We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bright and Noisy” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Aegean Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Aegean Apartments to your Saves list
Aegean Apartments
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   30 Laycock St, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Bright and Noisy”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

On paper this apartment looked pretty good. It was large, with a new TV, couch and fridge, but the cooktop, oven and dishwasher were old and all faulty. The glass topped tables are extremely dangerous for families, with sharp edges right at child head hight. The interior is well past its prime, but that's ok. Advertised as air conditioned, but bedrooms had only ceiling fans, I would not want to be here in summer. Impossibly noisy, we were on the fifth floor and the bar across the street made sleep impossible until early morning (~1 am). Combine that with curtains so thin they didn't block out street light, let alone day light. Most things are forgiveable, but the noise and the blinds mean we would never consider returning.

Room Tip: Find somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    52
    15
    11
    14
See reviews for
73
23
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

If you want cheap and cheerful this is your place! Our room had one Queen (or was it King) bed and two singles. Two bathrooms. A very large living area surrounded by windows (the garden view isn't a garden view by the way - it's more like a building view).

Pros
Nice clean sheets/pillows - no doona just blankets
Spacious
Good location
Price
Indoor heated pool/spa/gym (although I didn't use gym)

Cons
Noise - proximity to road works made it very difficult to sleep (they start work at 7am even on weekends)
The curtains were awful. I went to close mine and all I could smell was dust and had to move beds. I get the feeling the place could use a little make-over.
Reception not manned for long so don't go looking for assistance there!

If you can put up with the fact that it's a little unloved I guess you'll do fine. I'd avoid it until after the road works though and after that I'd advise requesting an upper level apartment because the partygoers keep you awake!

Room Tip: Get one away from the roadworks and up high!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We stayed for three nights in an apartment on the 25th floor with ocean views and it was amazing. We were lucky enough to have a whale breach right in front of the apartment while we were having breakfast. We had read the TA reviews and so when booking we requested a renovated apartment. The living space and balconies were huge and it was fully equipped with everything you could need. The entry foyer is attractive and the location is great with a very short and pleasant walk along the beachfront to the centre of Surfers.

Room Tip: Choose a renovated apartment with ocean views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Stayed with some friends for a long weekend (May 2013), low season so prices were a steal. The apartment was HUGE, amazing balcony (saw a humpback whale breaching for 20 minutes!), nice kitchen and all. The interior design was fine, many have mixed reviews here...these are individual apartments that are rented out through a common office.... EXPECT VARIATIONS!
But, staff was very helpful, just tell them if you aren't happy with anything.

Indoor pool was warm, gym is tiny but does the job off peak hours....

Great location!

Room Tip: Make sure the room has a balcony facing the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

I recently booked The Aegean for a family holiday for my partners birthday, we booked out 3 rooms. We were given 12A, B & C. I handed our family their room keys & I entered my room 12A.... It was HUGE! absolutely amazing! Views of the Ocean & hinterland, very fresh, new carpets, large art work on the walls, 2 bed, 2 bathrooms, fully decked out almost new kitchen, I did have to child proof the room by putting up all the statues & lamps & one sliding door was a little difficult to open but other than that no complaints.

Then I visited the other rooms. They were disgusting! Very dated, dirty & musty!! Doors falling of hinges (it looked as though it had been this way for a very long time!), rusty A/C units on the balcony, doors split (top to bottom) from what looked like being slammed or tugged on while locked, window sills were filthy. I mean they were FILTHY!! I wiped the dust with my finger, my finger was covered in dust & the window was still caked in dust where I had touched, what looked like blood spots on the floor, dirty & dated bathrooms. In 12C You could feel yourself breathing in dust.

Reception were lovely & fixed the things (door & A/C) we asked about pretty quickly. But we still should not have arrived to dirty accomodation especially when we paid almost $200/night per room & that's not the full rate!!

I was also glad I brought my Santa fe, because if we had brought our longer car a Statesman there would be no way we would have fitted in the carpark as there is a small storage shed sharing the space.

Other than that the location is great, quick stroll to the beach, shops & Cavil (Note: IGA is a bit closer than Woolies, Woolies is mentioned in the guest info book).

Room Tip: Always ask for 12A, the only down side is the noise at night & early morning from the traffic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour, Australia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We have stayed the Aegean on several occasions, Yes the rooms are a little tired and could do with a little TLC. But all in all a great place to stay with fantastic views and close to everything that you could need. reception are always more than helpful. We have stayed at several different apartment's on the gold coast but still return to the Aegean as this has always been well ahead on cleanliness and friendliness. You could pay a lot more to receive a lot less Great value

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Great location, great room, great pools!! Family trip for our mums birthday. Could not have asked for more. Will definitely stay there again. Outdoor pool would be nice if heated but spa and heated indoor pool made up for it.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aegean Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aegean Apartments

Address: 30 Laycock St, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 103 Specialty Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Aegean Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
31 levels, 126 spacious two bedroom, fully self-contained apartments. Located 150 metres from Surfers Paradise beach and 200 metres south of Surfers Paradise main street. Tour desk, under cover car park, theme park tickets. Close to a variety of international restaurants. Situated alongside the world's tallest residential building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Aegean Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aegean Apartments Hotel Surfers Paradise
Aegean Hotel Surfers Paradise
Aegean Hotel Apartments
Aegean Apartments Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aegean Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.