We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Views to live for!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Gold Tower Surfers Paradise

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Gold Tower Surfers Paradise to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Gold Tower Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2809 Gold Coast Highway, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Members Get Up to 35% Off
Ranked #20 of 73 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Views to live for!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We have just spent the loveliest weekend at the Coast! Yes that is what us Brisvegas types call it. When we arrived, second in the queue to check in - I was through in 5 minutes and the lovely receptionist commented that we were able to get our high floor room with superb views.

We had a quick meal in the adjoining Tavern which was excellent and great value for money and the bottle of wine was cheap - but good quality. Had a drink in the bar and got given fresh milk to take up to the room for the cuppa in the morning.

The next morning we had breakfast (all included) and wow what a great breakfast it was. The staff were wonderful and the food fresh and tasty with a gorgeous arrangement of fresh and cooked food.

We swan in the pool, has a spa and generally relaxed. From our balcony in our room where there were two comfortable chairs and a small table, the views were great and just the place for the glass of Moet shared with friends. We were able to take an ice bucket back to the spacious room to enjoy the views.

Saturday night after dinner we ventured back to the bar and were served once again, by a wonderful bar maid and nothing was too much trouble.

Sunday morning saw us leave, much to our regret as the whole weekend was wonderful. Whenever we bumped into staff at the hotel there was always a welcoming smile and good day. Whether it the man changing light bulbs hanging off a ladder, or the laundry staff we passed in the hallway to the car park. The staff in the restaurant at breakfast were just wonderful - a delightful weekend away.

All in all a great weekend and certainly recommend this hotel with the good old fashioned service. You won't regret staying there and we will be back.

Room Tip: Go for the Gold Tower on the higher floors - or the "07" rooms in the Pink Tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    117
    48
    8
    11
See reviews for
49
141
17
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I found a cheaper price than on their website, and they honored their guarantee with no hassle and I had the first night free.
The room was big and roomy, with a verandah and a lovely view. Nice bedding, plenty of pillows and towels.
Definitely recommended.
(To see more about which hotels to visit check us out Facebook/Shadowshopper.au)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tweed Heads, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Everything was very good value for money. Clean, tidy, great staff, restaurant meals were reasonably priced, breakfast was standard anddrinks expensive as expected, room was spacious and bed was comfy. Standard inclusions in the room. No noise which was an added benefit. Would def' stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westbrook, Queensland, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

When we arrived there was a huge mix up with our booking for the room and restaurant. After talking to the manager we were upgraded to the gold tower and offered a very fair deal for the restaurant. Which was most appreciated. The room although lovely is looking tired. Loose wallpaper, chipped paint and carpet in the hallways quiet worn. Unfortunately the room hadn't been serviced properly and there was a thank you card for another guest and a box of chocolates also half a bottle of wine in the fridge. We used the beauty salon but found the massage was far from satisfactory. The revolving restaurant however was as always fabulous. Breakfast in the restaurant the next day was also amazing

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We stayed at Crowne Gold Tower to recover from a surgery I had and needed to be close to my Plastic Surgeon. Therefore relied heavily on comfort and room service. The bed and pillows were soooo comfey and the bed was huge so no worry of my fiance accidentally rolling over onto me :) Looking the way i did there was no way we could leave the room, so for 4 days we relied totally on room service, i must say to was top quality and felt like a 5 star restaurant every time we ordered. The only little downer was the room was a little dated for what we usually go for (which is ultra modern clean lines and crisp white).
The room was immaculately clean and the house keeping very attentive with clean towels extra pillows and changing linens.
Overall extremely happy with our choice!

Room Tip: King Bed Spa Studio Ocean View - We were on the 20th floor and away from the lifts room 2017 had gre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Spent our 10th wedding anniversary in the 1 bedroom ocean view apartment last weekend. Neither my husband or I have stayed in such a beautiful place before and spent most of the 2 days/nights soaking up the magnifienct view from the 18th floor! Everything is spotless and the attention to little details were lovely. I booked the "Special Occasions" package and unfortunately had to request the inclusions (bubbles and chocs) on the night we arrived and didn't receive them for the 2nd night. The only disappointment was the room service, we ordered a pizza which was raw, cold and unpalatable. The buffet breakfast certianly made up for it the next morning - delish! We will definitely return, hopefully soon - thanks again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidMBrown, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Gold Tower Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Tiffo99,
Many thanks for choosing to stay with us for your anniversary - belated congratulations!
I was pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit but rest assured I will certainly follow up with the Room Service department to make them aware of your comments.
Also, for the Special Occasion package - the bubbly and chocolates are included and offered for the first night only (not on a daily basis). Please accept my most sincere apologies that these were not in your room awaiting your arrival.
Thanks again for posting your review and please do not hesitate to let me know if I can assist you at any time in the future.
David Brown
General Manager
david.brown@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Its been a while since I stayed in the Gold tower, have not had the 1 bed apartment before which is very roomy. Overall another great stay, however road works continue in the area due to the light rail being put in, this means heavy delays heading to the hotel from Surfers for cars and public transport, so try via Pacific Fair or via the beach road from Surfers.

Room Tip: Gold tower worth the upgrade, the one bedroom spa apt is great value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidMBrown, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Gold Tower Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear markis 100,
Many thanks for choosing to stay with us again - this time in one of our one bedroom apartments or studios. I am sorry to hear you encountered traffic delays during your stay. Roadworks immediately adjacent to the hotel were completed in August (so nothing is being 'dug up' outside the hotel). However we have no control over lane closures which occur from time to time up and down the highway.
Please don't hesitate to contact me next time you visit the Gold Coast and I can give you an accurate update if there are likely to be any traffic issues.
Thanks again for choosing Crowne Plaza Gold Tower as your preferred lodging on the Gold Coast.
David Brown
General Manager
david.brown@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Gold Tower Surfers Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Gold Tower Surfers Paradise

Address: 2809 Gold Coast Highway, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#15 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#16 Romantic Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Gold Tower Surfers Paradise 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Gold Tower is located adjacent to Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise. The Crowne Plaza Gold Tower offers premium hotel rooms and spacious self contained apartments including studio and one and two bedroom suites in a resort style setting. The majority of rooms boast Pacific Ocean views and all rooms have their own balconies. The Studio and Suites also offer kitchenettes and laundry facilities. Crowne Plaza Gold Tower is located between Surfers Paradise and Broadbeach. Major shopping centres, award winning dining, nightlife and world famous Gold Coast beaches are all within walking distance of the hotel. Crowne Plaza Gold Tower shares the extensive resort facilities with Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise including two outdoor swimming pools with heated spas and sundecks, gymnasium, full sized tennis court, games room and two restaurants and bars. The hotel features 9 flexible meeting rooms and can cater for up to 550 people. Four Winds 360 Revolving Restaurant is Queensland's only revolving restaurant. It offers panoramic views of the Gold Coast hinterland and Pacific Ocean as well as a delicious seafood and international buffet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Agoda, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Gold Tower Surfers Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Hotel Gold Tower Surfers Paradise Gold Coast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Gold Tower Surfers Paradise, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.