We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dissapointed” 1 of 5 stars
Review of BreakFree Aloha

Save Saved
You added BreakFree Aloha to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
BreakFree Aloha
8 Tickett Street, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4218, Australia (Formerly Aloha Holiday Apartments)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #61 of 74 hotels in Surfers Paradise
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Dissapointed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

The first thing that we experienced was a strong mildew smell. The curtains and windows were dirty and the outdoor furniture was rusted. Had to keep windows and doors permanently opened to get rid of the smell. The balcony was shared with the next apartment that housed permanent residents who were noisy, and disturbed us throughout the night on the first day that we arrived. On complaining,a deodorizer was used and the neighbours quietened down.The location is excellent! management needs to address these issues so that future renters can have a positive experience.

Room Tip: Perhaps there are better rooms, as I believe that these are individually owned, So ask before you bo...
See more room tips
Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlohaGC, General Manager at BreakFree Aloha, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
We are concerned that you were disappointed with your stay at BreakFree Aloha, I can assure you that this is not a regular occurrence but was due to the recent extreme weather events that we have experienced on the Gold Coast, and I am pleased to report that management has addressed all issues mentioned in your review. Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor.

Warm Regards

Diane Heath
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    9
    7
    2
    12
See reviews for
10
8
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

This must be surfers great kept secret.Stayed for four nights and absolutely loved it.It looks as if the management have taken note of the previous negative comments and the great improvement overall was obvious.You will not find a better place for the price you are paying.My apartment on the tenth floor was amazing.Keep up the good work guys I will be coming back again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlohaGC, General Manager at BreakFree Aloha, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor, We agree with your comment "You will not find a better place for the price", we are happy you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back to BreakFree Aloha in the near future.

Warm Regards
Diane Heath
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights mid January. This is a tired apartment block, and it looks that way, maybe a fresh paint would improve this.
No Air conditioning, your kidding in the middle of summer. Why didn't they say when booking, there was none. It's OK to be honest.
The room was dirty around the edges of the carpet, needed a good vaccum, and had dated cane furniture. My carpet at home was cleaner.
Spacious apartment with good views.
Pool and spa was great during the day, but at night, not so good, all lighting needs to be turned on, to make it safe for children, there are lights around the fenceline, but only 3 worked, and there was lighting under the water, which we could see in the day, but these don't work at night, and nothing near the spa area, could have been much nicer, more attention is needed in this area, even just to make it for safety reasons.
There was 2 ladies in the reception area, each day that sat there, I asked 1 day about the bus timetable, which she did say where to go, but no idea of what number to catch or a price estimate, would have thought local knowledge would be better. Just because they don't use them, they still should know these things to help visitors.
The underground carpark needs a good sweep, lots of old oil sitting around, and that smells.
This is budget accommodation, you get what you pay for, and that's the view if your lucky.

Reading other reviews, these reports don't get answered or even looked at often, so more attention to detail is needed so improvement can be addressed promptly.
Hopefully the owners of the apartments should also read these so they can improve there own investment property, making them more inviting for visitors to stay, and maybe come back,
not for us though, better properties for the price close by.

Room Tip: Make sure you get Air conditioning. especially in hotter months. Otherwise stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlohaGC, General Manager at BreakFree Aloha, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
We are disappointed that you were not happy with your recent stay. Aloha is a 3.5 star rated apartment and we do not advertise anywhere that our apartments are air conditioned, your travel agent would have been aware of this. The apartments are individually owned and the owner of this unit likes to create a beach style theme and as such has kept the cane lounge suite.I will take your comments to the body corporate in regards to the pool lighting and I am not sure why the carpark had oil spillage as it has recently been painted and has a weekly maintenance schedule in place .I apologise that our housekeeping team failed to meet your expectations as they have high standards and this has been an oversight. All reviews are taken seriously and are used to improve our service to guests, your feedback is very much appreciated.

Warm Regards

Diane Heath
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We recently stayed in a 1 bedroom apartment on the 9th floor at Aloha Breakfree in Surfers Paradise. The views were great with only minimal sight obstructions from other buildings.
From the bedroom we could see to Coolangatta - from the lounge a view to the Spit and from the balcony we looked straight out to the beach. We were lucky to see several Whales from our apartment.We were only 1 block from Surfers shopping centre - really handy for supplies for self catering. The apartment was clean and comfortable and had everything to suit our needs
Will certainly be returning next time we want a relaxing stay at the Gold Coast

Room Tip: As high as possible with Ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diane H, General Manager at BreakFree Aloha, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for reviewing BreakFree Aloha and taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and yes we agree with your comment on being in a great location with views - glad you got to see the whales that is very special!!!

Diane Heath
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Great location and nice enough hotel. It is a little on the older side but still great value at $78 a night. The only problem was that cable tv was viewable. Told reception and she didn't know how to fix it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diane H, General Manager at BreakFree Aloha, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for your review. BreakFree Aloha is in a great location....make sure you keep an eye on our website, as a part of the Mantra Group we often have specials such as the one you secured at $78.00 per night. I apologise to you for having a maintenance issue with the cable TV. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Diane Heath
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We stayed on the 9th floor, and the views were stunning (out over the water). The oven in the room (1 bedroom apartment) was a bit dated, but worked ok. The couches where ok, but not great for relaxing on - a bit small and were cane furniture rather than a lounge suite. The bed was comfy & the bathroom was lovely and spacious. Staff were very helpful also. The highlight of this facility is its location. 2 minutes to the beach, 3 minutes to cavill ave - perfect!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diane H, General Manager at BreakFree Aloha, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for your recent posting on TripAdvisor. BreakFree Aloha definately is in a convenient location with amazing views. The apartments are individually owned and these owner turn the apartment into a beach shack when they stay. I have taken your comments on board and will be sure to pass them onto the owners. I thank you for your comment on the staff at BreakFree Aloha being helpful we are committed to customer service and knowing what matters. Your feedback is genuinely appreciated.

Diane Heath
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012 via mobile

My stay was wonderful, with great sunrises to enjoy a coffee on your private balcony and sun sets to have a drink watching the different shades of colour. Birds sometimes several will feed of your balcony and chat away. The location is great with beach, shopping, busses to theme parks, bowling, minigolf, rides just to name a few in walking distance. Even the night life is not to far away and there are countless places to eat at. Security is good and you can feel safe in and around here including a patrolled beach. The rooms are fitted out well and the cleaners and ground staff seem very dedicated. There is spa, pool, sauna, tennis, baskettball, pool table, bbq and more which is a lot more than a lot of 4 and 5 star places have. It is very comfortable, tidy, maintained and well managed which is a credit to the staff and in particular the manager Di who is very customer oriented and nothing is to much trouble. The staff are very imformative and always have a smile and i was made to feel very welcome. I really found the Aloha experience to be one i will treasure and am going to stay again, so thanks to all the team at Aloha.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diane H, General Manager at BreakFree Aloha, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Wowzer!!!! what a review thank you - We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at BreakFree Aloha in the heart of Surfers Paradise. The staff at Aloha are committed to customer service and we adhere to our companies values which are Trusted, Friendly, Focussed, Passionate and Adventurous!!! We can't wait to welcome you back for another great stay!!!!

Diane Heath
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BreakFree Aloha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BreakFree Aloha

Address: 8 Tickett Street, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4218, Australia (Formerly Aloha Holiday Apartments)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#20 Top resorts Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are looking to party till dawn or be in the midst of all the excitement, we are in the perfect position for you. There is security parking under the building and tour buses pick up right at our front door for your convenience. We are proud of our local knowledge and can assist you with any information on the Gold Coast during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your BreakFree Aloha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloha Holiday Apartments Hotel Surfers Paradise
BreakFree Aloha Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BreakFree Aloha, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.