We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful yet cheap place to stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Artique Surfers Paradise

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Artique Surfers Paradise to your Saves list
Artique Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 Condominium   |   16-18 Enderley Avenue, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia (Formerly Artique Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Sydney
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful yet cheap place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

So yes, I was concerned about the number of negative reviews here too. But my entire stay was extremely smooth and peaceful. Sheree at the reception was exceptionally co-operative and friendly.

Staying on level 4, I was concerned as it was only a 'standard' BUT it was polished and spotlessly clean, renovated simply but nicely. The TV was a decent size (flatscreen of course).
The 2 bedroom apartment had all essentials required for a high living standard and the white goods were all operating fine. The room didn't face the beach however, that did not prevent a great amount of sunlight seeping in during the morning.

Bedding wise, the pillows were all fluffed and hotel-style. The sheets were clean and changed. Blankets are provided for extra warmth in the closets, but without them the flimsy sheets would not have been enough for even an autumn day.

The swimming pool, spa and gym all exceeded my expectations. Pity I didn't get to try out the private theatre and virtual golf rooms!

My only disappointment would probably be the steel pots & pans in the kitchen. They were quite hard to fry in. Even a slight upgrade to non-stick pots & pans would make all the difference.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    201
    41
    30
    23
See reviews for
248
152
14
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Victoria
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We booked into the Artique, via "Late Arrivals" & had absolutely no problem, getting our keys. Upon arriving, we were thrilled with our apartment, which we could find no fault with. It was spacious, clean & had every amenitie,we needed for our stay. The beds were nice, comfortable & we had no problem getting a good night's sleep. The main bedroom had a good sized walk in robe, adjoining the ensuite, which had a huge shower,making it a joy to freshen up after a day's travel. We had a 2 bedroom unit, which also has a 2nd bathroom. The girl's @ reception were wonderful, when I went to book in the following morning & I find it hard to believe, people commenting that they found them "rude". If I owned a motel, I would gladly employ them as I found them extremely helpful & co-operative. The balcony was big enough to walk around & had a 6 seat outdoor setting, which made it the perfect spot for breakfast. I couldn't recommend the Artique highly enough, when your condsidering accomodation on the Gold Coast. We normally stay @ the Sofitel On Broadbeach, but I think we've found another place thats also perfect to stay at.
Facilities: Pool, BBQ area, spa, steam room, Virtual Golf Driving Range, Personal Theatrette,Secure On-site Parking, 200m to beach, 600m walk to Gold Coast CBD

Room Tip: Remember that these are self-contained units.Thus,you need to supply your own food,toiletpaper,coffe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

4.5 star YOU HAVE GOT TO BE JOKING. When we booked we asked for 2 appartments side by side.When we arrived we were on the 9th floor daughter and grandchildren were on the 4th floor.Asked management to put us together but they told us they were booked out so tuff luck. From what we can gather talking to other guests they wernt. The management are very rude. The furnishings are not 4.5 star very below standard. The televisions on the 4th floor are old and in analogue and so is the foxtel.The foxtel in both of the appartments or lack off is in analogue and very fuzzy. The appartments are dirty. The oven is filthy,windows inside and out are filthy, old toothpaste still on bathroom taps. The shower in the main bathroom is crapp sprays everywhere but on you. The pool closes 9pm sharp,we had a barbecue and at 8.50pm were trying to get out but could'nt, we were locked in. Lucky we had a mobile phone on us to ring the security guard to come and let us out.We would not even consider staying here again and will be telling others NOT to stay here.We have moved to a 4 star resort and the appartments are excellent, very clean and the furnishings are by far better quality and the management are excelent and NOTHING is to much trouble.We DONOT know how the artique is rated 4.5 in our opinion its rated 2.5 to 3 star.

Room Tip: Always ask to look at rooms before you pay if possible.Dont go by what the rooms look like on the in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArtSFP, Manager at Artique Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Sorry to hear you were not happy with your stay at Artique.
We apologise if the cleanliness was not to your expectations, we have very few complaints about cleanliness.
Had you reported these things to us we certainly would have sent the housekeeper to see you.
The other problems you reported we respond as follow.
1. Your bookings were through Dial an exchange and we would like some evidence from you to take this matter up with them if they advised you it was possible to be on the same floor. The 2 bedrooms were indeed almost full and no possibility of moving you.
2. We have just checked with the guests in both apartment 404 and 905,the TVs are working fine including Austar.
Austar / Foxtel is not available in Digital for Surfers Paradise until next year, sorry that is out of our control.
3. We have sent maintenance to replace the shower head, had you reported this during your stay we would have fixed it for you.
4. The pool has 2 exits. There is an exit back through the sauna and steam room area and another when you follow the external green exit lights to the visitors car park, both are never locked from egress because they are fire exits.


Regards Ritchie Gray

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

After reading the reviews I was more than a little worried about what to expect.
My partner works for Accor and was unsure if we were going to get a ' an ordinary staff room' (even though we had paid for an upgrate ocean view) or a really nice room. Luckily we had the latter on the 17th floor where we could see the beach, the ocean, the hills, the sunrise and sunset!
The room was huge - more than enough space for just the two of us.

The late checkin worked well, the downside side was when we arrived at 9.30pm our room stank of smoke, it was disgusting, as non - smokers in a non-smoking hotel it was not at all pleasant. We didn't feel that there was much option other than to tell reception about it in the morning and open all the windows. Reception staff were helpful and said they would have someone look at it. Which translated to spray some air freshner around, but you could still smell it.

The bed was average but I fould the pillows great. No doona, the nights were fairly cold, and I wasn't going to use the blankets that never leave the room!

The shower/bath with the glass screen made getting in and out tricky as I was absolutly terrified of breaking anything!
We didn't use the kitchen facilities other than my partner having a coffee in the morning, but it looked clean enough but I guess it depends on who is in the room before you.

We didn't use the pool, but the spa was fantastic and very relaxing big enough not to feel cramped and over crowded with other people using it.

We would probably stay again, as it worked great for us for 4 nights and think it would also for families and other travellers staying for long periods of time.

The staff rate we paid was very reasonable for what we got. However for normal rates I would say it wouldn't be of very good value.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArtSFP, Manager at Artique Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear guest thank you for your kind review ,as you know there are no smoking signs everywhere but it is hard to police and the odour is sometimes not noticed until the apartment has been closed up for a while.
We apologise that you were subjected to the remains of smoke fumes.

Kind Regards Ritchie Gray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

I found the apartments very clean and comfortable. Very comfortable beds. Nice quality tea and coffee supplied.
We were staying in Qld for business and to have a bathroom and bedroom each was a delight.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArtSFP, Manager at Artique Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear guest thank you for your kind review ,
All soap dishes have now been replaced with acrylic to prevent breakages in future.
Regards Ritchie Gray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

the price was great, very worth it!! very clean, everything we need, well equip. the only issue i had was the extremely uncomfortable bed we slept in, the pillows and the bed sheets. it wasn't a pleasant sleep. and the fact that we didn't get house keeping, or at the very least fresh towels. i understand we had a washing machine but didn't realize we were expected to wash our own towels. the staff downstairs where very helpful and polite. they got us extra pillows and told us its a self contained apartment. we were under the impression being apart of the accor group we would get the same treatment when it came to house keeping and towels. other then that like i said the receptionist were extremely polite and professional, the apartment was very clean location and price was great, as well as the facilities provided. i will be more then happy to stay there again, but the biggest issue is the comfort of the main bed and pillows and bed sheets if you have any further questions please feel free to call me. khaled 0434 543 504.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Artuque is a relatively new serviced apartment complex in the heart of Surfers Paradise. It is a minutes walk from the beach and a short stroll to Cavil Ave. We stayed in a one bedroom apartment on the eleventh floor. The views were magnificent. We had two balconies. One was off the living room and looked out onto the ocean. The second was accessed via the living room or bedroom, overlooking the broad water. The apartment was clean and very nice with a minimilast look. The pool was great with a section that was under cover and the spa was under cover and big and very relaxing, all set in a lush garden with lounges to relax on, tables and chairs and 3 bbqs for cooking. Secure under cover parking is a plus. As this is a serviced once a week apartment, you get the standard initial supplies of toilet paper, toiletries and cleaning products. Yes there is a sign that says to clean up at the end of your stay or you will get charged. I think this is fair enough statement. It also says that breakages will be paid for. We broke a wine glass and had to pay $5 for it. I accidentally knocked over the soap dish whilst in the shower( location of this is not safe) and it cut my foot as it was a glass dish. We were not charged for this item though, which was good as it was really an un secure item. Overall a nice place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask to stay as high as possible for a great view and low street noise. Also ask for a room facing Br...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Artique Surfers Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artique Surfers Paradise

Address: 16-18 Enderley Avenue, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia (Formerly Artique Resort)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 102 Specialty Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Artique Surfers Paradise 4.5*
Number of rooms: 176
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Artique Surfers Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Artique Hotel Surfers Paradise
Artique Hotel Apartments Surfers Paradise
Artique Surfers Paradise Gold Coast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Artique Surfers Paradise, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.