We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Towers of Chevron Renaissance

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Towers of Chevron Renaissance to your Saves list
Towers of Chevron Renaissance
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   23 Ferny Avenue, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 58 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
sydney
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

This hotel provided us with the most amazing week of our lives. We traveled here for schoolies and were concerned our hotel would not be as good as friends next door and while there hotel was modern ours had a lot more facilitys and was much lenient with security! our rooms also bigger and more comfortable! we loved this hotel very very much and plan on visiting it again very soon!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    361
    433
    229
    150
    159
See reviews for
724
137
12
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (386)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We are very frequent travellers to Gold Coast but first time at Chevron Renaissance Towers. We stayed for one week - early-mid nov 2012 in a 2 bedroom - $135 per night. Price was good but on par with what i could of got at Crown Towers which was better.

Positives : Location - so central and being on top of a Coles is so handy. The outdoor pool area is nice (tad cold) and bbq area is good too. Small playground for kids and large indoor pool. Also a games room (but had to pay per game). Modern looking apartments as well.

Negatives:
- Only 1 bathroom and toilet for 2 bedroom suites - all other places i have stayed usually have 2.
- Small main bed - double at best and sunk in middle. Only sheets and light blanket - lucky it was warm.
- Balcony door off hinges when first arrived - with 2 young kids - bit concerned - this was fixed within 12 hrs of reporting it.
- Window in main bedroom broken so didnt close 100% and wind was noisy.
- No locks on inside of main door - meant children could just open it up form inside and wander out.
- We had a shower in bath tub (2 other friends staying had no bath). The bath drain started to block up from day 1 and got worse and worse - by day 5 we were showering in water approaching our knees - disgusting when your 2nd in!. Reported problem but was told by reception that they were too busy with setting up rollaway beds for Schoolies coming in 2 days so would be at least 24 hrs before they could fix it.. I also said it would be a 5 minute fix and we cannot use it but she wasnt concerned - schoolies are apparently more important!! By next morning it was so disgusting i couldn't use it as water wouldnt even drain away so went down reception and got a nicer person who didnt even have the problem in the system - she did manage to get someone to fix it that day. Bath was not clean to start with and smelt rank.

Lampshades, curtains all dirty and block out curtains had holes so sun came through (which is 4am up there)

Overall cleanliness was just poor - the carpet had stains all through it.

Small rooms and not very big living area either. Compared to Crown Towers, Sun City, Peninsula and even long reach stayed at in past years.

Cooking utensils bare basics.

There is a cinema there but $15 for 1.5 hrs! cheaper to go real movies.

Navigating way around was hard - and need key to access any floor! felt like had to walk a mile through long corridors to get anywhere.

Check in - i arrived 540pm on a sat night and was told by lady at reception i was "out of hours" even though sign said reception closed at 6pm - so i had to call a number and open a safe to get my keys - not very friendly way to be welcomed and wasnt like it was that late and there was someone there!

Indoor pool didnt seen all that clean either - murky water and spa soap had brown in it.

Furniture in 2nd room all sharp edges and glass - not kid friendly.

Noisy - roadworks and party goers. Especially on weekends and only on Lev 10 (was supposed to have a high floor guarantee on booking)

Check out was a nightmare too as schoolies had arrived (9am) and foyer, lifts, carparks all crazy with hundreds of 17/18 year olds.

Overall disappointed in this stay and wouldn't come back. Much preferred Crown Towers and Sun City over this. Location is all it had going for it.

Still had a great week though and Movieworld and Dreamworld both heaps of fun.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Was our second time staying here, we weren't booked directly through the hotel, but service was fine regardless.
The places we have stayed in have always been clean and tidy and have just alerted the contact person to any problems, no dramas, no extra charges!
We like the fact that the location is central and easy to get to the beach and amenities are all close by!
There's and outside lap pool with barbeque area, an inside pool with spa sauna and gym, as well as the beach pool with spa and more barbeque areas, sun lounges galore... and an out door play area for the kids (we have used all of the above!!) So if you want to chill and not really go anywhere you don't have to!!

Room Tip: Mulitple veiws are a must, just ask!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Stayed here beginning of November, great views from all rooms, pool area was great, great location as far as being able to walk to things _ especially with teenagers able to be independent. A shuttle service operates to the theme parks daily so was able to leave the teens to do their thing. Rooms were a good size. Supermarket downstairs handy. Only drawback was the noise when the clubs empty out, but hey your in the middle of city.

Room Tip: I upgraded to the two bathroom suite, well worth it, had three teenage boys and daughter with me
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

bed linen was very clean, the laundry does a very good job;
the apartment wasn't clean, the service is very poor, there is a lot of room for improvement..........
Tour Desk team is very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Nothing bad I could say about the apartment itself - two bedrooms, two bathrooms and very spacious living area.

The kitchen had all utensils and electical devices you could need. Detergent was provided for the washing machine and cleaning equipment for the kitchen.

I was on the 29th floor and the view over the city was awesome. Unfortunately it was too windy to sit out on the balcony for long, but it would be great in better weather.

The showers were very good and strong and the bed extremely comfy.

Was a bit suprised to arrive at 6:30pm an find the reception already closed - seems very early. But no matter, the details are left in a safe so didn't pose a problem.

My one complaint is about the receptionist who rang me three times the morning after I checked in, each time only letting the phone ring 2 or 3 times, so I didn't have time to pick it up - very frustrating. The call was to remind me to check in at the reception desk before noon which was hours away - surely there's no need to call until after noon!!

I'd definitely recommend this place as a great base for a stay in Surfer's.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chevrontowers, Manager at Towers of Chevron Renaissance, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for your review Crinion,

It’s pleasing to read you enjoyed the views and your apartment. Level 29 has wide sweeping costal and hinterland views which are truly breathtaking!!

I do apologise that reception called you 3 times.
We have implemented a new procedure to call guests to register after 11am.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Very frequent travellers to Gold Coast but first time at Chevron Renaissance Towers. We stayed for one week - early-mid nov 2012 in a 2 bedroom - $135 per night. Price was good but on par with what i could of got at Crown Towers which was better.

Positives : Location - so central and being on top of a Coles is so handy. The outdoor pool area is nice (tad cold) and bbq area is good too. Small playground for kids and large indoor pool. Also a games room (but had to pay per game). Modern looking apartments as well.

Negatives:
- Only 1 bathroom and toilet for 2 bedroom suites - all other places i have stayed usually have 2.
- Small main bed - double at best and sunk in middle. Only sheets and light blanket - lucky it was warm.
- Balcony door off hinges when first arrived - with 2 young kids - bit concerned - this was fixed within 12 hrs of reporting it.
- Window in main bedroom broken so didnt close 100% and wind was noisy.
- No locks on inside of main door - meant children could just open it up form inside and wander out.
- We had a shower in bath tub (2 other friends staying had no bath). The bath drain started to block up from day 1 and got worse and worse - by day 5 we were showering in water approaching our knees - disgusting when your 2nd in!. Reported problem but was told by reception that they were too busy with setting up rollaway beds for Schoolies coming in 2 days so would be at least 24 hrs before they could fix it.. I also said it would be a 5 minute fix and we cannot use it but she wasnt concerned - schoolies are apparently more important!! By next morning it was so disgusting i couldn't use it as water wouldnt even drain away so went down reception and got a nicer person who didnt even have the problem in the system - she did manage to get someone to fix it that day. Bath was not clean to start with and smelt rank.

Lampshades, curtains all dirty and block out curtains had holes so sun came through (which is 4am up there)

Overall cleanliness was just poor - the carpet had stains all through it.

Small rooms and not very big living area either. Compared to Crown Towers, Sun City, Peninsula and even long reach stayed at in past years.

Cooking utensils bare basics.

There is a cinema there but $15 for 1.5 hrs! cheaper to go real movies.

Navigating way around was hard - and need key to access any floor! felt like had to walk a mile through long corridors to get anywhere.

Check in - i arrived 540pm on a sat night and was told by lady at reception i was "out of hours" even though sign said reception closed at 6pm - so i had to call a number and open a safe to get my keys - not very friendly way to be welcomed and wasnt like it was that late and there was someone there!

Indoor pool didnt seen all that clean either - murky water and spa soap had brown in it.

Furniture in 2nd room all sharp edges and glass - not kid friendly.

Noisy - roadworks and party goers. Especially on weekends and only on Lev 10 (was supposed to have a high floor guarantee on booking)

Check out was a nightmare too as schoolies had arrived (9am) and foyer, lifts, carparks all crazy with hundreds of 17/18 year olds.

Overall disappointed in this stay and wouldn't come back. Much preferred Crown Towers and Sun City over this. Location is all it had going for it.

Still had a great week though and Movieworld and Dreamworld both heaps of fun.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Towers of Chevron Renaissance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Towers of Chevron Renaissance

Address: 23 Ferny Avenue, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#12 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#21 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Towers of Chevron Renaissance 4*
Number of rooms: 358
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Towers of Chevron Renaissance offers a new level in contemporary lifestyle, located in the heart of Surfers Paradise. The complex consists of 3 majestic towers rising 50 levels, featuring one, two or three bedroom, self contained apartments. Set in private landscaped gardens and manicured lawns, facilities include a 600sqm bell shaped pool surrounded by sandy beaches, a 25m lap pool, spas, saunas, barbeque areas, a gymnasium, children's playground and games room and private theatre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Towers of Chevron Renaissance reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towers Of Chevron Renaissance Hotel Surfers Paradise
Hotel Of Chevron Renaissance
Renaissance Surfers Paradise
Surfers Paradise Renaissance
Towers Of Chevron Renaissance Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Towers of Chevron Renaissance, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.