We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scruffy” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Surfers Mayfair Hotel

Save Saved
You added Surfers Mayfair Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Surfers Mayfair Hotel
19 Riverview Parade, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Scruffy”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We stayed at Surfers Mayfair after checking the rooms some time before to be rest assured that our stay would be a pleasant one.
On arrival, management were pleasant, the Foyer clean and tidy.
We arrived at our room, what a contrast. Cheap furniture that was well worn and very grubby. A cushion that so filthy it appeared that someone had Urinated on it. Immediately I took it done to the manager, who agreed that it was disgusting and should never have been left there.
The shower head was broken, replaced by a "Walter Mitty" hand held extension. Management informed us that they were going replace it, but gave no indication "When" Two days later it was fixed, after several more complaints.
We asked for another room, but was informed that none were available.
Never again!

Room Tip: Check the room out before occupying.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    9
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Stayed in a single room 6th floor apartment which was exactly as described. Clean, comfy bed and friendly staff. 5-10min walk to the beach, 15min to supermarket and plenty of restaurants close by to choose from. Also close to pubic transport to get to theme parks and airport. Not 5 star accommodation, but clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I just spent 4 nights at Surfers Mayfair Hotel and highly recommend it as a place to stay. Staff were very friendly and the apartment was just what we wanted. Comfy lounge furniture, big bathroom with double sinks, big spa, fabulous walk in robe, large balcony and fully equipped kitchen. Nice and quiet location and only a 5 minute walk from shops and Cavill Ave. Japanese gardens, pool area and barbecue beautiful. Very clean and well kept. Great value and highly recommend a stay there. We'll be back!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Stayed here 28/12/12-02/01/13. 2 bedroom apartment for 3 people.
Highly recommend staying here. Rooms were clean, amazing views, very close to beach and main strip of surfers, huge balcony, air con worked perfect, well equipped kitchen and laundry.
Owners were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We have been staying at Surfers Mayfair for years and it is still one we always go back to. It is very spacious, and it is a 5 min walk to beach, shops, supermarket and the bus stop is only around the corner also. These apartments have very thing you need, TV, DVD player, washing machine and dryer, plates, glasses, cooking essentials etc. There is a swimming pool with spa pool, sauna, tennis court, carpark for each apartment and it is very secure as well.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We had a two bedroom apartment and it was huge! It is so close to everything - supermarkets, the beach, shops and restuarants. Secure parking for cars. Very friendly and helpful staff. Great layout of the appartment with the kitchen/lounge in the middle which is great for a family. Large fridge and cooking facilities which help keep costs down. It is a little tired in parts and the dishwasher was very old and not the best but this didn't bother us in the least as the positives more than outweighed any of this. Exceptional value for money. Great pool!

Room Tip: 2 bedroom apartment was awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

Apartment was clean and well maintained! Traveled as a couple so we really only needed one room but the price was fantastic for a 2 bedroom so we just went with it! The master bedroom has an adjoining bathroom with SPA, the wall to the bedroom has a huge see through window...

This place could of easily catered 6 people comfortably as the lounge area was huge! We found that there were more than enough blankets and pillows in the wardrobes!

There was also probably enough cutlery, plates and bowls to throw a party although I believe that is against the property policies so I do not recommend it.

We walked everywhere as well, only 5 minutes walk down to the beach/shops.

Overall, great stay and would highly recommend for couples or families alike!

Room Tip: Try get a room facing out to surfers paradise direction or you might end up with the side that faces...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Surfers Mayfair Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfers Mayfair Hotel

Address: 19 Riverview Parade, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 92 Specialty lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Surfers Mayfair Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfers Mayfair Hotel Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surfers Mayfair Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.