We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would not recommend staying here.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Grosvenor Beachfront Apartments

Save Saved
You added Grosvenor Beachfront Apartments to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grosvenor Beachfront Apartments
26 The Esplanade, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“I would not recommend staying here.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

I found the manager to be extremely unprofessional and unhelpful. I was frowned upon when I questioned anything at the hotel which included dodgy cash transactions. I made my stay and further the following weeks very unpleasant. I would not recommend anyone to stay at this complex. The managerial side of this organisation is inexperienced and I believe discrimitive about the age of persons staying there. Not a good hotel on the Gold Coast. Don't expect to get clean sheets or bath towels on a daily basis either.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    12
    4
    3
    7
See reviews for
14
11
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

Stayed in apartment 47 looking out to the North. At this height, the 11th floor, we could see over the tops of most of the other high rise buildings. Being directly on the beach we had the best of the views,
It was great to wake up in the morning to the dawn sun shining over the ocean. I could watch my two girls surfing this classic beach while my wife and i prepared breakfast. A glance out of the kitchen window to the pool to keep an eye on our two boys directly down below or a walk around the balcony which spans East, North East and North was a great way to keep an eye on the tennis court and check what the children were doing.
We had great days sunning ourselves on the beach directly in front of the building. No need to pack up great bags of clobber to head to the beach just zip across the beach road and up the lift to make picnic lunches or grab some cold drinks and then back to the surf. The night life is a short walk around the corner. No need for taxis or even a hire car as all the restaurants are within walking distance.
The kitchen facilities were great for the nights we cooked seafood at the apartment and to prepare nibbles for showing off to our friends. I think they were suitably jealous. More so when the boys simply whipped around the corner to replenish the drinks mixers from the local supermarket.
All in all for a family of 6 with friends dropping in all the time we could not have been in a better spot.
Am booking again for next year and so are our friends.

Room Tip: Go to the 11th floor for a view over the other buildings directly up the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arrowtown, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

Thanks to the Grosvenor Staff, we had a great weekend.Lovely Sunny Unit with great views over the sea. Would definetely come back again. Very central to Cavill Mall and Restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2011

Booked 4 months in advance, called to confirm booking was ok and requested an Air Con room, advised that the room allocations had not been done (1 week prior to arrival) so kind of expected to get an AC room as advised there would be 2 kids (2.5 & 10) - Also requested a high floor, was allocated the first floor right above the main enterance with NO AC - Noisiest room in the complex as very close the the main road, with young "Boy Racers" driving up and down all night. Everyone is on holiday to relax and to party, but allocating a family to that room was dispicable. The sliding doors needed to people to operate them as they were all corroded with Salt from the ocean winds, tiles on floor were cracked and risen, causing kids to trip on them. Dressing table door fell off and drawers were all crumbling. No lampshade on bedside lamp - just the base and bulb - Maybe they wanted the kids to burn their hands? Tap in ensuite had black stuff running out of the base.
Very rude receptionist would NOT change our room after we presented her with all the problems, gave us $100 off after a long debate.
Pool wasn't the cleanest either, SPA out of order, BBQ's filthy too.
NEVER again and NO way will I reccomend anyone, very disapointed and embarrased to take my friend to somewhere of this standard - Its not even worth 2 stars.
Improve on staff Grosvenor and upgrade your rooms as the location is superb.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2010

Date of stay: NONE - THEY GAVE AWAY MY ROOM (and not because i was late getting there). I knew that the New Years season would be busy. So I booked 6 months in advance. I traveled from the United States to propose to my lady in a romamntic setting. They told me that they gave my accomodations to thier owner. So BEWARE... If they have someone else that they would rather give your reservation to, THEY WILL. There is no such thing as a reservation at this hotel. NO REASON TO MAKE PLANS TO GO TO THERE. they might want to change your plans or simply disregard them

Talk about ruining a vacation! Grosvenor Apartments Gold Coast knows how to do it.

Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cronulla
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2010

We made our booking 7 months in advance and THE DAY BEFORE we fly from Sydney to the Gold Coast to check in we get a phone call at 2o'clock in the afternoon to say that our room will no longer be available and they have moved us to a different hotel miles away from everything! As you can imagine we were quite unimpressed but the woman we spoke to didn't even apologise and said that we were lucky they found us something else!! She was totally rude and unhelpful and pretty much said tough and she wasn't prepared to do anything else about it! We will NEVER try to book accommodation here again and cannot believe the way we were treated.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2007

Not as fancy looking as a lot of the highrise accomodation in Surfers but you do get a reasonable room and position with the Grosvenor.
Booked a 2 bedroom apartment for $151/night. Master bedroom has queen bed and own ensuite (shower/toilet/basin) 2nd bedroom has 2 single beds. Unit is fully self-contained with kitchen having microwave, fridge, oven and dishwasher. The laundry having washing machine and dryer, ironing board etc.

Grosvenor is directly across from the beach on The Esplande and approx 50m north of the town centre of Cavill Ave. There is also a bus stop directly out the front door if you dont have a hire car. There is a secure underground carpark if required. It also has a nice pool, sauna, spa and tennis court.

There is a balcony that you can sit out on with views of beach. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Only complaints would be the lower tiles in showers werent very clean and no A/C, the bedrooms only had fans. Considering how warm it can get up there I probably wouldn't stay there in the middle of summer .

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Cleanliness of showers
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grosvenor Beachfront Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grosvenor Beachfront Apartments

Address: 26 The Esplanade, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 92 Specialty lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Grosvenor Beachfront Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grosvenor Beachfront Apartments Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grosvenor Beachfront Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.