We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great resort for short stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Island Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sunset Island Resort to your Saves list
Sunset Island Resort
3 Sunset Boulevard, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great resort for short stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

This resort was fantastic and great price for our 3 night stay over the Gold Coast 600 weekend. we had a two bedroom apartment for 4 people (which also had fold out couch so could have slept more) and it had two bathrooms and two balconys so it was perfect for a two couples scenario! Nice apartment and very clean!It is a 10 minute walk to the main shops, which didn't both us but if you do it 3-4 times a day with the heat some may find it tiring! This is in the backpackers area but we didnt see any noise and it was in a good quiet spot right near the river. The only tiny downside was the Staff werent as friendly as the reviews made them out to be, and the spa/pool closed at 9:00 which was a bit early.I dont think they have a laundry service and provide any extras for long stays but for a short stay i would highly recommend and definitely stay again!!

Room Tip: Room above the pool was very nice to look at and be above the pool but there was no privacy as we co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    22
    8
    4
    9
See reviews for
24
24
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

You will not be disappointed with the rooms if they are all like our's was, nor the facilities and friendly staff. Very good price for quality here. Air conditioned 1 bedroom fully self contained apartment, views, quality kitchen including dishwasher, all Fisher and Paykel appliances except microwave. Didn't need to use the washing machine and dryer but we are sure they wouldn't have disappointed either. Spa, pool, barbie & outdoor dining facilities in beautiful well kept grounds AND.. all within a very comfortable walk (for the 2 of us unfit, over weight nearly 50 year old's) to Cavill Ave and all Surfer's Paradise has to offer and Main Beach. There is a very friendly convenience store a stones throw away on the same street. Although there were people about, it was lovely and quiet and everyone friendly. Although the photo's fairly accurately depicted our room and the facilities, we did want to download our own photo's but unfortunately couldn't figure out how to do it on our new computer. Thank you for helping us have a very enjoyable long weekend, we didn't want to leave d8-)

Room Tip: Don't be afraid to ask any complex's management if it has what you do or don't want eg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

This was our first family holiday with teenagers so you know how picky they are. The Sunset Island Resort was beautiful. The management was very helpful and good to yak to. The pool was cleaned every day and our room was clean and perfect after driving from NSW for 16 hours! I couln't have asked for a better place to stay. This resort should have 5 stars!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

My mother and I had a one-bedroom apartment here for two nights. She had the bedroom, I had a sofabed which was just fine. It was very reasonably priced, clean and comfortable. Excellent value. It is a bit of a hike up to the high life of Surfers' and to the beach, (elderly and children would find it difficult) but it was very nice and quiet, in leafy surrounds. Sue at the desk was pleasant and helpful. We hadn't specified a ground floor room, but my 90 yr old mother couldn't climb stairs and a room was found. Be sure to mention it when booking as there are no lifts. We wanted to stay an extra 45 minutes after checkout time and that wasn't a problem. I took a star off because the heating in the spa wasn't working, but they were fixing that. Some paper towel and/or tissues would have been welcome.

Room Tip: Stairs might make it difficult for some. There are quite steep stairs going up to reception. AC un...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

When we arrived the unfriendliness of the person on reception was a surprise. This was compounded when we discovered that we were on the third floor and there was no lift/elevator (my wife has had a knee replacement and struggles with stairs). The unfriendliness continued when we asked why the A/C didn't work - there was sarcasm but we are from Canberra and found the Gold Coast temprature too warm. The A/C, when it was working, was almost useless as we couldn't set it to a temperature significantly lower than the ambient temperature in the room. Finally, on Saturday afternoon, I wanted to access the WiFi facilities provided by the hotel, but was unable to because Reception was only manned until midday - I rang the number given but their only advice was that I could gain access the following morning by talking to reception (we were leaving at 7:30 the next morning before Reception opened).

Overall, the best things were aerage and the worst were quite inconvenient. Won't be using this service again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

Firstly, I don't usually comment on reviews but I must this time. I don't know how they got a four star rating.
1. The door into the second bedroom couldn't be closed as one of the bed was squeezed in and to long.we had to climb over a bed to get to the window to open drapes.
2. Two plates were "dirty" not at all satisfactory.
3. The location isn't ideal with children as you have to walk past some pretty seedy looking places and hostels. Not nice late at night.
4. The walls must be made of paper. Not nice when you can hear the people in other rooms sneeze and talk and flush the toilet.
And I must say we didn't get that "friendly" vibe from the owners.
Overall a disappointment, won't be staying there again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

We stayed in a 2 bedroom- apartment for 2 nights. Liked a lot- great price, excellent location, very clean and tidy. The place is also quiet. Nice staff.

So, we will definitely come back and I'll recommend it to my friends.

Thank you!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunset Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Island Resort

Address: 3 Sunset Boulevard, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 93 Specialty Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully appointed apartments nestled at the end of Peninsular Drive providing boutique accommodation. The perfect spot to relax by the saltwater pool, or soak in the spa. With the river so close you can take the kids fishing. You will love every minute of your stay with us here at Sunset Island Resort-ideal home away from home, tucked away from the noisy, bustling streets but yet so close to the action...the ideal holiday getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Sunset Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Island Hotel Surfers Paradise
Sunset Island Resort Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.