We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice property, customer service is not a priority.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Artique Surfers Paradise

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Artique Surfers Paradise to your Saves list
Artique Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 Condominium   |   cnr Surfers Paradise Blvd & Enderley Ave, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia (Formerly Artique Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Canberra, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice property, customer service is not a priority.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

On arrival the desk was closed so I used the after hours phone to find a person who seemed disinterested and inconvenienced by my call. It wasn't even 6pm at night. The room was spacious, clean and tidy. The plates and cutlery needed a good wash before use. If you stay here make sure you count everything... I was charged for a "missing" plate which was not there when we arrived. I was told by the General Manager that it was my responsibility to check the inventory of the apartment and report anything missing. I find this completely unreasonable, I am on holiday, to be expected to do a "stock check" in case the housekeeping staff have missed something broken by the last guests doesn't work for me. There is a lack of good will here, the lack of grace offered to guests starts at the top. I was told it is about procedures and keeping the apartment owners happy. If you are looking for a nice building with good facilities only, this place might work for you. If you value goodwill and customer care then you might want to look elsewhere.

Room Tip: If you stay here be prepared to count everything and report anything missing so you don't get ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArtSFP, General Manager at Artique Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Gwomit,

As you will see by other reviews and by taking to our repeat guests, customer service and goodwill are our number one priority. It is a shame that you originally advised that your stay was absolutely fantastic until you were charged for a plate that you admitted was missing. Our welcome letter does state to let us know if you notice anything is missing. You did mention on the telephone that you will return to Artique, so we hope to see you again sometime in the near future.

Kind regards
Josh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

694 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    341
    244
    53
    33
    23
See reviews for
317
177
19
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Our family spent four days at Artique recently. I've stayed in a lot of hotels and apartments over the years, and this was right up there with the best. Clean, tidy, helpful staff and good amenities. The apartment is good for anyone, but is perfect for families as there is a kitchen, laundry and dryer. We stayed in the 2br apartment which had a great ensuite. Artique is also just a short walk from the centre of Surfers paradise.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArtSFP, General Manager at Artique Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Uncafegrazie,

Thanks for a wonderful review. We look forward to seeing you again!

Kindest regards
Melissa Pearson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in an ocean view room on the 15th floor for 3 nights. The room was fantastic and had amazing views. The location is perfect- especially if you don't have a car. The only criticism I would have is that we brought our own portacot for our 9 month baby- but forgot to bring a sheet- when I asked if we could please get a spare single sheet for it I was told it would cost $35 to hire one for 2 nights- which seemed pretty excessive. I went and bought one for $11 instead. Also the dishes are your responsibility, which I understand, however we were given enough cleaning product for one wash then when we called reception to ask for more we were told as it is self contained they did not replace the cleaning products. having to buy dishwasher powder for a 3 night stay isn't ideal. Other than those two little issues we loved the apartment and the facilities and it was a great place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArtSFP, General Manager at Artique Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Hi Kirst-Tum,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. I am extremely sorry that you were told you would be charged this amount of money for a cot sheet. Our guests happiness is our priority and I feel there must have been a mix up as we would never want to charge someone for a cot sheet. The price you were quoted was an extra person hire fee or cot hire charge. I am very sorry for the confusion.

We hope to welcome you back to Artique in the future.

Kindest regards
Melissa Pearson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I recently stayed at this hotel with my family of 4 (2 adults and 2 children) in a 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom apartment. Room was located on the 25th floor with great views of the beach, city and river. The apartment was clean and spacious. Bedrooms consisted of 2 singles in one room and a double in the other. The main bedroom had an ensuite and walk in robe. Both rooms featured views of the beach and city. Great quiet location, just a few blocks (about 5-10 min walk) from the hustle and bustle of Cavill Avenue. Pool and spa were great.
Only negatives would be the blankets weren't very warm, not a major problem as we could turn up the air conditioner and the bed was slighly hard.
Other than this I would definitely reccommend staying here and will definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArtSFP, General Manager at Artique Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Hi Mrs T,

Thanks for an excellent review of our beautiful Artique! We are delighted that you had a wonderful stay and we look forward to welcoming you back.. hopefully very soon!

Kindest regards
Melissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

just spent a week here in a 2bdr oceanview apartment on 20th floor. Views great, quiet location not far from the centre of town. Apartment was beautiful and had everything you need. We used the heated pool, sauna and spa but didnt have time to try the golf simulator as we were busy with all the different things to do. Undercover parking included which was also a bonus. Would definitely stay here again

Room Tip: we stayed in room 2004 right beside the elevator and didnt hear a noise all night
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArtSFP, General Manager at Artique Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Hi Sue,

It is great to hear that you will be back. We really look forward to welcoming you back next time. Please feel free to call us prior to request your favorite room.

Kindest regards
Melissa Pearson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Myself and 2 friends stayed here for our holiday on the Gold Coast. After an initial confusion about beds (we needed a room with 2 singles and a double but got a room with 2 doubles - this was our fault primarily for not requesting 2 singles at booking), the staff were very helpful and gave us a free change to the room next door which turned out to be quite a bit larger. All in all no complaints - the view from the balconies was terrific, the room was clean, tidy and well furnished, and the spa, pool, and gym facilities were fantastic! Only small thing I'd say is the single blanket was a bit on the cold side - a light duvet or similar would have been good, but it was also worth noting we visited in the middle of winter.

Room Tip: Make sure you specify if you want a room with 2 doubles or 1 double + 2 singles
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArtSFP, General Manager at Artique Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Hi Jonathan,

Thank you for a great review. I am glad you loved Artique. We have just purchased extra blankets for the apartments, so if you decide to be our guest again, you will enjoy the extra blanket you missed. In saying this, if you had of called, we would have brought you extra blankets. We are available on the telephone 24 hours a day, even after reception is closed. We look forward to welcoming you back to our lovely resort in the future.

Kindest regards
Melissa Pearson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Artique Surfers Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artique Surfers Paradise

Address: cnr Surfers Paradise Blvd & Enderley Ave, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia (Formerly Artique Resort)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 103 Specialty Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Artique Surfers Paradise 4.5*
Number of rooms: 176
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com and Agoda so you can book your Artique Surfers Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Artique Hotel Surfers Paradise
Artique Hotel Apartments Surfers Paradise
Artique Surfers Paradise Gold Coast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Artique Surfers Paradise, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.