We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't fault it - huge rooms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mantra Wings

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Mantra Wings to your Saves list
Mantra Wings
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Cnr Fern St & Gold Coast Hwy | 18 Fern Street, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 58 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Can't fault it - huge rooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Rooms in surfers paradise hotels seem much bigger than anywhere else in the world. We paid around £70 per night here and the rooms were huge. Two bathrooms and toilets. Huge walk in shower, spa bath, two sinks in one bathroom, huge kitchen with all amenities you could need.

Lounge was huge, balcony opened up from living area and bedroom.

Very clean too. Good air conditioning that was powerful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry G, General Manager at Mantra Wings, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Rockfarmer,

Many thanks for your recent posting on trip advisor.

I was pleased to read the review of your recent stay in our resort, I am happy to hear that you found our units to be spacious and with great amenities, they are certainly key features of the units here at Mantra Wings.

Thanks once again for your feedback and I look forward to welcoming you back to the resort in the future

Regards
Kerry Gribble
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    82
    21
    10
    13
See reviews for
100
57
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
nsw
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed here during the Christmas school holidays and honestly it was a total disappointment. After initially entering the room we were mortified with its condition. Stains on the carpet, outdated furniture, rusty air con unit, roadwork/highway views... definitely not what the pictures portrayed. We raised the concerns with reception and were shows a practically identical room on another level. Again we raised the concerns and were ushered up to a beach view room, which was something quite different and more representative if the website images. In saying that the staff should be commended with the way that they handled the concern.

Our total stay was 7 nights. Not once were we brought fresh towels, laundry powder or dish washing liquid, rather we were provided with 2 satchels of each, 1 roll of toilet paper per bathroom for the stay. Very different from our stays at other mantra's. The bedding was uncomfortable, spare blankets required airing as were completely dusty and unusable.

There was no mention of heavy road work and construction being completed in the area and we were woken each morning at 7am by the beeping of reversing heavy machinery.

Given our previous stays in mantra hotels we expected better. We had previously stayed at the mantra circle on Caville and Mantra Ettalong beach and honestly this could not even compare. Granted this establishment is older, however the price and images should reflect this.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry G, General Manager at Mantra Wings, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Dear Tatianna S, Many thanks for you recent posting on Trip Advisor, whilst it is certainly a disappointing review in relation to two of the rooms you viewed it was pleasing to see that the staff were able to find you a room that suited your needs. We are currently in discussions with owners regarding refurbishment of their units with about 50% of owners having already completed a partial refurbishment, this is an ongoing process.
Mantra Wings, like many other of the Mantra properties in the group is self contained and whilst a starter pack is provided on arrival, all additional bathroom & kitchen supplies are at a cost to the guests. I can understand this would be disappointing if you had experienced a stay at a full service property and apologise if we have not met your expectations.
The construction of the light rail in the vicinity of the resort has created some disturbance to many Gold Coast properties and businesses as it is such a large project. However for the most part the construction teams have tried to work in with Hotel Management - unfortunately this program is subject to change and out of the properties control.

Whilst it would seem that the resort has not lived up to your expectations of other Mantra Group properties, I would certainly hope that you give me the opportunity to welcome you back some time in the future.

Regards
Kerry Gribble
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We booked this apartment last minute and was pleasantly surprised. it was a 10 to 15 min. Walk to the main strip of Surfers Paradise and the same for Broadbeach in the other direction. Very clean apartment. There was a smell coming from the bathroom but a friend told us how to fix that problem by throwing a bucket of hot water down the drain. Anyway, we had a lively stay and would stay there again. Everything was newish and well kept.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry G, General Manager at Mantra Wings, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Craso,

Many thanks for your recent posting on trip advisor.

I was pleased to read the review of your recent stay in our resort, it's always nice when someone is pleasantly surprised. My apologies for the smell from the bathroom, I am glad you were able to resolve it relatively quickly.

Thanks once again for your feedback and I look forward to welcoming you back to the resort in the future.

Regards
Kerry Gribble
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaitaia, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Arrived 4 hours before check in time (bad planning on Flight centre) Renee organised room to be ready in 2 hours, hats off to her! Spacious rooms, with 2 air con units. Apartments are not right in central shopping area, about a 10 minute walk from Surfer's but no hassle really. Numerous bus stops made travel relatively easy once directions sorted. Pool was great in the morning but got abit 2 much shade and wind in the afternoon. Spa was delightful. Thankfully the road works outside the complex where rather along the road. Would stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry G, General Manager at Mantra Wings, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Dear Smudgie1,

Many thanks for your recent posting on trip advisor.

I was pleased to read the review of your recent stay in our resort, and was glad to see we were able to organise a room early for you, and I have passed your comments on to Renee who appreciated your feedback.
At different times of the year the wind does increase through some of the pool area, however I am glad you were able to enjoy the pool in the morning.
Thanks once again for your feedback and I look forward to welcoming you back to the resort in the future.

Regards
Kerry Gribble
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Had a great week at Mantra Wings, our room was clean, very spacious and had a decent sized balcony. Pool facilities were great! Only fault would be the gym, maybe the Mantra Wings website could upload more recent photos of the gym as we were under the impression different equipment was available.
Reception was lovely at time of check in, very helpful and polite even when she was constantly interrupted by a rude group next to us.
We would stay here again without a doubt!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry G, General Manager at Mantra Wings, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Kate1709

Many thanks for your recent posting on trip advisor.

I was pleased to read the review of your recent stay in November, it sounds like you managed to make use of most of the facilities which is great to hear. I appreciate your comments on the Gym Imagery and your point is certainly very valid, I wil organise to have the imagery updated.

I have passed your comments onto the Front Desk who are always appreciative of guests feedback.

Thanks once again for your feedback and I look forward to welcoming you back to the resort in the future.

Regards
Kerry Gribble
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Me and my son visited your hotel in october. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay there and will definitely come back again. The room was clean, spacious. We liked having 2 bathrooms. My son especially loved the heated pool. He swam in it it about 4 times a day. We also liked the room service facility that you had although very expensive was well worth it. Thank you to Melissa at reception who was really helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry G, General Manager at Mantra Wings, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Rachel1441

Many thanks for your recent posting on trip advisor.

I was pleased to read the review of your recent stay in October, I am glad to hear you made good use of the Pool, we did have a very hot October so I am sure it didn't take much to tempt your son into the pool.

I have passed your comments onto Melissa who certainly appreciates your feedback..

Thanks once again for your feedback and I look forward to welcoming you back to the resort in the future.

Regards
Kerry Gribble
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Very good service when i arrival. The lady in the reception (forgot her name) was very friendly and helpful. It was the very first time we stay in a Mantra Hotel and Love it. We booked for two nights with the two bedrooms, everything was clean, working and nicely furnished. The pool, spa and the BBQ area was excellent. Also good parking spots underground. The location to the beach was good, just 5 mins walk or so, just slightly a bit far from Surface Paradise but that ok for us. The only problem was there wasn't internet/wifi included into the package, the price and the the download limit internet via Azure is not very good and i find it a rip off, therefore we did not use it. Overall everything was excellent. definitely love to come back again next time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry G, General Manager at Mantra Wings, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Edward T

Many thanks for your recent posting on trip advisor.

I was pleased to read the review of your recent stay at our resort, and even more so to read your comment on our friendly and helpful staff. It seems like you were able to utilise pretty much all of our facilities which is always good to hear and again as many of our Trip Advisor guests have commented on, we are just a short walk to the centre of Surfers.

You make mention of the Wireless provider at the resort, I am happy to note that the provider currently has a team on site conducting an audit for an upgrade of hardware we expect in the very near future.

Thanks once again for your feedback and I look forward to welcoming you back to the resort in the future.

Regards
Kerry Gribble
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mantra Wings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Wings

Address: Cnr Fern St & Gold Coast Hwy | 18 Fern Street, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#6 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#6 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra Wings 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built on the site of the iconic Pink Poodle Motel, Mantra Wings sits midway between Surfers Paradise and the wining and dining hub of Broadbeach. Offering contemporary Surfers Paradise accommodation, Mantra Wings features self-contained One, Two and Three Bedroom Apartments and Two Bedroom Penthouses all with spacious balconies overlooking the Gold Coast and surrounds.Mantra Wings sits just 200 metres from the pristine waters of Surfers Paradise beach and a fifteen minute walk into Cavill Avenue. Here you can spend your days wandering the mall and browsing through the many outlet and boutique stores or stop for a bite to eat at one of over 50 cafes, bars and restaurants.Our apartments and penthouses all feature full kitchen and laundry facilities, air-conditioning, cable TV, internet access and are available with spa baths on request. For extra indulgence our Two Bedroom Penthouse is available and features stainless steel appliances and guaranteed spa bath in the ensuite.Mantra Wings’ premium location is also teamed with excellent resort facilities including our outdoor lagoon pool with grotto, tennis court, Barbeque areas and fully equipped gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mantra Wings reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Wings Surfers Paradise
Mantra Wings Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mantra Wings, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.