We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You Guys are the BEST” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Surf Regency Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Surf Regency Apartments to your Saves list
Surf Regency Apartments
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   9 Laycock Street, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
nsw
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“You Guys are the BEST”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2009

Just wanted to thank you guys so much – we had such a good time staying up at Surf Regency, the location was excellent, the rooms were perfect and the staff were so helpful and went beyond expectation. As it was for my brother because he has been in and out of hospital with Crohns Disease for the last 6 years and has been doing home school as he was too sick to attended normal high school I am very greatful for all your help as he couldn’t have had a more perfect holiday.

I look forward to recommending Surf Regency to anyone! And we are planning to come up and stay atleast once every year 


Kind regards,
Chantelle Swift
Reservations Consultant

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    29
    13
    6
    8
See reviews for
32
27
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
sydney
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2009

I was not expecting that this place is grand considering its only 2.5-3stars accomodation but i was expecting it to be clean. I saw a cockroach on the hallway to our room but did not mention it to my friend, as we enter the room - looks alright but as i started opening the blinds - there were stains curtains and carpet floor did not really bother me but the windows was so dusty inside out - it put me off. I was ready to move out that time considering i booked for 3 nights - i was worried about bed bugs more than anything else - thank God, no bed bugs - the sheets are clean and no bed bugs bite so we just decided to stay there. If you are a clean freak, suffer skin sensitivity or allergy on dust i would reccomend to find another place.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2009

Great location, close to everything and wonderful views. Room could have been a bit cleaner but would still recommend for location.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2009

Surf Regency was a great place to stay, in an awesome location we were close to everything we needed with the main shopping strip just 3 streets up.

The rooms were very generous in size and fairly modern, the unit was clean and tidy and we were made well aware upon not only booking but also checking in that these apartments are self contained and not serviced! The views from the balcony off the living are were of the beach and absolutely perfect and the view from the balcony off our bedroom was of the city and hinterland and were also amazing.

The staff were friendly and helpful. The pool and spa downstairs were clean and well maintained, the rooftop area with spa and sauna were also well maintained, while one of the lifts wasn't working on one day this did not affect us in the slightest.

All in all great value for money and we would not hesitate in staying again. After seeing the state of some more pricey places in the area this one is definitely the way to go.

If there was one thing that let it down it was the hard bed, but we all like different beds so to some it will no doubt be perfect, we will definitely be coming back!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2009

stayed last christmas for 9 days and going again this year. Location is fantastic, couldnt get a better view from rooms. Cavill is close by not even a 5 min walk. try it you wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2009

Having read some good reviews on this property we decided to book. The carpet, kitchen and bed-linen were all below standard and everything felt not quite clean. Whlist the view from the living room was stunning, the whole apartment decor was dated by about 25 years and everything felt grubby. But the worst thing of all was that night when we came back from our meal out, we found ahuge cockroach walking across the living room floor. That just spoilt it for us but we were only there for 3 nights and hoped that it was an isolated incident. But on our last night we saw another cockroach, and could not wait to leave the next morning. I think there is a lot of difference between the apartments on different floors (we were on the 8th floor), because some of the photos on other reviews show modern rooms with tiling while we had a grubby carpet and old furniture. It seems like it is pot luck as to what kind of apatment you get. we will never book here again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2009

We stayed here for 7 nights. It is in a fantastic location it is 2 short blocks walk to cavill mall along the beach yet it is far enough away to not have the party noise. All the apartments look out to the ocean we stayed on level 9 in a one bedroom apartment which was good with plenty of room for the two of us. The interior is a bit out dated as in the bathroom, kitchen and some furniture but really it is great for a holiday it felt just like home. The apartment was very clean which was good. we did get woken up on the 1st moring by reception calling (well it was 9am maybe later) to see if they could send someone up to fix the shower screen we didn't even know it was broken (just off its tracks) so that was good service!
The front desk were very helpful they booked our dreamworld tickets and gave good advice on which buses to take.
The pool was good but it was a bit cold but the spa was just near by so that was good. The roof top section was closed so i didn't get to see it.
One thing here is that when you leave you have to empty your rubbish and recycling bin into the rubbish chute. This proved some problems as a weeks worth of rubbish had to be pulled apart and put into smaller shopping bags to fit in the chute it was quite funny!
overall i would stay here again as it is great value for money in a great location and about 50m from the beach (you just have to cross the esplenade)
:)

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Surf Regency Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf Regency Apartments

Address: 9 Laycock Street, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 103 Specialty Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Surf Regency Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Surf Regency Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surf Regency Apartments Hotel Surfers Paradise
Regency Surfers Paradise
Regency Hotel Surfers Paradise
Surf Regency Apartments Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surf Regency Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.