many as ten or twelve different courses.

We greatly appreciate your feedback Jenny however the courses you saw being served were apart of our degustation menu; hence the SMALL PORTIONS.

We encourgage you to come back and try our new 10 course degustation menu…and learn more about the art of enjoying such a dining experience.

Thank you

Absynthe Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Standards falling”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

I have been waiting to go to Absynthe for sometime based on some personal recommendations several years ago. Recently we did notice that reviews were not so good. We managed to get a good deal for an 8 serving degustation menu for $110 for 2. We were greeted and ushered to the bar for a pre dinner drink. The decor was quite modern. We loved the gorgeous prints. We were half way through our second drink when they ushered us to our table. We opted for the matching wine. We had "A Journey into Taste". There were some interesting tastes and the wine was well matched to the food. Unfortunately the staff are not well trained for a restaurant that tries to hold itself out as top class. Certainly for the prices that it charges - customers should expect the staff would not forget the wine ( otherwise what is the point of the degustation menu with matching wine.) Twice the staff "forgot" and had to be followed up. The staff dropped bread on one of our friends while removing plates and spilt the wine when pouring. Now everyone is allowed a mistake and can have a bad night, however we know what well trained and poorly trained staff look like. Furthermore when queried why one of the servings was missing the macadamia nuts, she shot from the hip and said thet it definitely had the macadamia nuts in them. We showed her the cashew nuts, and she was still adamant that they were macadamia!! When we suggested she check with the chef - she returned and said they run out of macadamia's and replaced them with cashews. She didn't apologise - not that that was an issue. We were surprised she didn't seem to know the difference between the nuts. Several times we asked about the course we were up to and she didn't really know what was being served. The positives - great decor, the food was good but I would not say it was great. The wines were well matched with reasonable servings. The staff is there big weakness. Also I would not go to the restaurant with the prices they want to charge - otherwise I would expect an in house sommilere and well trained staff.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meyjitte B, Manager at Absynthe, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Hi There,

We are so happy that you were able to purchase one of our great deals! Dining for only $110 for 2 on our degustation menu was a limited offer we wanted to expand to the general public.

I have read your review and was disappointed that out of the entire experience finding fault with our waitress not knowing that the Macadamian Nuts in one dish out of 8 had been replaced that night with Cashews was the failing of the entire evening.

I have read your review to our staff and they are all very aware that this type of mistake is not acceptable however it does not deem such a negative response.

At Absynthe we work very hard to offer our clients something unique to anything else on the Gold Coast. We are a Boutique restaurant with a very small team. We offer the freshiest products and ingredients and pride ourselfs on offering customers something orginal.

We would love for you to come back to Absynthe and enjoy our new 10 course degustation and hope that the one mistake the new waitstaff made can be forgiven.

Thank you

Absynthe Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Absynthe also viewed

Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast
Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast
 
Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast
 

Been to Absynthe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Absynthe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.