We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centrally Located” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Q1 Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Q1 Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Q1 Resort and Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   9 Hamilton Avenue, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #6 of 58 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Centrally Located”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Upon opening the door to our unit it had the "wow" factor. Large open plan living, dining and kitchen area, very spacious. One bedroom had an ensuite including spa bath the other had the bathroom just outside the bedroom door. The laundry was a separate room, which was a plus.
We took cousins from the UK to experience the Gold Coast and they were also impressed by the unit and the location of Q1 which makes it very easy to walk to the beach and the shops. Great to be able to park the car on arrival and leave it in a secure car park until you depart.

Disappointed that the Skydeck closes at 10pm We arrived back to the Q1 after having a very enjoyable meal and wanted to have a nightcap with a view before retiring.

Because we were there for one night only, didn't get to sample all the amenities on offer, will do next time.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    770
    416
    194
    107
    81
See reviews for
534
404
24
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (478)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

This was a last minute, spur of the moment night away after a big week at work. We threw the bags in the car and went, so our expectations were not too high.
We stayed on the 42nd floor and once we had worked out that not all the lifts went to that floor, we found the room and it was spectacular.
There was special on the 2 bedroom ocean view and it was seriously worth every cent. We had views out 270 degrees which took in the ocean and down the coast to Coolangatta.
One incredible feature is the indoor/outdoor balcony. The windows actually open and let the sea air come blasting in. They are also plenty big enough to climb out of, though they do have a glass screen up to waist height, but keep an eye on the big kids and don't let them climb on the glass!!
The room was clean and well equipped and we could have easily stayed here for a month.
I pre-paid for the teppanyaki which was great value, (it is not licenced so take a bottle).
I also pre-paid for breakfast on the Skydeck and that was another great experience. 360 degree views from the top of Q1. Plus, if you are local you can pay another $10 and obtain an annual pass!
If you do pre-pay then badger the receptionist for your vouchers on check-in. Mine forgot and I didn't know we needed them until we tried to get in.
There is a "no-party" policy here which they go to great lengths to tell you they enforce, but we had one going on in the room right next to us. Amazingly, once we shut our door you could not hear a thing, even through the adjoining wall, so it did not bother us.
This is a popular hotel, so trips up and down in the lifts can take a while, so set off early.
There is a free car park underneath and it is a short walk to the beach.
It has just become my favourite Surfer's hotel.

Room Tip: Get as high as you can to clear the tallest skyscrapers nearby, but anything above 40 is pretty spec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

Very big spacious rooms, kitchen is large enough to cook in, perhaps an extra pan to cook with would be handy. Sun room was something a little different we weren't so sure about but once there its awesome, the windows open up and creates a really relaxed environment. Pool is great when the sun is out (before it gets behind the buildings) and breakfast at long boards cafe is some of the best food we had all trip!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

I had a great time! Staff were lovely, rooms were nice and clean. Had a great time! Pools were great too! Cannot wait to come back and stay again. Definitely recommend Q1. Had lunch on at the top of Q1 was good, we arrived a bit late so wasn't much food left. Views were amazing though

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

We asked, if possible, to stay on a higher floor. We were wrapped when we discovered our room was to be on the 54th floor. The view was amazing. No matter where we were in the apartment, we could see out over the entire Gold Coast! Location was perfect and we really enjoyed the live music, at Longboards, whilst floating in the pool. Thank you for a fantastic holiday Q1!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

I paid for an ocean view 2 bedroom apartment, but only able to see ocean through corner of balcony. Apartment was dirty, broken lounge, bathroom smelled, and kitchen cabinets full of dirty dishes. Reception staffs were rude towards us. won't go back or recommend to anyone. Customers deserve much better service and rooms with that high price.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nippers101, Guest Relations Manager at Q1 Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear Peter S,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Q1 Resort and Spa. All reviews are read and valued by our Management team.

I am sorry that your experience was not as you expected and is quite different from the positive experience that the great majority of our guests enjoy.
Please contact us as I would like the opportunity of ascertaining the apartment number that you stayed. If it is an apartment that Q1 Resort manages, then we may take the appropriate measures to maintain the high standard of presentation and housekeeping for which Q1 Resort is renowned.

Kind regards,

Jason Boggs
Manager on Duty
Q1 Resort and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacobs Well, Australia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Absolutely the BEST place to stay in Surfers Paradise, the views are amazing, the locality is central to all you need, the staff are more than helpful to sort everything out, I did have an issue which was a misunderstanding through the booking agent, but they were very professional and friendly and helped sort the issue much to my delight, their service was second to none on whatever your queries were. A BIG 10 STAR from me and my son Luke (10yrs). I will be staying here everytime we need a quick getaway. The pools are fantastic and Longboards cafe are situated next to the pool, so mum and dad can still watch the kids while they enjoy some relax time. The heated pool and spa are fantastic, take a dip, take a relax, then go into the pool to cool down, just wonderful. Q1 is my place of a getaway, so close to the beach. Gotta be happy about that.

Room Tip: go for the beach view, 2 bedroom unit, it was fab.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Q1 Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Q1 Resort and Spa

Address: 9 Hamilton Avenue, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#3 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#4 Romantic Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#4 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#6 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#7 Business Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Q1 Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 527
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
‘Australia’s Tallest Residential Tower’ ... Q1 Resort & Spa Surfers Paradise offers 1,2,3Bed & Sub Penthouse Luxury Apartments with unique glass enclosed Balconies & Spa Baths, 24 hour reception & security, unparalleled resort facilities on a beach front location & set amid one hectare of landscaped grounds. Q1 Resort & Spa features two lagoon swimming pools, heated indoor lap pool & spa, alfresco poolside Cafe & Bar & our famous "Seventy 7 Buffet Breakfast" located level 77 floor above ground with viewing platform. A world class gymnasium, saunas & steam rooms, private theatrette, conferencing & wedding facilities, children’s games room & our award winning Q1 Day Spa await you. The Q1 tower also hosts Australia’s only beach side External Tower Adventure Climb from level 77 to 80 ... Q1 Resort & Spa towers over the Gold Coast with views to match. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, EasyToBook, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Q1 Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
q1 Hotel Surfers Paradise
q1 Resort Surfers Paradise
Q1 Resort And Spa Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Q1 Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.