We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“getting worse...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Towers of Chevron Renaissance

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Towers of Chevron Renaissance to your Saves list
Towers of Chevron Renaissance
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   23 Ferny Avenue, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“getting worse...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

This was our fifth stay at the Chevron. We keep coming back because of the lagoon pool where our kids really enjoy it. Plus the central location is a big plus. However, the apartments are now slowly getting dated, they are poorly cleaned, both private and those booked through Chevron, and the price you pay does not match expectations. It will be a hard decision next time!

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,745 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    467
    577
    301
    193
    207
See reviews for
962
187
14
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (488)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Could not believe how dirty the room was and the bathroom would make your skin crawl. The bed covers were so stained, the lounge had stains all over it, the carpet was that sticky we had to wear thongs to walk on it.This place is best kept for schoolies week! Not for my family, never ever again!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosford
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed in a 2 bedroom apt in the main tower 27th floor - a privately owned apartment. The rooms were modern and comfortable with nice views of the city and ocean ( an ocean view apt) We did find that the noise levels from the city were ok at this level and did not interrupt our rest. Parking was easy and the check in process was easy also through the agents who met us on site.Being above coles n shops was really handy for groceries. The main pool is stunning and the indoor pool was handy as the weather turned foul in the last few days. Sea world is really close by car and other parks are an easy drive. Over all an enjoyable stay and family friendly. ( as we had the severe weather associated with ex cyclone we did have issues with the noise of wind n rain and the sliding doors leaked leaving the carpets soaked... not much we could do as the weather was highly unusual for Surfers )

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chevrontowers, Manager at Towers of Chevron Renaissance, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for sharing your review with other travelers
As you have may be aware, the majority of the accommodation on the Gold Coast is strata title apartment resorts. As the unit you stayed in was not managed by Chevron Towers, we are unable to comment on your room and carpet issues.

We are pleased to read you enjoyed our facilities.
We strongly encourage all future travelers to book directly with the resort on 07 5584 8100.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in Tower 3 in an ocean-facing apartment on the 14th floor (apartment 3145). I recommend tower 3 (but the ocean-facing side only) for the view but also because it is the tower where Reception, indoor lap pool and the gym are located. There is also a view from some balconies (including this apartment's) over the main outdoor lagoon pool but it is far enough away from that popular pool to not have the noise issues. There are nightclubs not far away in Surfers so I did find, as a light sleeper, that on Fri and Sat nights I used ear plugs to ensure "silence". The other towers in the complex will just mean you will have a longer walk to the gym etc, and possibly restricted views on the lower floors,but they are otherwise fine. The lifts can take a while at peak periods.

This complex is centrally-located above a shopping complex including major supermarkets (Coles underneath; Woolworth's in "Circle on Cavill" shops adjacent) and is an easy walk to the beach and retail area. You could get by without a car if Surfers is your only destination. There is car parking allocated to most, if not all, apartments but do check this when you book if you need to have a car during your stay. The underbuilding carpark is not particularly easy to find your way around so have someone meet you or ensure you get a map of the complex, particularly if you are arriving at night.

Ensure you look closely at the details of exactly which apartment you are booked into. We chose an apartment thst didn't look as luxuriously furnished because it was almost half the price of others for the same period (2 bdrm 1 bathrm). We got a fabulous rate for 3 nights over Christmas through our Entertainment Book membership, which was ultimately a booking through Gold Coast Holiday Rentals. I checked in with GCHR to find out when the apartment was last refurbished and found out that it was simply a case of the photos not being up to date. So we got a comfortable apartment on the cheap. (Just be aware that the 2nd bedroom in a 2 bdrm/1 bathrm apartment is really a converted study, as one of its entry points is off the lounge).

Just a word on GCHR; they were incredibly fast and responsive to any emails I sent with questions and enquiries. However when the bathroom basin blocked early in our stay (which I was later told was a common problem in this complex due to a design fault), a repair was not booked in till 27th (i.e. after we left), due to public holidays. It was a hassle to have 4 people in one bathroom without a working basin; we used the second kitchen sink for teeth-brushing etc.

Assume each apartment is independently owned and therefore furnished differently.

Hint: Read the details / look at the photos of your specific apartment carefully - they vary considerably. You can probably get an ocean view in Tower 3 (apt number will start with a 3 and the next two numbers will be the floor level; aim gor above level 5) for the same price as others in the complex. And get a map!

Suit families with teenage children and couples. Lagoon pool is popular with children / families but take care with balconies. There was a tragedy from the 22nd floor balcony a couple of months ago.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

This place really needs to review it's staff/cleaners before they get slammed to the slums of paradise.

Our room was filthy when we checked in. Hair in the shower (alot of it) one bed didn't have a sheet while the others did. Dry toothpaste in the ensuite sink. Lollies behind the bed. Sticky couches, Need I go on?

Only positive is the location. If it wasn't for the location this would be a 2* maximum. I suggest if your think about staying here, don't. You'll regret it as my husband and I do.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed here for the Christmas weekend.. It was a 3BHK apt luxurious, clean and welcoming.. For your visit to Gold coast its a perfect location as it is right on surfers paradise and accessible to the main street for shopping, clubbing, restaurants and walk on the beach..

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chevrontowers, Manager at Towers of Chevron Renaissance, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review.
We love that you enjoyed your stay, and cant wait to welcome you back next time you are in Surfers Paradise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Went away with family for 6 nights to gold coast, picture of these apartments are so out of date, they look nothing like in pirctures. Arrived and were greeted by the most rude reception staff, took my family to room , broken bed, mould all over curtains and windows, bathroom filthy, carpets dirty and the list goes on, although the location good, these apartments are not worth rating, considering these apartments are apparently 4 star, dont understand how? The floor we stayed on was on the 9th floor and absolutely stunk of mould and mildew. The staff on the front desk need a course in what is good customer service asked several times to speak to manager but was always too busy to speak to my us. We asked to be moved to another room and has to wait all day with the inconvenience of leaving our bags at reception and all groceries out the back disgusting service and staff will be recommending that none of my family, friends or clients stay and these apartments.

Room Tip: Would not bother even booking, recommend stay elsewhere although position good, apartments and servi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chevrontowers, Manager at Towers of Chevron Renaissance, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you for your feedback.

All of our apartments are individually owned and therefore decorated slightly differently. All of the apartments that we manage are maintained to a 4 star standard.

I apologise if you felt the reception staff were unhelpful or discourteous and we will certainly address this.

In regards to moving rooms, i am sure we did our very best to assist you and were more than happy to move your room,however as you can appreciate that when we are fully booked there are no spare rooms. As such we needed you to check out so that house keeping could go in as well as waiting for another room to become vacant and be cleaned before we could give you the keys.

If you would like to contact me directly to discuss this matter further, please feel free to do so.
Phone: 07 5584 8100 or stay@chevrontowers.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.1 mi away
Mantra Circle on Cavill
Mantra Circle on Cavill
#8 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 stars 1,117 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel & Residences
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel & ...
#9 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 stars 2,009 reviews
0.3 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#3 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 stars 1,706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
#1 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 stars 631 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vibe Hotel Gold Coast
Vibe Hotel Gold Coast
#11 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 stars 1,675 reviews
0.5 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#7 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 stars 894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Towers of Chevron Renaissance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Towers of Chevron Renaissance

Address: 23 Ferny Avenue, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 122 Specialty Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Towers of Chevron Renaissance 4*
Number of rooms: 358
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Towers of Chevron Renaissance offers a new level in contemporary lifestyle, located in the heart of Surfers Paradise. The complex consists of 3 majestic towers rising 50 levels, featuring one, two or three bedroom, self contained apartments. Set in private landscaped gardens and manicured lawns, facilities include a 600sqm bell shaped pool surrounded by sandy beaches, a 25m lap pool, spas, saunas, barbeque areas, a gymnasium, children's playground and games room and private theatre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Towers of Chevron Renaissance reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towers Of Chevron Renaissance Hotel Surfers Paradise
Hotel Of Chevron Renaissance
Renaissance Surfers Paradise
Surfers Paradise Renaissance
Towers Of Chevron Renaissance Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Towers of Chevron Renaissance, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.