We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit of a rip off.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Q1 Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Q1 Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Q1 Resort and Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   9 Hamilton Avenue, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #6 of 58 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Geelong, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A bit of a rip off.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed in the Sub Penthouse. I was impressed at first until I saw that there was dust everywhere! I was not happy considering the money I had spent to stay in a room filled with dust!
On the other hand, the spa is great, the reception area is very impressive and the views are spectacular! The room I stayed in was very specious and quite modern.
The customer service is pretty average.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    648
    365
    171
    93
    76
See reviews for
447
347
22
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (405)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We booked our stay through a private operator rather than through Q1 directly and were very happy with the deal we negotiated. Our family of four stayed for 12 nights. The rooms are incredibly spacious (we had a three bedroom apartment) and everyone enjoyed their own little space! One of my favourite features for families is the enclosed balcony - you can enjoy the amazing views, let fresh air into your apartment and yet its safe for children. The rooms were all fitted out nicely.
We love the close proximity of the Q1 to the beach (it looks far away on maps but it is actually incredibly close - literally a 30 second walk out of the hotel). It is about a 10 minute walk either along the beach or road to the heart of Surfer's Paradise for shopping & restaurants although there is a good variety of restaurants within walking distance.
If you'd rather spend your time by the pool than in the sand, there is a spacious pool area with lots of different spots to relax…and the poolside cafe is AMAZING! The delicious food was totally unexpected!
You can't go wrong with a stay at Q1 - the views are spectacular, the amenities great and the rooms excellent.

Room Tip: The apartments do vary in their layout and furnishings as they're privately owned so be sure of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queanbeyan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed in a one bedroom ocean view apartment for 5 nights, with our 3 month old son.
The apartment itself came with all amenities (large fridge, oven, stove, microwave, washing machine, crockery etc.)
The views were amazing with the ocean almost at your door step. The apartment had internal sliding doors that could be opened up to create a sense of open living or closed off as required. The balcony was unique to what you normally get in a hotel room in that is was almost like another room of the apartment.
The hotel has 3 swimming pools that were all great (two outside and one indoor lap pool).
Staff at the check in/out desk were very polite and the experience was done with ease.
I would also like to point out that I had a few queries before booking my room, the reservations staff were so helpful via email.

Room Tip: The Q1 has a no party policy which is great when you have a young child. However there was still a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nippers101, Guest Relations Manager at Q1 Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Cenelle,

Thanks for taking the time to review Q1 and I was happy to read that you enjoyed your recent 5 night stay with us. Q1 is a great venue for families, very popular at this time of year of course and I'm pleased that you left with positive memories.
Hope to see you again soon.

Regards,

Jay F. Boggs
Manager on Duty
Q1 Resort and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

we stayed for 3 nights 2 adults 2 kids, after stayed at another kids friendly accomodation.
kids liked Q1 better.
we all had very relaxing time, room is clean, quiet, close to beach&shops.
enjoyed the pool til late.
t was great having washer&dryer, practical kitchen!
beakfast on 77 was a great experience, though the food wasnt very good.
over all we loved the stay, and WILL GO BACK soon!

Room Tip: oceanside is much nicer, but window gets dirty because of rain, storm. but its all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nippers101, Guest Relations Manager at Q1 Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear andypong,

Thanks for your review. Sometimes kids are the best judges aren't they? I'm pleased that they loved Q1 best of all. I'm pleased that you also found Q1 to be relaxing and enjoyable.
I look forward to welcoming you back soon and trust that your next stay will be even better.

Warm regards,

Jay F. Boggs
Manager on Duty
Q1 Resort and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The staff made every effort to get us checked in quickly and efficiently. We went up to our apartment, beautiful as it was. We had 2rooms, with spa and spaectacular views of the Gold Coast and the ocean as far as the eye could see.. The kids.loved the pool which adjoined the games room, they had a lot of fun in there. We had an elevator ride to ground and there we had just about everything we could possibly need at hand, restaurants, groceries and of course the bottlo. My son went out later to the clubs and the rest of us took in a show at the casino up the road.We were very impressed with the friendly staff, only to happy to help. Checking out was the worst part of our stay and that was only because we were leaving. Will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: Get in early, they go quick.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nippers101, Guest Relations Manager at Q1 Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Lisa P,

Thanks for taking the time to review Q1 Resort and Spa. I was happy to read that your stay with us was great and that you found Q1 had something for everyone.
Hope to see you again soon.

Warm regards,

Jay F. Boggs
Manager on Duty
Q1 Resort and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Sub penthouse is the way to go for a large family break! Stunning ocean view, convenient access to the beach, close to shops but no immediate commercial noise, make it our preferred place to stay every time we visit GC. My overseas family were so thrilled with the view during their stay!

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nippers101, Guest Relations Manager at Q1 Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear GU B,

Thanks for your review, I'm pleased that you had a great time at Q1. Our three bedroom executive apartments are certainly popular for groups and families as they are speacious and guaranteed to be on a high level. Hope to see you again soon.

Warm regards,

Jay F. Boggs
Manager on Duty
Q1 Resort and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Super apartment. 1 bedroom Privately owner 25th Floor. Modern, all you could need. Great views and location. Staff very polite, helpful and friendly. Facilities first class. Definitely will stay there again. Quiet and relaxing place.

Room Tip: Higher floors, less noise. Sea breeze Northern side was great. Fully enclosed, No worries about fall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nippers101, Guest Relations Manager at Q1 Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear jeanette Brisbane,

Thanks for your review and it was great to read that you had a fantastic stay at Q1. As the room number was not provided, perhaps you did not stay in a Q1 Resort Managed apartment. Even so, I'm pleased that you loved everything about the views, the building and the facilities.

Warm regards,

Jay F. Boggs
Manager on Duty
Q1 Resort and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Q1 Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Q1 Resort and Spa

Address: 9 Hamilton Avenue, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#3 Business Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#4 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#4 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#5 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#6 Romantic Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Q1 Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 527
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
‘Australia’s Tallest Residential Tower’ ... Q1 Resort & Spa Surfers Paradise offers 1,2,3Bed & Sub Penthouse Luxury Apartments with unique glass enclosed Balconies & Spa Baths, 24 hour reception & security, unparalleled resort facilities on a beach front location & set amid one hectare of landscaped grounds. Q1 Resort & Spa features two lagoon swimming pools, heated indoor lap pool & spa, alfresco poolside Cafe & Bar & our famous "Seventy 7 Buffet Breakfast" located level 77 floor above ground with viewing platform. A world class gymnasium, saunas & steam rooms, private theatrette, conferencing & wedding facilities, children’s games room & our award winning Q1 Day Spa await you. The Q1 tower also hosts Australia’s only beach side External Tower Adventure Climb from level 77 to 80 ... Q1 Resort & Spa towers over the Gold Coast with views to match. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Q1 Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
q1 Hotel Surfers Paradise
q1 Resort Surfers Paradise
Q1 Resort And Spa Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Q1 Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.