We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did not disappoint” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hi Surf Beachfront Resort Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hi Surf Beachfront Resort Apartments to your Saves list
Hi Surf Beachfront Resort Apartments
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   150 The Esplanade | Surfers Paradise, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Did not disappoint”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We had stayed at the Hi Surf years ago when out children were in their teens. Our daughter was getting married and she decided to book the Hi Surf leading up to the wedding and afterwards, so my Husband and I decided to do the same. When we booked we explained the occassion and that we would like rooms on the Esplanade and a refurbished room if possible. We were more than impressed with the service from the staff and the rooms. Just what we wanted.

We will definitely go back. It did not disappoint. Will recommend the Hi Surf anytime.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the Esplanade, that way you face the beach front and you are just across the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
showbiz12, Owner at Hi Surf Beachfront Resort Apartments, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
How delightful to see you all back again for such a wonderful occasion! We do look after all our guests as best we can and it is especially pleasing, and we appreciate, that you take the time to tell the world what a great place Hi Surf is. Of course, our success is largely attributed to our dedicated staff, Sue, Mandy, Tracy, Shana and Alan who do enjoy their job! See you all again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    61
    16
    9
    3
See reviews for
122
24
1
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We recently stayed in appartment 22B.
WOW.... What a veiw!!!
We had veiws all the way up and down main beach and views north back over the city.

APARTMENT
The apartment was great. There was plenty of space for the 5 of us.
All of the furnishings were modern and clean.

SERVICE
The service was very helpful. Mandy was able to help us out of a tight spot in a very short space of time (my fault on the booking for another accomodation).

AMENITIES
Although the complex was being renovated, we knew this upfront and didn't impact on us at all. In fact, we didn't really notice it going on anyway.

The only downside, was that the main shower wasn't well sealed and water easily runs between gaps in door and goes all over floor (although ensuite was perfectly fine)

We will definately be going back.

Thanks

Room Tip: Rooms facing North East are perfect. With the balcony sweeping around, you can get wind/rain protect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
showbiz12, Owner at Hi Surf Beachfront Resort Apartments, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
We are so pleased that you had such a good holiday! Our guests do rave about the magnificent views and Hi Surf is among the best of the holiday apartments that are beachfront...and the lifesaver flags are immediately in front! Mandy appreciates you mentioning her exceptional service. Other guests will meet Mandy, as well, when they stay....and will get the same attention. We hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orange, nsw
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

This was our first family holiday after 10 years, Our booking agent Sunloverholiday.com led us to believe we had uninterupted veiws of the ocean and more, we were on the 3rd floor and had very partial views of the ocean and mostly looked at the roadway and the side of other hotels, this particular room had seen better days and is situated above the pool area which was noisy, before unpacking I went to speak with Manager Sue, she understood my dissapointment and managed to move us to the 20th floor ! Unbelievable..the veiws were breathtaking, floor to ceiling glass and wrap around verandah, the apartment itself was faultless, very modern and really tasteful, we felt like Kings, I can't thank Sue enough, it was school hols and she managed to make our holiday so memorible, watch out for Sunlovers holiday booking through the net, they were suppose to tell us partial veiws etc. but didn't, this review would have been entirely different if it wasn't for Manager Sue. Weather wasn't hot but the pools were heated and a great joy each day.

Room Tip: Ask for floors 6 and above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
showbiz12, Owner at Hi Surf Beachfront Resort Apartments, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
We really appreciate your comments and in particular mentioning Sue Warner, the manager, who works tirelessly with Alan and Mandy to make sure all guests enjoy their stay as much as possible. We are also very pleased that we assisted to make your 10 year holiday so memorable and look forward to seeing you again soon. Call us personally next time to book your apartment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

The location was perfect, within easy walking distance to Cavill road and surrounding shopping district. Half hour drive to all the theme parks, Excellent ocean views from living area, kitchen and bedrooms. The staff were very helpful and accommodating, nothing was too much trouble.
Great accommodation for families, with good facilities, gym, pool, sauna and tennis court.
Table and bench tops were not clean, bathrooms were a little outdated, but otherwise a great place to stay, we would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the North East corner, great ocean and marina views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
showbiz12, Owner at Hi Surf Beachfront Resort Apartments, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thanks so much for your kind comments. The ocean and beach views are fantastic, as you say, and they are available from every room. As you say the North East corner is also our favourite! Come back very soon and the staff appreciate you mentioning them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

The amenities were fantastic - the kids enjoyed the pools, tennis and playground (although a bit too much chlorine in the indoor pool gave us all sore eyes !).
The rooms were spacious and clean although obviously a bit aged and needed some fixing up. Nothing major but a lot of little things.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
showbiz12, Owner at Hi Surf Beachfront Resort Apartments, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Our guests do love the amenities and particularly the secure children's playground. We are so pleased you had a great time and we also hope you enjoyed swimming at the patrolled beach immediately in front. The lifesavers with the famous red and yellow swimming flags are a great asset as you can surf at the beach and 1minute later be in the hot spa at Hi Surf! Mandy Sue and I hope to see you again very soon. Keep well and thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Our first time staying at Hi Surf after staying at a number of other properties over the years on the Gold Coast. Can highly recommend on location, (perfect only short walk to the centre of Surfers Paradise) exceptional uninterrupted views (extensive beach/ocean views and over suburban Gold Coast) little noise (go to sleep listening to the oceans, little in the way of sirens etc) great fitness facilities (pools, gym, tennis court etc, opposite running track) large spacious apartment (we stayed in a 2 bedroom older style – but space, balcony more than compensated, great service from management.............could keep going on.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
showbiz12, Owner at Hi Surf Beachfront Resort Apartments, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Lovely to see that this is your first time at Hi Surf and that you can such a great time! Thank you so much for your kind comments and we certainly do have many guests returning after staying at other properties .... our location and service are uncompromising and our staff love to help our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Well it is a great place to stay in Surfers, this was our 4th trip to the Gold Coast.
The two bedroom apartments are fantastic and clean although outdated and worn, its great for families with kids, it enables you to have privacy with seperate living areas and the apartment is HUGE with floor to ceiling windows overlooking the Pacific ocean....glorious!!!!
We chose to use the public transport (gold coast shuttle bus via Ferny Ave) for all the theme park and shopping centre adventures as it was too easy and very efficient, we only had to walk two blocks to catch all services....and we saved a small fortune.
It was over a kilometre away from the Cavill Mall, unfortunately under renovationsns, and it was a great opportunity to explore further around the area and we were pleasantly surprised with some great eating venues.
The 3 pools were used frequently after a swim at the beach opposite the venue, we did not use the gym or the BBQ facilities. I highly recommend this establishment...and a special thankyou to Mandy for her welcome

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the amazing Pacific ocean and above the10th floor for the Glorious views!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
showbiz12, Owner at Hi Surf Beachfront Resort Apartments, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Mandy loves it when her name is mentioned and I love it when our guests are so happy! Our 2 bedroom apartments are great for families or 2 couples sharing as there is lots of space. When you return the new light rail will be operating and we have station at our back door. We do have upgraded rooms available so please ask about them next time you stay. See you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hi Surf Beachfront Resort Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hi Surf Beachfront Resort Apartments

Address: 150 The Esplanade | Surfers Paradise, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hi Surf Beachfront Resort Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beachfront! Magnificent uninterrupted views of Surfers paradise beach and ocean. Only 5 minute walk to Cavill Avenue, centre of Surfers. Beachfront with famous lifesaver "red and yellow flags" for patrolled swimming area immediately in front of resort. All apartments have 2 bedroom + 2 bathrooms and accommodate up to 5 persons. All apartments overlook the Grand Prix race track. Resort facilities include indoor heated pool & spa, outdoor heated pool & spa, tennis court, landscaped grounds, gymnasium, free undercover secure parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Hi Surf Beachfront Resort Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hi Surf Beachfront Resort Apartments Hotel Surfers Paradise
Hi Surf Beachfront Resort Apartments Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hi Surf Beachfront Resort Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.