We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BE VERY AWARE OF DOGGING ACCOMODATION” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Palazzo Colonnades

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Palazzo Colonnades to your Saves list
Palazzo Colonnades
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   2988-2994 Gold Coast Highway, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“BE VERY AWARE OF DOGGING ACCOMODATION”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2011

We stayed at the hotel, after all my attempts to ensure that we would have nice accom, but we found, dogi toilet seat, taps floor not clean, furniture was so out of date back in the 70's style. Kitchen utensils were useless also cooking supplies. Ive stayed in better Cabins than this apartment. who ever owns these appartments should really look at updating. Rude Reception. Also some loud music being played by opposite hotel backpackers. Also pool was not crystal clear. Other than that all else was ok centrally located, shops buses, great to goto theme parks all accessible, it was a quite place some nites mainly opposite hotel was noisy. but its the cleanless that it really needs and a massive paint job our rooms were dirty.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    40
    21
    4
    7
See reviews for
38
27
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2011

We stayed here for four nights in a one bedroom executive and loved it. It was clean, nice location as it wasn't too close to the nightlife, but a close enough distance for a leisurely walk to the heart of surfers. I would definitely recommend!!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2010

be nice if they closed that noisy swinging safari night club down from the Palazzo Its not even sound proofed Shame on the gold coast council Drunks all hours of the night leaves the guests restless sleeps

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leikis, Manager at Palazzo Colonnades, responded to this review, December 22, 2010
We read with interest the issue highlighted concerning Swingin’ Safari.

We have managed Palazzo Colonnades for over seven years and enjoy consistent customer feedback on the quiet location of the resort – our customers tell us they value the resort being close to central Surfers Paradise but far enough away to avoid the noise experienced from the hub of bars and night clubs.

Swingin’ Safari is a restaurant and bar – not a night club, and the mid seventies iconic “Queenslander” is located approximately 250 metres from Palazzo Colonnades on the opposite side of the road. The venue is open Thursday to Sundays weekly.

Given the prior absence of any criticism concerning this venue, we are disappointed the guest in house did not share any concerns – we would have been only too happy to contact the management of the venue to express the concern and take a positive approach to ensure the rest and relaxation of holiday guests was not being disturbed. As Swingin’ Safari is surrounded by other resorts, we feel confident likeminded managers would have been quick to address the issue if the afterhours noise was not acceptable.

Surfers Paradise is a holiday destination and for many a venue to enjoy night life and night clubs. We can only reassure travelers to our resort that this venue is located a block away from Palazzo Colonnades and in our experience does not cause disruption to the surrounding buildings. In the event that any guest at our resort experiences noise disruption we would welcome the feedback so we can take steps to address the concern.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2010

Email response was good and prompt prior to the arrival therefore made our choice of accommodation.

Upon arrival at the accommodation, service on the first day was okay but following days were disappointing. Information given via email and upon presence differs which caused inconvenience to our arrangement. In fact we were being told off for seeking clarifications on the discrepancies of information.

Recommendations were not specific which caused waste of money spent. No cleaning service throughout the stay of 4 nights. Advice given on the transport arrangement were unclear and they do not think from the customer's perspective.

During the whole stay, customer service was unfriendly, sarcastic and impatient. At checkout time, it is obvious that there were different service levels for respective individuals which is totally unprofessional in the travel industry.

Overall, extremely disappointed with the two ladies at the reception who have ruined our impression of Palazzo Colonnades and we will definitely not go back to this accommodation in future.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leikis, Owner at Palazzo Colonnades, responded to this review, October 6, 2010
We are always disappointed if the expectations of our guests are not met. We thought it appropriate as a result of this guest feedback to outline our capabilities and offerings.

Whilst we do not operate a 24 hour reservation desk, we do provide a 24 hour arrival process on the building – this enables our guests to check in after the office closes each day. We also can assist guests who arrive early in the morning. Once the office opens at 9am we can store luggage in a secure area until the apartment is prepared for arrival.

On departure we are able to store luggage for our guests until the office closes at 5pm Monday to Friday and lunch time on the weekend. Subject to availability guests can secure a late check out if their flights are later in the evening. They are also welcome to utiilise the resort facilities after check out.

We thought this outline would assist guests who have airline bookings that arrive either very early or depart late at night.

We also provide a free booking service at the resort for tours and tickets for our guests. This service includes an outline of transport options and detailed knowledge of the local bus services.

Palazzo Colonnades provides fully self contained self catering apartments. A service is provided for stays of more than 7 days.

Thank you for the opportunity to clarify our offerings and ensure that expectations are met and exceeded for our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2010

We stayed here in March 2010 and it was one of our favourite accomodations for value and comfort and location during our trip. We got a great welcome and assistance, with vast local knowledge from the two women who run the place. I nearly ruined our day trip to Wet and Wild and Movie World by forgetting our tickets and they saved the day (and cost) by faxing them to the ticket office. (I had picked up the wrong tickets!). The apartment itself was like a home from home, with comfortable furnishings and spacious cooking and cleaning facilities. The pool area was clean and a good size with all facilities well maintained. They also had a gym and games room. We would like to thank the staff for their excellent service and we will definitely return one day.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2010

I am always a little bit wary of self service apartments on the Gold Coast after some bad experiences

The staff were lovely on checkin, gave us great direction from the airport when we called them, and the room was great. Everything worked and was well stocked with plenty of crockery, cutlery and cooking stuff which was great (and unusual in these style of apartments). LCD TV, DVD and home theatre system (which I plugged my Ipod into) which was unexpected. Ocean glimpses through the buildings and a terrific river view at the back.

Also gave us good stock of amenities which did us for 5 nights (laundry powder for washing machine, soap, toilet paper etc). More was available at reception should we need it at very reasonable prices

The only thing I could knock is the single beds in the second room were very small and our little one had trouble staying in them and kept rolling onto the floor!

Free parking under the building which is locked at night!

Great location with easy walk to Cavill and the beach but not in the noisy part of town either

We will be back!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2010

My partner and myself enjoyed our time here.The room was great, thought it was gonna be tiny but the size was just right for us. Our balcony faced the Nerang River & the pool/spa, which was beautiful. Location is great as well, so easy to get to theme parks and markets & to local shops. I guess the only problem during our stay at Gold Coast was the weather(rainy & windy) and the annoying sales people on the road for the Night Club Crawl (need to get a real job). Do keep in mind, this is not hotel, but a self catering apartment.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Palazzo Colonnades? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Colonnades

Address: 2988-2994 Gold Coast Highway, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 102 Specialty Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzo Colonnades 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palazzo Colonnades boutique, high-rise holiday accommodation apartments is nestled between the beautiful Nerang River and the sandy beaches of the Gold Coast. Take an 8 minute stroll to the north and you're in Cavill Avenue - the heart of Surfers Paradise. These modern, fully self-contained apartments are complimented by wonderful guest facilities including a heated salt water swimming pool, sauna, gymnasium, games room, BBQ, free pay TV, wireless internet broadband service and under cover free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Palazzo Colonnades reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Colonnades Hotel Surfers Paradise
Palazzo Colonnades Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palazzo Colonnades, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.