We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Clean” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Surf Regency Apartments

Save Saved
You added Surf Regency Apartments to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Surf Regency Apartments
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9 Laycock Street, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 74 hotels in Surfers Paradise
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Not Clean”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

When we first arrived we were disappointed at the state of our room, it felt very grubby & the toilets were both quite messy. The shower & floors had alot of marks that were very easy to remove with a wet cloth so I don't know why they hadn't been done.Something had been spilt down the wall beside one of the beds. The room was serviced once during our 10 day stay which was fine but the toilets were still not cleaned & the floors weren't either. We came across cockroaches twice during our stay, once in one of the bedrooms & once in the kitchen. The kitchen cutlery wasn't very clean & the spatula was so melted & caked with food that we went & bought a new one. There was a computer downstairs to use the internet for $2 per 15 minutes, it was ok when it worked but during our stay we had three times when it played up & we didn't receive our money back or replacement time on it. Elevators stunk of urine also. The room was very muggy & we the air conditioner was down the opposite end of the apartment to the bedrooms which made for some restless hot nights trying to sleep.

The location is great, very close to Cavill Mall & to the beach. Underground parking was very handy & the staff we encountered were friendly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    20
    10
    5
    7
See reviews for
25
23
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I stayed here for 6 nights on the 14th floor. Though the room was not like a hotel room, it was definitely clean and comfortable. While we only used the microwave & the fridge, they did have an oven and cook-top, washing machines & dryer as well. They have a decent pool and a nice spa.
My experience with the staff has been good.

But the best part about this place is the location & the view. Its right on surfers paradise beach and all you have to do to take a dip in the ocean is cross the road. All the local attractions are within a 5 minute walk radius. The view from my unit was to die for. I could see the sea unobstucted, both from living room & the bedroom. (and it was not noisy at nights, except for the sound of waves)

It was definitely worth the money I paid for it.

Room Tip: rooms on the higher floor and facing the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Staff were easy going and helpful, rooms were nice. Second bedroom beds uncomfortable, but overall a good place

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed for 7 nights on the 9th floor it was pretty good. Reading some of the other reviews I thought the rooms would be a bit more spacious but still they were ok. Being a wheelchair user it wasn't too difficult getting around the property, although I did need help getting in and out as there is a big step near the pool area. It's not stated that it has disabled facilities but is said to be wheelchair accessible which I find hard to believe. It's in a great location with great views, just a short stroll to the heart of surfers where there are lots of places to eat. I also will mention my bed was quite comfortable! Although the apartment didn't suit my needs and some parts looked as thougt they hadn't been cleaned in quite awhile, for the money it's a good place to stay with almost everything you need. On Windy the the TV reception is quite bad...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoria
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Stayed at the Surf Regency Apartments for 5 nights.
The room itself is lovely, views spectacular.
My compliant lies with the note received the last night requesting that I Wash all dishes and remove all rubbish from the room or there would be a surcharge for additional cleaning.
What Additional Cleaning?
Isnt that what cleaners are supposed to do clean the room remove the rubbish, wash the dishes.
If staying at the Surf Regency, I suggest you wash any dishes before you use them because they have not been washed by qualified cleaning staff.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surfreg, Manager at Surf Regency Apartments, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Asking guests to clean dishes and take out rubbish is a fairly standard practise for self contained apartments. Dishes are done by our cleaning staff but by asking for these simple things to be done prevents any lingering smells for the next guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton City, null, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

We recently stayed for 5 nights in a one bedroom apartment - location and views were excellent however we were both a little disappointed in our unit on the 10th floor - the bathroom and kitchen certainly didn't look like the photos on the website :( The bed linen and towels were very thin. We were supplied with towels, hand towel and bathmat but no flannel. When we asked at reception - they said we don't do flannels! :( One of the two chairs on the balcony was broken. Ranchslider and mirrors in Bedroom all had handmarks on them. However, the location, the views and the spaciousness of the unit made up a little for the disappointments noted above.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburton, New Zealand
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We have stayed at the Surf Regency a few times now and we just love it. We have been on both the 9th and 10th floors with two bedrooms and it just works perfectly. Excellent facilites, extremly clean, comfortable and spacious - fully self contained. Your view is just beautiful ocean views - overlooking the beach - stunning seeing the sunrise. There are two spas, pool and sauna. BBQs beside the pool or under the stars on the roof. We have teenagers and they come and go freely with keys. All gated and secure. We have never experienced any noise complaints either from adjacent apartments or outside. Plenty of parking. Only two blocks away from Cavill Ave. Credit must be given to management as they are both super friendly and very accommodating. This is truly a special place to relax, unwind and enjoy.

Room Tip: All rooms face the beach - so everyone has fantastic views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Surf Regency Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf Regency Apartments

Address: 9 Laycock Street, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 74 hotels in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Surf Regency Apartments 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Surf Regency Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surf Regency Apartments Hotel Surfers Paradise
Regency Surfers Paradise
Regency Hotel Surfers Paradise
Surf Regency Apartments Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surf Regency Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.