We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Breakers

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Breakers to your Saves list
The Breakers
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   60 Old Burleigh Road, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 73 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“perfect place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed for 2 weeks in a 2 bedroom apartment and we had an amazing holiday. We stayed on the 10th floor with incredible ocean views and beautiful sunrises. The apartment was very spacious and very clean. The pool and bbq area were spotless as well. Free wifi and foxtel is always a bonus when travelling with our teenage daughter. The managers and staff were all very friendly and helpful. We couldn't have been in a better location, it was perfect for us, with the beach being right on the doorstep, great for an early morning walk. The owners should be very proud of this apartment as it is the best one we have stayed in on the Gold Coast we can't wait to return!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
breakerslyn, Manager at The Breakers, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Your comments are very pleasing not only to us, as managers, but also to the owner of the apartment you stayed in. I do know these owners are very mindful of providing a lovely environment for guests to enjoy as much as they also do.
Thanks for your time taken to acknowledge the attributes of our wonderful property and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    52
    5
    5
    0
See reviews for
81
38
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed for three days had an amazing time, location was perfect for what my family n I had planned close to shops restaurants an beach right at your door step, apartment offered free wifi and foxtel an had everything we needed will defiantly be going back hopefully longer then the 3 days next time

  • Stayed September 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
breakerslyn, Manager at The Breakers, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thanks for your review and really happy that you enjoyed everything we have to offer here at The Breakers. We look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed for 10 nights and we loved it..... Had 2 bedroom apartment on 8th floor facing the ocean.... Couldn't have asked for better..... Spacious, clean, would recommend.... Five blocks walk to Cavill ave but did not mind the walk (as that was our excercise for the day)...easy walk to Broadbeach.... Stayed at Breakers 3 times now and have no complaints.... Staff always professional and helpful......

Room Tip: Ask for room facing ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
breakerslyn, Manager at The Breakers, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thanks for keeping on coming back!! Always great to see our returning guests and thanks for sharing your experience/s. I have to agree a lot of guests do love our location - close enough to everything yet far enough away to enjoy a leisurely walk to either the heart of Broadbeach or Surfers Paradise and right on the beach to boot!!!
Look forward to your next visit.......
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A few days in the sunshine enjoyed in spotless apartment with every amenity. Spectacular view over Broadbeach with the bonus of warm weather and lazy days. A place to visit again. We had a two bedroom apartment although only the two of us and enjoyed the space and the very well equipped apartment. Recently refurbished and equipped very well with big fridge, dishwasher and good quality crockery and cutlery. Would definitely book this apartment again

Room Tip: Beachfront have magnificent views over ocean and up and down beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
breakerslyn, Manager at The Breakers, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thanks for your review and so happy that you enjoyed your much needed break at our wonderful location and more than happy that you had a great stay.
Look forward to seeing you on your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Just stayed 2 nights. Location was perfect. Loved that our room opened on to the balcony. Sally was great - booked the room we requested. Room was quite nice but a bit dated. Not a clean as expected (i.e. toilet and shower). Security is great except be careful of the 2 different keys - sometimes you can get out but can't get it. You pay for the location, great view of water!

Room Tip: Ask for room facing water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
breakerslyn, Manager at The Breakers, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thanks for your feedback and glad you enjoyed the location of the apartment and the balcony overlooking the beach. Sorry you had cause to be unhappy with the cleaning - this is most unusual and I will certainly pass your comments on to the housekeepers. The good news is that the apartment you actually stayed in is just about to change owners and the new owner is keen to upgrade it so next time you come it should be a better experience. I am not sure what you meant with the keys as you must always take your keys with you when leaving the building. You can always get down to the ground floor to exit, however, if you do not take your keys then you will not be able to get back in. Thanks again for your review and hope to see you again another time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a week in mid Feb, we had a 1 bedroom room on the four floor on the side of the building looking at the beach. The rooms are a good size, if not a little dated now, and some kitchenware needed updating, but have everything you need. The location is great, right on beach front and close to shops, pacific fair etc just around the road.

Would defiantly stay again :)

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
breakerslyn, Manager at The Breakers, responded to this review, 5 weeks ago
Glad you enjoyed your stay with us and particularly our fabulous location and views. There are some apartments that are a little more tired than others, however, over the years the majority of them are updating which is great for everyone. Looking forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

We stayed for 3 weeks on our annual pilgrimage to the Gold Coast and Breakers will be our preferred 'go to' accommodation from now on, so much so we have already booked for next year.
It is all about position for us as in the past we have mostly stayed in Broadbeach central which is a hub of activity but also noisy and crowded at peak times. Breakers is midway between Surfers and Broadbeach - about 1km to each- which translates to a leisurely stroll along beach or flat footpath and blissful peace and quiet. About 300 metres away is a great takeaway, a good restaurant, a convenience store, a bottleshop and an Indian grocer - essentials taken care of!! Location wise the icing on the cake is Breakers beachfront position which few Gold Coast apartment complexes can boast. Nothing beats opening your back gate to step out onto the grassed picnic area and glorious sand.
The apartments themselves vary enormously of course as each is privately owned. Our 2 bedroom was not luxurious in the 'Home Beautiful' sense but it was palatial in size, brilliantly equipped, comfortable and situated on the front north east corner on level 7. Magnificent ocean views from every room except the recently refurbed bathrooms made us forgive the occasional glitch like living room curtains long overdue for replacement. We visited 3 different apartments courtesy of relatives who over the years have stayed in Breakers and all were lovely in their own way and in various stages of refurbishment - certainly not carbon copies of each other in style or layout. Units on the front south east corner also have beautiful views out to the ocean and down the coast to Coolangatta but receive less sun on the balconies and bedrooms - perhaps great for summer months. Because you are beachfront, even rooms on level 2 have fantastic views.
All up I don't think you can go wrong booking any of these apartments. Certainly Lyn the onsite manager knows her apartments and can discuss their various merits. She and her team were great to deal with, always available and kept the grounds and pool immaculate. Best of all our 3 week stay, booked well in advance came in at $1100 a week or $150 a night - the best value for quality we have found in this area.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
breakerslyn, Manager at The Breakers, responded to this review, 5 weeks ago
Thanks for taking the time to provide such an informative insight for all prospective readers. Really glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Breakers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Breakers

Address: 60 Old Burleigh Road, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#3 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#4 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#7 Best Value Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#12 Romantic Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Breakers 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Breakers - This classic beachfront high-rise on the golden sands of Australia’s Gold Coast is perfectly positioned between Surfers Paradise and Broadbeach.Five minutes north, and you’re in downtown Cavill Avenue soaking up the atmosphere of surf city. Five minutes south, and you’re in Broadbeach with it’s many great cafes and restaurants, home of Jupiters Casino, the international Gold Coast Convention and Exhibition Centre and the shop till you drop Pacific Fair. No matter what time of the year, it always feels like summertime hereThe Breakers has a range of holiday apartments to suit all budgets and sizes.There’s the spacious one and two bedroom apartments all enjoying great ocean and hinterland views from their balconies, the 3 level beachfront cabanas in front of the main tower looking directly over the beach or the fully-renovated 4 bedroom penthouse – great for the extended family. Facing east, the magnificent tiled pool catches almost all-day sun and looks out over the fabulous beachfront BBQ terrace.All apartments at The Breakers have Foxtel cable TV and for those who need to work or just browse the internet there is Free Wifi. The friendly on site Management team take great pride in The Breakers to make your holiday enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Breakers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Breakers Hotel Surfers Paradise
Breakers Surfers Paradise
Breakers Hotel Surfers Paradise
The Breakers Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Breakers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.