We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did the job” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Enderley Gardens Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Enderley Gardens Resort to your Saves list
Enderley Gardens Resort
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   38 Enderley Ave, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Did the job”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed at the Enderley Gardens Resort with my husband and kids and a couple of other families.The location was great! Walking distance to the beach, Cavill avenue and lots of other attractions. The rooms were clean but in need of an update.

Room Tip: The tram runs along the street at the front and the highway along the back so it's a bit noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    7
    4
    3
    2
See reviews for
8
6
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2015

It's a difficult call to rate this place given that is cheaper than others, so of course it will not be as extravagant as a 5-star place. But I thought it might be helpful to put things into perspective, as when we read the trip advisor reviews we were expecting something better.

As has been mentioned elsewhere, each apartment is individually owned, so the experience no doubt differs greatly from room to room (again, making an overall review of the whole place pretty much impossible.)

Some points that we came across;

- the room, generally, was not clean. We were travelling with our 1 year old son, and he was crawling around and finding stuff on the carpet. At one stage, we caught him with a toenail clipping in his mouth. The scary thing is that we hadn't cut our nails, so who knew where it came from.
The carpet was very worn, and in places was covered by mats of carpet of the same colour (but watch your toes on these! I caught my toe on one as it doesn't sit completely flat - maybe the rogue toenail owner had the same problem.)
Tiles in the laundry were cracked, and moldy.
Don't change the sheets on the bed! If you do, you'll see the stains on the mattress protector, something that no person wants to know.
A few minor things, like the cupboards are old and don't slide open properly. It does have a nice new washing machine and dryer though (the dryer was very useful.)
Fair enough, it isn't a 5-star place, but a bit of thorough cleaning would help a lot.

- the back door is 5 metres away from the tram line. Double-glazing has been installed, but you will still wake up every 20 minutes. Again, I'm not having a go at the owners, clearly there's not much they can do about this, but just be aware of it and bring earplugs. Not all rooms are near the train line though, only a handful.

- the reception is only open in office hours. We were there over new year, so it was shut most of the time. Makes it hard when the circuitbreakers tripped and the fridge turned off, so we had no recourse to help us get it started (and the fridge was full of food and would go off if we didn't get it working again.) Fortunately, I found the circuit breaker box and got it all working again. Not a criticism, just something to be aware off; it is self-catered, and not a hotel. The staff (when they are there) are very nice, though.

In summary, it's cheap compared with other places, but still, at $170 a night a few more touches would have been nice.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2015

We too had a fantastic trip to the Gold Coast with the kids in the school holidays, we did all the theme parks and the main attractions like Q1 observation deck etc. But let's face it, by the time you get back to your accommodation your absolutely exhausted. We purposely booked a budget family friendly resort for this very reason and Enderley Gardens did the job with flying colours. The resorts location is close enough to walk into Surfer Paradise and the beach is just up the road. The resorts pool is a good size and the kids loved it. Our room was clean and tidy, we loved it. Thanks for a fantastic holiday as we will be back for sure.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2015

Stayed at enderley gardens from 17th-22nd jan.
Was disappointed the moment we entered our room as the apartment had a musty smell, the furniture was very out dated and that there was no air conditioning.
Our bed was very hard and only one pillow for each guest.
The couch was very uncomfortable and when sat on, could feel every inch of the fold out bed inside.
Our washing machine leaked water during each cycle and our bedroom window had fly screen missing.
Very annoyed regarding air conditioning not being available and when asked if a room change was available, was told to put up with the heat...meanwhile my fathers room had 3x airconditioners and fans ??
Not worth the nearly $600 i paid when i can easily stay at a 5 star hotel up the road for same price.
Will not be coming back again !

  • Stayed January 2015
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enderley_SP, Front Office Manager at Enderley Gardens Resort, responded to this review, January 26, 2015
Thank you for your review Kelly. While we value your feedback we would like to clear some things up with you as we did when you visited reception.
1) We are a 33yr old 3.5 star resort. All of our apartments are individually owned and furnished.
2) We do not advertise that we have air-conditioning. This is made very clear on our website which you booked through. We are trying to get them all done but this is up to the individual unit owner. see www.enderleyresort.com.au/apartments and all apartments have ceiling fans.
3) When you asked for pillows- they were brought to your room straight away. We also provided you with an extra Pedestal fan for you to help with the heat. At no stage would any of the staff here tell you to "put up with the heat"
4) We were not aware that the washing machine was leaking, again all you needed to do was mention this to us at reception when you saw us and maintenance would be sent to look into the problem.
5) the fly screen isn't missing. one half of the sliding windows has a fly screen and the other doesn't, a strange design when the resort was built.
6) when you asked to be moved to an apartment with AC we looked for you however as you were staying during peak season there was nothing we could move you to. We sincerely apologise for this but if AC was an absolute requirement this should have been mentioned at the time of booking the only request we received from you was for a high floor.
7) to say you could find a 5 star resort for the same price is a bit of an exaggeration. The closest 5 star hotel room (not self catering apartment, just bed and bathroom) is over $1000 for 5 nights OFF PEAK. Our rates are extremely reasonable for a) peak season and b) for a fully self contained apartment in the heart of Surfers Paradise.
We strongly suggest to thoroughly research accommodation before you book. If you have any questions call or email the resort directly to get all the information you need to make the right decision for your holiday. All of the above info is on our website and any misunderstandings could have been sorted prior to you booking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2015 via mobile

Room very dated no remote for tv cracks in walls stove didn't work fridge was turned off and when we went to turn it on water went everywhere no toilet paper or dish washing liquid but expected to do dishes pool was fantastic and nice view from room staff very friendly but a bit overpriced for what you get

  • Stayed January 2015
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enderley_SP, Manager at Enderley Gardens Resort, responded to this review, January 18, 2015
Thank you for your review- Please contact us on 07 55 701 511 or email: holidays@enderleyresort.com.au we need more info on your stay and we'd like to put this right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2015

We recently spent 10 days at the enderley garden resort and we all had an awesome time! Loved the view from the balcony and also the pool which we swam in twice daily. My 7 and 10 yrold hyperactive boys couldnt get enough. After recently moving house, this holiday is just what we needed. Would definatley recommend this place. The people at reception were friendly too. Thanks for a memorable fun relaxing holiday guys

Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enderley_SP, Front Office Manager at Enderley Gardens Resort, responded to this review, January 18, 2015
Thanks for the review! We really appreciate it.
We are so happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay.
we hope that you will choose Enderley Gardens Resort for any future accommodation needs on the Gold Coast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2015

Stayed 3 nights with family. Paid for additional linen to use the pull out sofa lounge. Sofa lounge did not extend fully therefore we were unable to use it.Had to sleep on the lounge. Rooms were dirty and smelled, patio doors did not close so we were unable to lock the doors. Curtains did not meet and we're missing hooks. Told reception about our plight the following morning and we're told that as we'd used the linen they had to have it laundered. I understood that but as we were unable to use the sofa bed I asked for a part refund which they wouldn't do. They did fix the patio door so that we could lock it which was good but I would have thought if they had checked the room prior to it being let they would have noticed the doors did not close. Staff told me that as we were on level one it was unlikely that anyone would have scaled the building and climbed in. Very reassuring when you have young children staying - not! Great location but lacking in customer service and cleanliness.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has been renovated or updated by their owners.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enderley_SP, Front Office Manager at Enderley Gardens Resort, responded to this review, January 18, 2015
Thank you for your review and giving the opportunity to reply to some of your feedback. Enderley Gardens Resort is a 33yr old building with every unit being individually owned. We are 3.5 star rated and our pricing reflects this. We have no disillusions that we are the brand new 5 star resort and on the odd occasion things break or are in need of repair. As all of our apartments are individually owned any major repairs/maintenance must be approved by the unit owner. Now to address some of your main points:
1) The sofa bed & Linen- after you had visited reception the following morning to advise of the issue with the sofa bed the manager visited the apartment with you to check it out. While the manager was with you it was found that there was nothing wrong with the sofa bed but it was human error in operating the device. Once you had been shown how to extend the bed correctly it was used with no other issues.
2) Balcony doors- the sliding screens that didn't meet were the flyscreen doors. The glass sliding doors did meet and were lockable. We had a technician out the following day to fix the screen doors for you. Security of our guests is paramount
3) Cleanliness- There was a period shortly after new management took over Enderley Resort where there were some issues with the Housekeeping Staff. This has now been rectified with new housekeepers that are doing an outstanding job.

Again we thank you for feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Enderley Gardens Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Enderley Gardens Resort

Address: 38 Enderley Ave, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 103 Specialty Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Enderley Gardens Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the peace and quiet of the rainforest setting all the while just a 2 minute stroll to the rolling surf and patrolled beaches at Enderley Resort. Our Surfers Paradise apartments are only a 5 minute walk to major shopping centres and shops, restaurants, and the world-famous Cavill Avenue. If you don't want to stay in a "concrete jungle" then come and enjoy a holiday in our tropical rainforest resort.Enjoy your choice of spacious self-contained apartments - available in one and two bedroom apartments and convenient two bedroom townhouses - all with outdoor balconies. There is an accommodation style to suit both couples and families of all ages at our Surfers Paradise family holiday apartments.Enderley Gardens Resort Apartments offers a perfect retreat for relaxation. Set around tropical landscaped gardens and pool area, the resort offers facilities - such as a tennis court, pools, BBQ, spa and sauna. There is even a playground and wading pool to occupy the children. We invite you to experience holidaying at the centre of Surfers Paradise - with all its irresistible dining, shopping and entertainment options. The perfect place for sheer relaxation awaits you at Enderley Gardens Resort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Enderley Gardens Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Enderley Gardens Apartments Hotel Surfers Paradise
Enderley Gardens Resort Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Enderley Gardens Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.