We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun dining for family” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Benihana Japanese Steak House

Benihana Japanese Steak House
158 Ferny Avenue | Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia
61-7-55929770
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $26 - $69
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Fun dining for family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

I was impressed with the friendliness and professionalism of the chef. We had Dennis for the nite and he made us feel welcome and I think we would return just for his showmanship and friendly banter. He made my kids feel at home and entertained them throughout dinner. The meals were good as we had the $ 60 set per person. Overall no regrets spending money and time as it was an experience for the kids to watch a teppanyaki chef at work. The scallops and beef were really good and we had a good laugh and had a great time.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    320
    72
    17
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Japanese Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We are locals on the Gold Coast and dine at Benihana Japanese Restaurant on a regular basis. The food is magnificent, always fresh and beautifully cooked. We often take our two teenage boys and friends or relatives with us which makes for a great night out. The Chef cooks the meal on the hot plate in front of you which is very entertaining, also managing to cook everything to perfection. We request the same chef "Kiernan" each time and whenever possible he is assigned to our table, he is a very talented guy, not only a fantastic Chef but excellent at entertaining the guests with his singing, juggling, jokes and of course cooking. The waiter on our last visit "Nobu" was also one of the best, he was extremely attentive, nothing was too much trouble, he also had great entertaining skills, singing in unison with our chef, catering to our every need and making our night out brilliant. Carla the supervisor is also extremely attentive, and always makes sure that you are happy and having a great time. We would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone looking for great Japanese food and a fun night out.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Teppanyaki”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We always enjoy taking the family to a Teppanyaki restaurant, the combination of good food and an entertaining chef are something to look forward to.

The Benihana is an enormous and busy restaurant with a large number of Teppanyaki tables. Our chef was fantastic, his mix of juggling, tricks and schtick were spot on and his cooking was equally as good. The portions are very large and expensive, but as a celebratory meal was just about worth it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fun dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We very much enjoyed our dining experience at Benihana.
The Tempura Sushi roll was very good. Friendly waiters and staff, seem happy to work there and very helpful.
Thank you

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best Japanese”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We ordered the top meal and the Chef cooked everything in front of us and made a show of it, It was very good food and cooked to perfection the showmanship was also a treat. Wine list needs improvement I would think, but this is typical of most Japanese restaurant I have found. Overall it was great and highly recommended.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Benihana Japanese Steak House also viewed

Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast
Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast
 
Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast
Currumbin, Gold Coast
 

Been to Benihana Japanese Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Benihana Japanese Steak House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.