We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Accommodation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Karana Palms Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Karana Palms Resort to your Saves list
Karana Palms Resort
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   40-42 Tarcoola Crescent | Chevron Island, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Bunbury
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Accommodation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

I have stayed at Karana Palms Resort many times on my visits to the Goldcoast,and now I wont stay anywhere else,great location excellent value nice comfortable clean apartments and Evelyn and Robert are the best hosts,highly recommended.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great,and good secure parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    22
    11
    11
    5
See reviews for
17
39
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Spent a week here and had an overall very good experience. Went with a friend, he slept on the fold out couch and I took the bed which was great. No major problems at all, it is a self service apartment, so once you've run out of whatever they've provided you, you must purchase more (fair enough, $65 a night is nothing!).

The only downside was the cleanliness, there was someone else's hair everywhere (shower, sink, in the bedroom) and we had an ant problem in the kitchen, but it didn't bother us too much.

Foxtel had all the channels we wanted to watch, which was great. The place also has indoor car parking provided free of charge which was a great place to put our rental car.

Literally a 2 minute walk to the middle of surfers which was awesome. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Convenient, quiet, clean, well equipped, apartment, sunny, with big balcony. With a pool/barbecue and secure underground parking,and VERY convenient. It really is an easy walk across the bridge to the main drag of Surfers and beach, and the supermarket is even closer. And did I mention quiet? It is tucked away on an island and very picturesque. With friendly, prompt service, we could not fault it. We have to say we read some of the early reviews after we had booked. No, you dont have to pay for a second toilet roll!! Crazy.

Room Tip: No lift so we asked for the first 2 floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

After staying at this place last September with my husband. I decided to again stay here with my sister and niece during the April school holidays. Rooms very clean and well equipped with all we needed. Kitchen with enough cooking pans and crockery etc. 7 min walk to supermarket and main bus stop. 10 min walk to main shop strip. Quiet location out of the busy high rises. Evelyn and rob the managers very friendly and helpful. Lovely pool and garden area. Price of rooms very reasonable. I will definitely book to stay here on my next trip to the Gold Coast.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadbeach, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Thank you Evelyn & Rob for making our stay so enjoyable. The room was very clean & tidy and had everything we needed. It was great we didn't even need to hire a car the resort is so close to everything. We will be back and also be telling everyone what a lovely little resort you have.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maroochydore, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

Ive never written a review before but since this place was so horrible I thought it would be good to let others know that it is nothing like you see on their website - 2 star at the most.
The room was completely run down.
It was also dirty, especially in the bathroom/toilet.
If your after comfort and somewhere clean this is definitely not the place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We found that the location was one of its best point & we enjoyed the quiet atmosphere, the service was got from management was as good as you would want, overall we had a lovely stay & highly recommend it, for a stay in any thing other than a high-rise, that I am yet to try.

Room Tip: I liked near the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Karana Palms Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karana Palms Resort

Address: 40-42 Tarcoola Crescent | Chevron Island, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 102 Specialty Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Karana Palms Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Karana Palms Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karana Palms Hotel Surfers Paradise
Karana Palms Resort Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Karana Palms Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.