We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would never stay here again” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Paradise Centre Apartments

Save Saved
You added Paradise Centre Apartments to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Paradise Centre Apartments
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   3 Hanlan Street, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia (Formerly BreakFree)   |  
Hotel amenities
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Would never stay here again”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

My partner, his parents (who were over from England) and I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights - Middle of Dec 2012. It was the worst experience I've had with any hotel. Good things - pool area, location and views. However the apartment itself was horrible.

First we were checked into a 2 bedroom apartment that was really worn out, it smelt musty (which we later found out was due to a large wet patch in the carpet in the lounge) and then the worst part was finding what I thought was blood splatters in the ensuite bedroom and just the general cleaning with thick dust, mould on all the windows/doors. I called reception and asked for a room change and was told there was only one other room that probably wasn't any better, however we did change. It was slightly cleaner, however massive stains on the carpet and extremely worn out. Receptionist when we were changing rooms came to look at the room and said that the blood was just make up (still should not have been left in the room after cleaning). Then said we should have asked for a renovated room, because all the other rooms are worn (Renovated rooms are alot nicer for the same price, but apparently you have to ask for them!) which my reply was I didn't know we had to, as it was my first time staying there. She then replied that your not always guaranteed it anyway and that it was the apartments biggest downfall.

I would not recommend this apartment and will not stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    58
    55
    16
    10
    20
See reviews for
61
48
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We spent 6 nights in a two bedroom flat at the Paradise Centre Apartments, (Ballah Tower) over the Christmas period and were delighted by the experience. The accomodation was excellent--two bathrooms, a huge lounge/dining area, a wide balcony overlooking the beach, and the facilities were superb---easy access to the shopping mall, two beautiful swimming pools that could be used until late in the evening, a barbecue area etc. and everything clean and well maintained. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

My family and I went to celebrate my daughter`s first wedding anniversary and Christmas in Gold Coast, We had booked our accommodation a year ago and requested a higher floor and also hoping to get a nice room, but all our excitement came to an end when we got up to your apartment, it looked like the apartment had been not used for ages, it had a very old smell, the bed covers in the master bedroom were faded and quilt cover was torn. The worst thing was to find a bunch of hair in the bathroom drain. The kitchen had all odd bits and pieces plates, glassware and cutlery. We were so disappointed with the whole stay, that I even insisted to speak to The Hotel Manager, he inform us this the apartment had been refurbished, but it did not seem referb from any angle.
The pictures on the website are very misleading, no where does it state that they have 2 buildings one closer to the beach and the other behind it. From the pictures it looks like you would be getting an apartment in the first building, but when you reach there and are given keys to the second building that’s disappointing.
The only advantage these apartments have is the location, they are situated in the heart of the main shopping area and easy access to the beach .

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

I would definitely recommend Paradise Centre Apts to both first time 'Surfers' visitors and coast regulars.We first stayed here a few years ago in a high level room which had amazing views. Since then we have tried several other nearby resorts but I am so glad we returned to Paradise Centre Apts. You just cant beat the location.

The 3 bedroom apt we were allocated for our stay over the Xmas period was faultless. It was incredibly spacious, it was spotless and it was comfortable for all 6 of us. We were on the 7th floor of the Allunga bldg and I am now a 'convert' to the lower floor rooms. We felt so much a part of the action - on the beach, at the pool. We could almost touch the beach fireworks.

Many thanks to the Reservation and PC Apt staff who made our family break a wonderful experience. We will be back for sure.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

After having a horrible time at another hotel, we came here and were absolutely thrilled. At the last minute Kate at reception got us a room, was a fantastic help and relieved a lot of the stress we were feeling.

The room was lovely and the bed was very comfortable. Loved the pools, spas and having a mall underneath!!

Will definitely stay here and recommend to others :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

Having never stayed at the Gold Coast before we picked this place based on distance to town and the beach and the price. We were absolutly stoked with our apartment couldnt have asked for any better. It literally is connected to a mall. Go down the lift level 4 and you have access to a mall, the clubbing strip plus the biggest timezone (games place) ive ever seen. The staff were awesome and friendly helped us book our shuttles everytime we needed to use them. We had a 2bed apartment for 4 adults it was perfect. We stayed in room 1004 in the Allunga building. Amazing view of the beach and pool area! Would definatly stay here again. Thanks heaps guys A+++++++++++!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Went up with family and had 2 apartments, one 2 bed and a single bedroom apartment, The apartments are in a great location but pretty old now and the single bedroom was dirty and smelly.

We got a good rate but would have paid more for a better room.

Room Tip: If you can, have a look at the apartment first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Paradise Centre Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Centre Apartments

Also Known As:
Paradise Centre Apartments Hotel
Paradise Centre Apartments Hotel Surfers Paradise
Paradise Center Hotel
Paradise Centre Apartments Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise
Address: 3 Hanlan Street, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia (Formerly BreakFree)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#18 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#23 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Paradise Centre Apartments 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 20 metres from the beach and right in the heart of Surfers Paradise, Paradise Centre Apartments provides a number of activities and entertainment options right at your doorstep. Enjoy the resort's onsite facilities like our two outdoor heated pools, relax in the spa or get active and hit it out on the tennis courts. Alternatively, why not head into Cavill Avenue for an action-packed day filled with shopping, dining and beachside markets? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Paradise Centre Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paradise Centre Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.