We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing like the Online Photos. Disgusting Place” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Surfers Hawaiian Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Surfers Hawaiian Apartments to your Saves list
Surfers Hawaiian Apartments
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   2890 Gold Coast High Way, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Rotorua, New Zealand
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nothing like the Online Photos. Disgusting Place”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

When I booked this accomodation I checked out all the photo galleries for the 2 bedrm apartments. What awesome photos with great views. I checked other peoples reviews so I was very happy to book my stay here.

Our room was disgusting! As soon as we walked in the apartment it smelt like urine, which was coming from the main bathrm. The couch in the lounge had a huge hole in it showing the foam inside. It definitely did NOT look like any of their online photos. It was so dated, dirty and not nice at all. The staff were friendly until we told them of our complaints with the room. The manager got quite heated as I told him my concerns with the room. They said they had never had complaints before and sent the cleaner up. She sprayed toilet deodoriser around the toilet to hide the smell but did not even attempt to clean and get rid of the problem. The manager asked her if she had mopped the floors, which she hadnt so he sent her back up. She mopped the smelly bathrm floor first and then mopped our kitchen floor, GROSS!

I have stayed in many of hotels/motels/apartments in my life and I have NEVER stayed in such an unclean room. OR a room that looked so different from the photos posted online. I realise that all rooms look different but ours was nothing like the online photos, it was disgusting! To be honest, if our rooms photos were online, no one would ever book here! This needed a REAL GOOD SCRUB to say the least. It needed things replaced, modenised etc.....

- Washing machines filter was broken so it dumped fluff all over our clothes.
- Fan made such a noise that it had to turned off as it drove us crazy while we were trying the watch the 2011 Rugby World cup semi final.
- Big hole in the lounge suite.
- Smelly, dirty bathrm.
- Dirty floors (I had white socks on & they were extremely dirty after walking on the floor for a hour or two).
- Dirty cupboards and draws in the kitchen (had crumbs, hair and dust all thru them).
- Dirty, greasy plates and knives & forks.
- Cable/Digital TV keep cutting out.
- Hair in the freezer.
- Broken down looking dishwasher.
- Dirty, unwiped benches.
- Rusty clothes airer to hang our clothes. I couldnt have gotten any clothes on that airer without it touching rust. GROSS!
- Carpet was worn, stained and was frayed in areas.
- Bed covers were old, faded and dated. Looked dirty.
- Had a warning about a water restriction and yet the ensuite toilet leaked after being flushed and was a real pain trying to get this to stop!
I could go on......

DEFINITELY WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THIS PLACE!

Room Tip: Dont Stay Here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    16
    0
    2
    5
See reviews for
29
3
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

When we arrived it was already after 5pm on Sunday.
There's after office hour button and not long after we pressed, a guy came and asked us to open the mailbox there. Our key and all confirmation letter was already there in the mailbox! Yay ! So dont panic first if you arrive late in the afternoon. Staff are nice , very helpful . Calling cabs for us , explain route. Our return flight was quite late evening and we still have lots of hours, so we asked to store our bags in the hotel even after checkout. The girl allowed us to do so, but we have to collect before 4pm since they close by then.

What we love the most is the view!! We're presented with gorgeous view of Neerang river , and during sunrise or sunset, it just take your breath away . Window is all glass floor to ceiling. Our unit is two bedrooms unit, spacious kitchen , big TV and lots of channels . We shopped groceries at town, and cooked at the apartment , enjoying it outside at its balcony .

We did not try the pool or sauna , as we were outside most of the day.

This apartment is about 15 min walking from bus stop. I think that is the only downside.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

Stayed for 3 nights with my friend, we had a great time. The apartment was well equipped and maintained, amazing value for money. The level of service was beyond reproach, with staff going out of their way to make our stay comfortable and enjoyable. Would highly recommend and can't be beaten on price.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

Well appointed rooms with beautiful views and excellent customer service. Conveniently located and really friendly and helpful staff. Will definately stay here again!

Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Coast, NSW
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

I stayed here in March with a group of friends and had a fantastic time. The apartment was immaculate and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel is walking distance to everything from the beach to the shops to restaurants and night life. I would definately recommend this accommodation to anyone looking at staying in the area. Fantastic service, clean & stylish apartments, great location. Very highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for riverview
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

Surfers hawiian is excellent!! The staff are great, apartment was spectacular n very clean! Location is perfect, close enough to cavill yet far enough away from the hustle n bustle! Great value for money! We will b returning!!!

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

Took a two bed room located at 2nd floor. not much view. The room does not provide heater so it was very cold at night...staff was friendly. Free secured basement parking and the apartment contained fully cooking facility. Recommended for family. Location is about 15 minutes walk to surfer paradise.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Surfers Hawaiian Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfers Hawaiian Apartments

Address: 2890 Gold Coast High Way, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 103 Specialty Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Surfers Hawaiian Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Surfers Hawaiian Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfers Hawaiian Apartments Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surfers Hawaiian Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.