We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and great place to stay while in Gold Coast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Santana Holiday Resort Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Santana Holiday Resort Apartments to your Saves list
Santana Holiday Resort Apartments
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7-15 Monte Carlo Ave, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 58 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Nice and great place to stay while in Gold Coast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We recently stayed at the Santana Resort for 6 nights from 19 Oct till 24 Oct 2012. The room given to us (2 adults and 1 child) was big and clean but note that there is no lift here so be prepare to climb up and down everyday, not a prob for us. As it is a self-contained apartment, there are microwave, cooker, plates etc all provided. We usually cook a simple breakfast before going out for whole day so very good way to save money and we also wash our clothes before coming back. Haha.
Please note only 1 roll of toilet paper is provided per room so either bring along from your home or go Woolworths and buy (2 rolls for around AUD$1.50) cheaper than buy from counter. :)
Overall the place is very quiet @ night and my son love the heated pool and jacuzzi. We will definately consider this place again if we have chance to visit Gold Coast again.
Note for Asians :- We read many reviews that said Santana is within walking distance to Surfers Paradise, we tried it and if you think 30 min walk is near, then go ahead. For us, we rather take the bus (3 stops from hotel to Cavill Ave). Not fun walking (in my opinion)

Room Tip: We had room 29 on the 3rd floor. Very nice and quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    26
    12
    4
    8
See reviews for
23
24
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Family run apartments with good facilities for a family break with washing machines, snooker table, etc. Not the most plush of decor, but enough for us and the price we wanted to pay. Staff were very helpful when it came to booking trips, etc. Best bit - use of BBQ and jacuzzi / pool area. Nice location a stone's throw from the beach between Surfers Paradise and Broadbeach. So glad we weren't in the middle of Surfers

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed at the Santana from the 19th - 24th of September 2012 and had an amazing stay. Upon check in we were provided with pamphlets and advised of all the great local eateries and the nearest petrol stations, supermarkets, etc. The staff were super friendly and more than happy to atop and have a chat.

The pool, spa and outdoor BBQ area is fantastic. It's open from 7am but we didn't really notice too many people using the area that early. The pool and spa close at 9pm with the BBQ area remaining open until 10pm. There are supplies for the BBQ already in place which is really handy.

Underground, secure and allocated parking is available and there was also plenty of off street parking. The games room is great and reasonably priced.... table tennis, pool, etc.

The resort is about 1km away from the main hub of cavill Ave......it's an easy walk and there's no parking anywhere close to cavill anyway. Nearby is Broad beach which is gorgeous with lots of trendy little restaurants and bars. About 400 metres up the highway is a wok in a box and a few other little cafes. There's also Thai on the corner about 80 metres from the hotel.

I would highly recommend staying at the Santana - it's such a great resort and incredibly reasonably priced. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: We were in room 14 - it looks straight over the pool and spa but up on the 2nd level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santanasurfers, Manager at Santana Holiday Resort Apartments, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
thank you it was nice of you to take time to write, hope to see you on your next trip to sunny gold coast
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

the Santana made my holidays became more better cause its hospitality, its location was nice, not so far from Paradise beach where many people coming to having bath & see the sunlight. The hotel itself got a nice & big simming pool, it included the room rate, staffs with the most attentive postures and ready to help. I had a good time for shopping by the market nearby, can go by bus but go for a walk maybe just harder. My apartment included many nice & modern facilities, a warm ambience cames from the room made better in the early morning, it was really a nice trend in Gold Coast, i have a plan for coming back for next year at this Hotel

Room Tip: all apartments well-equipped, so easy to get a nice room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Very friendly and helpful staff who assisted us with all local knowledge.
Located close to bus routes to everywhere you can possibly want to go plus an easy walk to Surfers and Broadbeach.
Awesome food close by and great shopping mall on a nearby bus route.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santanasurfers, Manager at Santana Holiday Resort Apartments, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thank you for your review we appreciate your feedback.
We do hope you can stay with us again when next you visit Surfers Paradise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

POOR CUSTOMER SERVICE!

We arrived at the resort after-hours so we had to use the after-hours service which involves picking up a phone to speak to the after-hours manager. Over the phone, we gave them our name and actually spelt it out for her. Without any hesitation, she gave us a PIN number to open the safe deposit box where she says we will find our keys. We did as we were told, opened the safe and there was only ONE envelope in there. Naturally, anyone would think that it is our room key. So we took it and happily checked into the room - we thought it was quite nicely decorated, well equipped kitchen etc...

BUT much later in the night, one of the resort owners came knocking on our door and started to question us non-stop on why we are in this room and why we didn't check the name on the envelope, without giving us any chance to speak at all!!!! He then went on to say he will be charging us an extra 150AUD for using a room we were not supposed to use. I was taken aback at how rude he was, and was very offended. He was practically screaming at us when all we did was to follow EXACTLY all the instructions we were given by the after-hours manager and took the ONLY set of keys in the safe. Thankfully, the lady owner stepped in and made the night less unpleasant (thank you!).

And at the end of the stay, they made us pay 50AUD EXTRA for "Linen Charges" because we used a room "we were not supposed to be in" (How am I supposed to know when that's what I was told to do and there obviously weren't 2 envelopes in the safe that I could choose from?!?!)

This incident made me really upset for various reasons:
1. They did not do proper preparation for our arrival - only 1 set of keys in the safe not properly labelled even though 2 sets of guests were checking in that day
2. Resort Owner showed up at our door reprimanding us without even finding out what happened and how this mix up happened
3. Demanded (in a rude tone of voice) us to pay 150AUD extra when the fault was facilitated by their inability to organise guest check-ins well
4. Had to pay 50AUD extra eventually for something which I feel should be borne by the resort for not sorting check-ins and after-hours service well enough

They do have a great pool though. Heated pool with a jacuzzi - great for winter and when you feel like dipping in the night.

Make sure you call them before hand to ensure that such mix-ups don't happen to you, else that "value for money" proposition falls flat. If I were to visit Gold Coast again, this is definitely NOT one of my top choices.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santanasurfers, Manager at Santana Holiday Resort Apartments, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Thank you for your feedback we appreciate it greatly.

With after hours check-in our check-in procedure is really quite simply.The after hours assistance talked you through and before you collected your keys they asked you to ensure the envelope had your name on it.They record all conversations to ensure they give all details correctly so if issues ever happen they have back up.We listened to the tape and they asked you that very question,have you got the envelope with your name on it and with that you answered , yes yes that is correct.You seemed in a hurray and were quite happy to finish the call quickly.
Unfortunately you took another guests room that they specifically booked with their name on the envelope not your name .This caused major confusion.The next day we had to clean two rooms yours and the other room that the other guests stayed in we only think it fair that we charge you $50 for the cost of the linen for both rooms.We paid for the rooms to be cleaned ourselves.

Sometimes these things happen and we do apologise and we will ensure our after hours double checks with all guests in future over the phone during this procedure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Location was not too bad, although it's on the non-beach side of a major thoroughfare, which is something to be conscious of when you're in your bathing suit and towel waiting for vehicles to stop and the pedestrian light to go green. The apartment itself was clean, spacious, comfortable and well equipped, although a missing blind and a few chips here and there show its wear and tear. I would stay here again, but it's a place better suited to having a car.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Santana Holiday Resort Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santana Holiday Resort Apartments

Address: 7-15 Monte Carlo Ave, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 58 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Santana Holiday Resort Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, EasyToBook, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Santana Holiday Resort Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santana Holiday Resort Apartments Hotel Surfers Paradise
Santana Holiday Hotel Apartments
Santana Holiday Resort Apartments Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santana Holiday Resort Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.