We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a dump definitely wins award for rudest receptionist in QLD” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Surf Regency Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Surf Regency Apartments to your Saves list
Surf Regency Apartments
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   9 Laycock Street, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“What a dump definitely wins award for rudest receptionist in QLD”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here from 5th check in was unpleasant as we're not advised of deposit.
So after I gave my deposit in 5c pieces that I obtained from bank from a friend.
6th July police were called in regards to someone smoking illegal substance on our level.
After a search was conducted where they found nothing as we had nothing being travellers.
Police asked me if I robbed a arms guard as it was implied by front office we were dodgey were 2 young girls on holiday.

We are now in process with our lawyer of sueing surfers regency for discrimination and defimation of character.

Not a pleasant stay at all. Would not stay here rooms old but cleanish.
Can't use balcony from 10pm to 7am.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surfreg, Manager at Surf Regency Apartments, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Firstly, it is normal practice and stated on the booking form that we take a $100 deposit to secure a booking - hence the request for credit card details.
Also standard practice to take credit card details or cash deposit for security purposes.
Who provides $100 in 5 cent pieces? There was some suspicion as to the source of all this coin so on checking with our local police they arrived quickly and in numbers, unsure if it was the coin or other information that triggered such response.
They still decided to stay in our dump for 3 days.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    25
    11
    6
    7
See reviews for
27
25
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
ACT
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We just arrived back from a wonderful time at the Gold Coast. We stayed at Surf Regency for a week on the 6th floor. we had great views and it was close to everything. You could just walk to many restaurants and attractions and the beach is just accross the road. The apartment wasn't very clean when we got there, which was a bit of a shame because you do like to walk in and see everything clean as it should be. We let the manager know and he was very apologetic about it and told us that they had relief staff over the Easter long weekend. He gave us 2 breakfast vouchers to use at Surfers RSL and that was great, the fact that they acknowledged it was important to us. It has a swimming pool and great spa that we used and were very happy to just laze around on the deck chairs. The staff are happy to help with any info you may need on attractions and how to get there or the shopping centres. I asked for a roll away bed for myself, eventhough there was a queen bed mum and I could share, but I wanted to sleep on my own and the staff were happy to give me one at no extra cost. This isn't a 5 star hotel but it is very comfortable and a convenient location, it has everything you need. We will definately be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

We started our trip on the 7th Feb 2013. Stayed as a couple for a total of 10 days on the 12th floor with an ocean view.

The location was 2 blocks from all the action, right across the road from the beach and a couple 100 metres away from the bus stops which go to all the theme parks and shopping centres.
The view from the apartment was beautiful with plenty of entertainment, as there are many events viewable from the balcony.
The room was very clean and quite spacious.
Only complaints would be that the bed was 2 singles velcro'd together, which actually made it much larger than most beds, still comfy and wasn't that big a deal. Also, the shower was a bit clogged and the door was hard to close.
Overall a great place to stay and would recommend to anyone thinking of staying there !


  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

This hotel is in a great location, right on the beach and in easy reach of the shops and restaurants.
Unfortunately the 3 days that we stayed were the same days as Ex-cyclone Oswald also hit.
Although we still managed to get out and about quite a lot the beach was closed much of the time. There are only so many times that you can go around the shops and people were advised not to drive about due to the conditions. We therefore spent a lot of time in our room.
The room is a great size with balcony doors from the living area and bedroom. The decor is dingy and the kitchen and bathroom are very dated.
The washer drier was very welcome though as we were soaked most of the time!!
If we had been able to spend our days on the beach then the room would not have bothered us as much.
The staff were pleasant and very helpful especially when the fire alarms went off late one night due to damp in the alarm censors!!

Room Tip: Request a high room due to the hotel in front
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockhampton, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We had the most wonderful week at the Gold Coast , thanks to the Surf Regency. First off , its a fabulous location , & the views were simply staggering. We were so close to all the action , however , once we closed the doors , we could not hear a thing. Our unit was a little dated , but we didnt care , we were either on the beach 20m away , on the Balcony , or asleep (The bed was super comfy). The managers were so friendly & accomodating , we couldnt speak more highly. All in all , we highly reccomend the surf regency & we will definately be going back !!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

This is a really good option if you're looking for a nice break but don't want to spend a fortune. The staff are really helpful and most rooms have views to the beach which is a major part of enjoying your stay on the Goldy. The best views are on the Southeast Corner...on the 10th-14th floors. I booked at peak time (and last minute) so I got the opposite corner on the first floor.....so not a great view - but a view none the less. The positive spin on that room was that we were on street level without using the lifts. The units themselves are all different but neat, clean and relatively modern. Our two teen boys loved it......800 meters from Cavill Ave and there is a buss near by which took them to the theme parks. No car required in this location. Note there is building in front of these apartments that obscures "some" views - next time I'll try to get an apartment that is not affected by this. (but hey - it was the last room available). The ground, pool and two spa's are clean and never really packed with people. (even in peak season).

You're right across the road from the most beautiful beach. The more up-market hotels close by were at least double the price. This is not my first stay on the Gold Coast but I rate this place and recommend it to people who want good value in a great spot. We enjoyed our 10 days there.

Room Tip: Rooms 1101, 1404 and 1004 for best quality. Each apartment is individually owned. Book early for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redbank Plains, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I recently stayed at Surf Regency for 3 nights on the 9th floor (room 902), couldnt ask for better service or ammenities. The Managers of the apartments were very friendly and i often spotten them working around the manicured gardens.
The room was very spacious, fantastic ocean breeze and i must admit i had the best sleep during my stay (the bed was amazing).
Didnt have to get in my car once during my stay, Cavil mall is only 2 blocks away and very central to everything Surfers has to offer. Patroled beach directly across the road with toilet block and shower as you walk on/off the beach (handy if you got kiddies)

Absolute value for money and will definately go back without hesitation!
Thank you Surf Regency :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Surf Regency Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf Regency Apartments

Address: 9 Laycock Street, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 102 Specialty Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Surf Regency Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Surf Regency Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surf Regency Apartments Hotel Surfers Paradise
Regency Surfers Paradise
Regency Hotel Surfers Paradise
Surf Regency Apartments Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surf Regency Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.