We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Mantra Crown Towers

Save Saved
You added Mantra Crown Towers to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mantra Crown Towers
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   5-19 Palm Avenue, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 73 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Albion Park, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here last year. Great room great view. Came back this year, paid the same money, booked 6 months in advance and requested a similar room, had the same expectations. HOW WRONG WAS I. Currently sitting in room 1603 writing this looking at the view of the building next door. Room is not even comparable to last year, much smaller and no where near as nice. Dont understand how the two rooms could cost the same as they are leagues apart. Feel like I have been ripped off. Talked to reception and treated me like I was stupid. Will be back on the GC next year and will be sure to avoid the crown towers and any other mantra in my travels in the future.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraCrownTowers, Manager at Mantra Crown Towers, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Thank you for sharing your comments. As you may be aware, this is a strata unit building and therefore all the units differ in furnishings and aspect and it is unfortunate that you did not enjoy your stay as much as your last one. In some instances, due to high demand, we are unable to fulfill every guest’s requests. We are disappointed that you mention feeling “ripped off” as legally you were given what you had booked, which is a two bedroom unit. It is also disappointing that you have decided that you won’t stay at any Mantra property in the future, but if you happen to change your mind we would be delighted to offer you our hospitality and most importantly the wonderful facilities that Crown Towers has to offer to all our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    154
    59
    36
    52
See reviews for
285
63
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We stayed at Mantra Crown Towers for a week in December on the 8th floor. For the price we paid - the room itself was quiet good value. It was a spacious, self contained one bedroom apartment with a tidy little kitchen area complete with fairly dated utensils and appliances. We had a small but adequate balcony which we enjoyed sharing late night drinks and breakfast on most days. The balcony provided partial views of the beach - mainly obstructed by other high rise buildings which is obviously not really in the control of the hotel. The location was excellent - just a couple minutes walk to Cavill Avenue, 50m to the beach and about 20 mins to all the theme parks. Our biggest complaint with the room would be how outdated it is. Although they are tidy and fine to stay in - they are clearly in need of an upgrade and makeover. A fresh coat of paint would do wonders for their appearance.The TV was quiet ancient and did not receive many of the free to air channels which you would assume would be standard. Our carpet was stained and still very damp when we walked into the room at about 4pm (check in was at 2pm). The room had a strange musky odour we assume because of the old carpet. It was the first time we have stayed anywhere in Australia where we've been asked to bag up our own rubbish and dispose of it ourselves. The consequence for not doing so, as per the check in brochure, is an extra charge on your bill. We were provided with just two bathroom towels for our entire stay but we figure that is mainly due to there being no room service for either food or for the daily refreshing of amenities such as bath towels, tea towels, bin liners etc. There were only 2 toilet rolls in the whole apartment. Despite all of that the staff we dealt with were excellent, always smiling friendly and happy to help. We booked tickets to theme parks through the front desk which was an excellent time saver and very convenient. The pool area was excellent too. Very clean and tidy and a big beautiful looping lagoon to swim in with little caves and rock features all around. A great area that would keep kids entertained for a full day! Overall would rate the hotel 6.5/10. Great value, tidy and fine to stay in - just outdated and in need of some TLC.

Room Tip: Bring your own towels and kitchen supplies (dishwashing powder, laundry powder etc)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraCrownTowers, Manager at Mantra Crown Towers, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Thank you for your comments, it is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and took advantage of our convenient location and fantastic facilities. Our staff will certainly be pleased to hear that they served you well! As we provide fully self-contained apartments, the units are not serviced daily rather once a week for our long stay guests. Should any extra supplies be required our friendly reception team are always willing to provide them upon request for a small fee. With each unit individually owned, the furnishings and décor differ from unit to unit, however we are constantly working to maintain and upgrade units as necessary. Again, thank you for the feedback and we hope to welcome you back to Mantra Crown Towers again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Had a great week stay with my two girlfriends.But be aware trying to get your deposit back imposible. Stinging all three of us with a carpet cleaning fee of $25.70 each. Absolutely rediculious only three girls in this apartment had no visitors and none of us consumed any alcohol and destroyed the place, spent most of our week at beach and just in apartment to sleep.Phoned management twice and sent email trying to resolve this issue had no reply. Finally after 30 min wait on phone got no-where and girls still got charged for carpet cleaning so schoolies be-aware.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraCrownTowers, Manager at Mantra Crown Towers, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Thank you for your comments. We would like to mention that we did speak to the father of one of the girls and we expect him to advise everyone else of the outcome of the conversation. We explained clearly that the carpet had to be cleaned as it was very smelly after two hours of the unit being vacated by the guest. The smell was probably caused by some sort of liquid spillage onto the carpet and by the water which leaked onto the carpet from the air conditioner, which was mentioned to us by the parent we spoke to. The air conditioning wall unit was leaking water as a result of the guests leaving the balcony doors open with the air conditioner running at the same time. We also made everyone aware on arrival that extreme care should be taken in relation to carpet, to avoid walking barefoot outside and onto balconies then onto the carpet which would contribute to the need to have the carpets cleaned at the guest’s expense. We are pleased you were able to enjoy your schoolies holiday with us along with the other 800 schoolies guests we hosted. We make every possible effort to ensure the building is safe and enjoyable for all schoolies, as a result we have a great reputation through out this period, we are delighted you have enjoyed your time here at Crown Towers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

I got this one bedroom apartment off wot if thinking hey I stayed here before. This place has always been awesome Mistake. No guest book. No doona on bed the cold water tap fell on me while in the bath. No air conditioning remote. Asked management to call me have received no call. Received doona after having to go down stairs twice. Still no guest book so don't no how to work Internet or receptions number. Wasn't going to do travel advisor til after I left but at this point I don't feel like any things being done

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraCrownTowers, Manager at Mantra Crown Towers, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thankyou for the comments in relation to your recent stay with us, we would like to take this opportunity to clarify the following matters. There was no air conditioning remote supplied in your apartment as the control point for the air-conditioning in the room to which you stayed is wall mounted. On arrival you were handed a welcome letter containing all the necessary resort information required for your stay, obviously should any further information have been required our friendly reception team are always ready and willing to assist our guests when required.

In recent times as doona’s are beginning to be fazed out due to the focus now on bed presentation, the majority of beds now contain either a throw or a blanket. In saying this we do keep a number of spares doona’s on hand to fulfil guest requests as they come to hand. Thankyou for reporting the maintenance issue with the bathroom tap, I certainly apologise for the fact this issue has occurred however I am pleased our duty manager was able to rectify the situation promptly. Again thankyou for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

Huge apartment! We were pleasantly surprised by the space we had! Kids loved the facilities (pools, games room). Great location, walk to shops, restaurants and beach. Kids enjoyed watching the bungee shot lit up at night across the road when we walked back from dinner each night. We ate at Thai restaurant downstairs which was lovely food and atmosphere. We were careful to book thru the mantra website and do not regret it. Great family holiday. Good value. Only one negative; beds were hard! And pillows fat and uncomfortable. Everything else brilliant!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraCrownTowers, Manager at Mantra Crown Towers, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
It is great to hear that your stay with us was a memorable one! Our resort is well loved by families for it’s great facilities and close proximity to all that Surfers Paradise has to offer. We hope to welcome you back to Mantra Crown Towers the next time you visit the Gold Coast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

You must be very careful who you book this trip with. Be aware if booking via Gold Coast Tourist Information Centre- they are the 3rd party who handles some of this resort's bookings. The actual resort is great for kids as it has a great man made beach and a water slide which they will really enjoy. The Thai restaurant is amazing too. The resort is also in a great location. However we found our experience was compromised because we booked via the GC Tourist Information Centre. They manage the bookings for the individual owners who buy the apartments. Our room was filthy. So dirty in fact that within 10 minutes of walking around the apartment bare food, the soles of our feet were black. The kitchen floor was sticky and hadn’t been mopped. The carpet was beyond putrid as it was covered in stains and dirt and there were finger prints all over the windows and tables and benches. The remote controls all had sticky stains on them. It felt as though we had come into someone else’s home and were living amongst their filth. In total there were 2 rolls of toilet paper provided for the whole family. There were no dishcloths or sponges to do the dishes. The décor was beyond out-dated – it was straight out of the 60s and the doona cover had a stale odour . The blankets on the bed had stains on them and we couldn't touch them. The televisions are also small but we weren’t there to watch digital TV so that didn’t bother us too much. When we called to complain about our room, we were questioned as though we had done something wrong. Finally they agreed to send someone over to clean it but that never happened. In order for us to enjoy our stay, we had to get a bucket and mop the apartment ourselves and clean the tables and chairs ourselves. Our advice – stay here as it’s fantastic but do it directly through the resort so that you may have a cleaner and newer room – do not book through Gold Coast Tourist Information Centre!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraCrownTowers, Manager at Mantra Crown Towers, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. It is unfortunate that your holiday was compromised by these incidents you have mentioned. The unit which you stayed in is not managed by Mantra, therefore we are not in a position to comment or assist you in the above matter. Mantra is the appointed agent to operate from this premises and we are committed to offering our guests an enjoyable holiday. It is great to hear that you enjoyed the fantastic facilities our resort has to offer and we would love to welcome you back to holiday with us at Mantra Crown Towers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed at Mantra crown towers on 3 November for 3 nights. We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment on the 35th floor. The apartment faced north east. We had an excellent view of the ocean and the city.

The apartment was very clean and modern. The kitchen, living room and bedrooms were refurbished. The 2 bathrooms were a little dated but adequate and clean. Despite being on a main road we didn't hear the traffic due to being high up. The kitchen was well equipped with modern appliances and we cooked 2 night, there was plenty of cutlery/crockery etc, it is worth taking a few dishwasher tablets if you plan on cooking, as the hotel only give you 1! The lounge room was large with 2 new leather couches and a flat screen tv. The tv channels were a bit disappointing, they did not provide all the free to air channels.

The swimming pools were great, probably the best part of the resort for the kids (aged 2 and 4). The lagoon pool was excellent although the water was quite cold. The kids lagoon pool was a bit warmer and the water slide was good for the kids, they loved the pirate ship. It was handy having the heated indoor pool as the weather was on the cooler side.

The Thai restaurant was very good and reasonably priced and very child friendly with awesome food, definitely worth a visit.

We booked through mantra and used the entertainment book to get a discount and got the apartment for a great price.

All in all we had an awesome time and would definitely return! I was a little apprehensive after reading some of the reviews on here, and I did ring the resort to request a high up room which was refurbished. I would recommend this! I guess you have to take a risk that you get a refurbished room, and you will have a great time with your children!

Room Tip: 3502 was excellent 2 bed refurbished apartment with north eastern views, not right opposite the ocea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraCrownTowers, Manager at Mantra Crown Towers, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the unit’s cleanliness, amenities and view and made the most of your holiday! Whilst our units are fully self-contained, we are happy to provide additional items such as dishwasher powder to our guests from Reception, just ask! Our great resort facilities combine with our unit’s amenities to provide a great package experience for families and couples alike and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mantra Crown Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Crown Towers

Address: 5-19 Palm Avenue, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#14 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#18 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Crown Towers 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crown Towers Resort is consistently in demand all throughout the year. Discerning Gold Coast visitors appreciate all the luxuries that the Crown Towers Resort can offer. The Crown Towers Resort in Gold coast have it all, position, all the amenities you could wish for to make your Gold Coast holiday your best ever. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Mantra Crown Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Towers Hotel Surfers Paradise
Crown Hotel Surfers Paradise
Crown Resort All Inclusive
Mantra Crown Towers Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mantra Crown Towers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.