We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value and location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Surfers Beachside Holiday Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Surfers Beachside Holiday Apartments to your Saves list
Surfers Beachside Holiday Apartments
3.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Cnr Vista Street & Garfield Terrace, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Newcastle, Australia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Excellent value and location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

From the welcome to the spacious accommodation this apartment hotel is excellent value and a pleasure to stay in. The rooms were very well appointed and the facilities and public areas were very well maintained. Lovely big pool and BBQ area along with plenty of undercover parking and only a 10-15 minute walk from Cavill St. No restaurant on site but the Surf Club is just across the road where discounts were available as a guest of the property. Most importantly, the property managers were extremely helpful, knowledgeable and passionate about the area. You can pay much more for much less on the Gold Coast. A very pleasant 6 day break for my wife and I before starting a new job.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have good ocean views above the low buildings along the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    19
    11
    2
    3
See reviews for
28
18
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
355 reviews 355 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
248 helpful votes 248 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

I've been to quite a lot of Gold Coast establishments over the years, but I've not found better value for money than "Surfers Beachside". Its location is perfect: close to the main action at Surfers Paradisde but far enough away to be quiet. It's an easy 5-minute stroll on level ground along the Esplanade/Garfield Terrace to the shops and restaurants, it's diagonally opposite from Northcliffe Surf Life Saving Club's family-friendly and reasonably priced Bistro, and the surf is one minute over the road. It has its own generously-sized swimming pool, a cheerful and very clean outdoor (but covered) barbecue area, a sauna (his and hers) and a half-sized tennis court. All the balconies face north and there are five apartments per floor on floors 1-14, comprising three one-bedroom and two two-bedroom apartments. Lynne and Mark, the oh-so-helpful managers, will arrange bookings to all the nearby attractions, including all the theme parks, and will make helpful recommendations on things to see, do and where to eat. The apartments are well-maintained and constantly improved and most have air-conditioning (generally in the living areas, with ceiling fans in the bedroom/s). I've been going there now for about 13 years and have always felt like I'm coming home each time we holiday there..

Room Tip: The rooms ending in "1" face tghe ocean; thoase in "5" are quieter and still hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

I had an amazing experience at beachside holiday apartments! All Staff were amazing and so accommodating, even to us schoolies! Never once did we get a complaint about noise or anything at all. The distance from cavil ave was no problem at all in fact it was probably perfect! And just out of conveniency the surf club was only across the road and there is a corner store only around the corner. The security guards (for after hours) were so nice and even cracked a few jokes with us. The view from our apartment was amazing and the apartment itself was lovely
All in all I had a great experience and would definitely recommend it to people going to schoolies and also to people just looking for somewhere to stay :)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We had the most amazing stay at Surfer's Beachside. We stayed in a 2 bedroom 2 bathroom apartment on the 8th floor with superb views of the ocean from the living and dining areas, which had floor to ceiling windows/sliding doors and a 'wrap-around' balcony beyond it.

All the basic amenities were provided, eg. Bathroom supplies, kitchen utensils and crockery, air conditioning, clothes washer/dryer, dish washer, hair dryer, portable hanging rack for clothes. The apartment was not serviced daily but the necessary supplies like towels, soap bars, loo rolls were provided but in modest quantities. Be sure to bring additional if you are staying for longer than a few days.

We made use of the oven, microwave and induction cooker for simple meals and everything worked perfectly. We liked how the dining table was a good size for a family of 4 and that there was room for extra guests for dinner, if we had wanted to. Cerrtainly, the apartment was spacious and extremely comfortable for 2 adults and 2 kids, who even managed to have a few games of hide and seek in the apartment!

The public bus stop to theme parks and other attractions was a brisk 5 minute walk away, while Cavill Mall took us a leisurely 15 minute stroll. The beach, however, was just across the road from the apartment and the kids even found a small playground just around the corner from the apartment. There was also a good sized swimming pool and a heated spa pool and sauna.

Definiftely, the apartment far surpassed our expectations, and...we will be back!

Room Tip: 801 had the best ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Our recent stay at the Surfers Beachside Holiday Apartments was fantastic! The apartment far exceeded our expectation. Having read all the good & negative reviews of the property at Tripadvisor, we made a mental preparation that it would be just be a clean & decent place for us to sleep over. But from the moment we entered Apartment 1101, the full ocean view wowed us. The apartment was nicely furnished and the bed was comfortable. The place was clean and the managers of the property are very friendly. My kid had a great time chilling out at the family area & we felt very much at home. Sighting whales from the balcony more than 10x was an added bonus.

The price we paid for the 2-bedroom apartment is equivalent to a hotel room in the central surfers paradise. But the large space, homely ambience, convenience of having a kitchen and washing area make the apartment far more "value-for-money" than a hotel room. Great dining is only a 5 minutes walk to the Northcliffe Surf Club. The only disappointment we had was the dirty aircon filter. Luckily pulling it out and washing it was easy and we solved the problem in 5 minutes.

We will definitely go back to Surfers Beachside again.

Room Tip: Apartment 1101 is nicely furnished and has a spectacular ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Firstly, I need to tell you we took advantage of a Spring Special which meant we could stay in a 2 bedroom apartment on the 10th floor with air conditioning and expansive ocean views for $115 per night.

Yes, the room could do with an update here or there but it was clean, spacious and had everything we needed. Any small issues (such as tuning in Austar on the TV) were resolved promptly by the lovely Mark and Lynne at reception.

The apartments are located literally across the road from the beach and Surf Club. It's about a 10 minute walk from Cavill Avenue where you'll find a supermarket, chemist etc. The pool is nice and big, as is the BBQ area.

Overall, it's hard to fault Surfers Beachside for a relaxing family holiday.

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the better the view. Lower floors might be blocked by buildings across the roa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Our living room and kitchen faces the beach and the view is spectacular. Air condition is in the living room. Both Bedrooms has no air condition and has a ceiling fan which is fine as is still cool during the night in Sep. As for the lighting in the bedroom is rather dimmed for us. The bathroom in the master bedroom is clean with a shower room. However for the common bathroom there is no shower room and had to climb in the bathtub (tub is old) to shower which we find it slippery (we did not see any anti slip mat provided). Also would be great to have some hooks in the bathroom to hang our clothes or robe.

For the kitchen, they do provide the necessary for cooking, cutlery and plates but not in its best conditions. Some plates is chipped at the side but usable if you are not fussy about it. The fridge in this apartment we stayed is clean as we believe is new.

They do provide 2 sachet of dish washing liquid, 2 new kitchen towels, 2 tiny bar soap and 2 toilet rolls for each bathroom but No Tissue Papers. We had no issue with this minimal supplies as we are able to buy what we need from the supermarket. About 10 - 15 mins walk to the mall to Woolsworth

Yes, I agree with some reviewer that some of the items in the apartment is old or mismatched and the unsightly of a rusty compressor which is right outside one of the bedroom.

Nevertheless, The service received from the reception is wonderful and checking in is a breeze. We had to check out at 6.30am and realize that we didn't know how to return the keys. Hence, we dropped it in the letter box with a note on the office door. Hope we did it right.

The apartment is on the quieter side of the beach and do gets dark for walking the beach at night unlike further up where Cavill is they are brighter with lights and there are night markets on Wed, Fri and Sun. We notice that there are more stalls on Wed and Fri vs Sun.

Taxi from Gold Coast Airport to the apartment was AUD56 (normal cab) and the return trip in a (maxi cab) was approx. Aud 85.

Taking the public bus, the nearest bus stop to this apartment is Remembrance Drive.

Overall, our stay in this apartment is pleasant and we had a great holiday.

Room Tip: Room 701 has a good sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Surfers Beachside Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfers Beachside Holiday Apartments

Address: Cnr Vista Street & Garfield Terrace, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Surfers Beachside Holiday Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Surfers Beachside Holiday Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfers Beachside Holiday Apartments Hotel Surfers Paradise
Surfers Beachside Holiday Apartments Paradise
Surfers Beachside Holiday Apartments Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surfers Beachside Holiday Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.