We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice find” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Yamagen Japanese Restaurant

Yamagen Japanese Restaurant
7 Staghorn Avenue, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia
+61 7 5592 1200
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $6 - $56
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: From the traditional to the contemporary, Yamagen Japanese Restaurant offers what is considered by many to be the best sushi on the Gold Coast. Our very own Sushi Master Mitsuo Yoshino hand prepares a wide variety of fresh sushi daily using only the best local ingredients. From hand formed to rolled, or pressed to plated sushi dishes there is always something fresh in the making. Our Teppanyaki Grill offers fresh local produce from rib eye fillets to Moreton Bay bugs and king prawns all prepared before your eyes. With the expert creativity of our talented Teppanyaki chefs showing off their skills, the entertainment provided in the preparation of your meal makes it as exciting for your eyes as it will be for your palate. If you're after something more discreet then our a la carte area and menu will bring all the above together and more. Yamagen Japanese Restaurant is a marriage of high skill and dedication and an experience for all.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Nice find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

Found it by chance ... wandering around in the afternoon. Came back later that evening and found that it was fully booked. Came back the next evening for teppanyaki and ...had a good time

Our chef was a young Korean and very friendly. Seafood and meat was very fresh and well prepared. Focus here is more on the food rather than the entertainment unlike at Benihana. The restaurant has three sections .... for teppanyaki, a sushi bar and a section for a lar carte dining.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    19
    9
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great night watching a sushi master”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

We had a prime seat to the side of the sushi chef and really enjoyed some fantastic food along with the preparation skills. Magic grilled Sea Bass with miso entre, along with a wonderful deluxe california roll, chef also spoiled us with a fantastic bonito broth seafood and vegie soup. Along with two many other things to rattle off and finished with the excellent Ashai beer. Great night can't wait to get back. Chef seemed pretty pleased when I said he was quicker than the great Iron Chef Japanese Rocsabiro Michiba (excuse the spelling errors!)

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatton, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent food, service & entertainment!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

My husband & I went to Yamagen for our 1st Wedding Anniversary dinner. We mentioned this when booking with them & received a complimentary glass of bubbly each. Even though it was expensive I am happy to pay a little extra for a special occasion & also worth it for the entertainment received by the chef! Beautiful food & one of the waiters was even kind enough to teach me how to use chopsticks for the first time! Would definitely recommend this restaurant & would love to go back again!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
“Lacking atmosphere.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

Staying at the QT and during a wet evening decided to try this hotel restaurant as unfortunately Bazaar was fully booked. We were told that we could only eat at the bar or a la carte area as the teppanyaki tables were fully booked, this is despite several seats remaining unoccupied at the tables during our entire visit.
The food was fine, service good and prices reasonable enough, however the lack of customers and any music in the a la carte area made the whole visit rather lacklustre. We couldn't help but feel disappointed by this rather characterless restaurant in an otherwise very funky hotel.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“excellent food, atmosphere and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Staying at the QT for workk so ate in-house. I have lived in Japan and very much enjoy the culture including the food. Yamagen did not disappoint as I had excellent food and the atmosphere and service were high standard.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yamagen Japanese Restaurant also viewed

Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast
Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast
 
Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast
Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast
 

Been to Yamagen Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yamagen Japanese Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.