We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a let down!!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Mantra Wings

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Mantra Wings to your Saves list
Mantra Wings
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Cnr Fern St & Gold Coast Hwy | 18 Fern Street, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 58 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Dunedin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“What a let down!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2009

Beautiful Place, swimming pool and spa great but really that was about it. Spacious appartments, mostly clean but not so nice lying in bed looking up at the air con with dirty brown marks on the bottom of it...that i cleaned off, the one in the lounge was the same. Had trouble with air con and microwave and one of the girls on reception was most helpful which was lovely to see as we were greeted by the most unfriendly girl who should not be in hosp, no hello, smile, welcome nothing, Lara if you happpen to read this your people skills are shocking and you dont leave a good name for mantra wings at all. Small things like service leave a lasting impression!
We stayed in a deluxe room, but wouldnt call it a deluxe. King bed made out of 2 singles was most uncomfortable. All in all good location but wont be back to stay at this place.

  • Liked — spa and pool
  • Disliked — The shockingly unfriendly service
  • Stayed January 2009
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    81
    21
    10
    13
See reviews for
99
57
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2009

Stayed at the Mantra in January 2009. We booked 3 apartments because we were celebrating a 75th birthday for my father. Booked through Stellar Resorts. Booked 8 mths in advance. Day before I was to pay, I had a message on my answering machine to say that I needed to pay by end of day. Did not get message until I got home from work, was too late. I had send a bank cheque week before. Did not even call me on mobile or make any effort to contact me before cancelling my booking. Could not get all apartments back, had to move last night. Mantra disappointing. Rooms were average and dirty. Blinds were dirty, glass on balcony was filthy. Toilet door lock was broken. Paintwork on doors was barely there. Facilities were nice enough. Pool was nice. Would I stay or recommend this to anyone. Definitely NOT!

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2009

This was a great place to stay with the family. We stayed in a 3 bedroom deluxe room on the 7th floor. We had views overlooking the Nerang River, a vacant block of land and the ocean, so a bit of everything. Now the apartment itself was well appointed with nice furniture and a great kitchen (allthough the fridge kept beeping when opened which was a bit annoying). Heaps of storage space and a great laundry. Beds were very comfortable. Balcony had a nice table with 6 chairs. Noise was at expected levels being on the highway, but after the first few nights you get used to it. Reception staff were pleasent enough on check in. Pool area was fantastic, my daughter loved the fact that it had it's own little beach before getting into the pool. Also it has a great wading section for little kids which was great for our 3 year old. She especially liked the kids playground which she used to dry off after a swim. Location was pretty good, not too far from either Surfers Paradise or Broadbeach and only a few minutes walk to a patrolled beach. Overall, a nice place to stay for the family.

  • Liked — Pool Area
  • Disliked — Noise from Highway
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larnaka, Cyprus
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2009

Very pleased with the standard of our room. We stayed in a 1 bedroom deluxe room with two bathrooms. Only there for 1 night but overall very impressed. Spotlessly clean and lots of facilities in the room. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Liked — Excellent standard of room
  • Disliked — Front desk closed when we arrived and instructions to get into Hotel a bit confusing
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2008

First of all, my advise to everyone, never ever ever stay to this aweful hotel. I have booked this hotel for 6 nights. Hotel claims, they are 4.5 star rating but trust me its not near even to 2 or 2.5. They charge $150 per night for 0ne bedroom. Its about 1KM from surfer paradise. I am sure you will get some good places in that price

1. Location is near to highway so even you will close all your windows and doors, continous traffic will wake you up the whole night

2. Air conditioning is poor. In my case there was water leakage from air con even though I have reported to them, they have not fixed it

3. Found cockroaches in the room

4. Customer service is really bad. We reached 30 minutes prior to check in time, rooms were not ready. Lady at reception asked us to leave our contact number and she will call us. We went to nearby market then and waited for call till 4.00 pm but never received any call from her. When we came back to hotel, no apologise from her

5. Rooms were not clean at all. You can easily see marks all over the carpet.

6. Sofas were not clean as well. Can see the dust easily

7. Bed sheets , pillows looked very old

  • Liked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2008

We stayed at the Mantra Wings in April 2008. At that time it was a BreakFree property, but it doesn't appear that much has changed other than the name (and price). It's a lovely resort in a great location. Fabulous views, even from the back. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. We particularly liked the facilities: a wonderful (and warm) swimming pool, a tennis court and BBQ facilities. The pool is excellent for kids with a contained shallow area and a little waterfall to play under. Kids were also climbing up on the "rocks" and jumping in. Parking is underneath and very convenient.

I'd definitely go back here if we were travelling back to the Gold Coast with children.

  • Stayed April 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2008

We were really impressed with the entire property and will definately stay there again the next time we are on the Gold Coast. Recommend the extra cash to pay for a delux room. Our room was a great size with 2 bathrooms, and a wonderful view of the pool and beach (obstructed of course by other beachfront apartments but that's pretty much standard on the Gold Coast!). It's in a great location and is no more than a 10 min walk to Cavil Ave. Highly recommend Mantra Wings.

  • Liked — The size of the room
  • Disliked — No 24hr reception
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mantra Wings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Wings

Address: Cnr Fern St & Gold Coast Hwy | 18 Fern Street, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#4 Romantic Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#6 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#6 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra Wings 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built on the site of the iconic Pink Poodle Motel, Mantra Wings sits midway between Surfers Paradise and the wining and dining hub of Broadbeach. Offering contemporary Surfers Paradise accommodation, Mantra Wings features self-contained One, Two and Three Bedroom Apartments and Two Bedroom Penthouses all with spacious balconies overlooking the Gold Coast and surrounds.Mantra Wings sits just 200 metres from the pristine waters of Surfers Paradise beach and a fifteen minute walk into Cavill Avenue. Here you can spend your days wandering the mall and browsing through the many outlet and boutique stores or stop for a bite to eat at one of over 50 cafes, bars and restaurants.Our apartments and penthouses all feature full kitchen and laundry facilities, air-conditioning, cable TV, internet access and are available with spa baths on request. For extra indulgence our Two Bedroom Penthouse is available and features stainless steel appliances and guaranteed spa bath in the ensuite.Mantra Wings’ premium location is also teamed with excellent resort facilities including our outdoor lagoon pool with grotto, tennis court, Barbeque areas and fully equipped gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mantra Wings reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Wings Surfers Paradise
Mantra Wings Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mantra Wings, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.