We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hits and misses” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Karana Palms Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Karana Palms Resort to your Saves list
Karana Palms Resort
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   40-42 Tarcoola Crescent | Chevron Island, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Townsville, Australia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Hits and misses”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We stayed during Schoolies as we were seeing a show in Brissie and it was far cheaper to stay on the Gold Coast! However after we made our booking, we were telephoned to check our ages as they didn't take schoolies. Their Wotif entry also states this. However when we arrived they had 3 schoolies groups staying! Not that they were any trouble but it seems inconsistent.

Hits: location - quiet, short walk to Surfers Paradise and Cavill Ave, and the Chevron Island shops in the other direction. Secure parking. Good pool. Spotless BBQ. Well equipped for a self contained stay. Lots of Foxtel channels provided. Starter pack of tea/coffee/sugar/detergent etc provided.

Misses: furniture a bit tired.Carpet has seen better days. Hairs in shower. Bathroom window rotting. No bathmat provided. No fan in bathroom. Dryer broken (the door was sitting on top of the washing machine!). Balcony sliding door about to fall out.

Overall the price is good and it's a nice quiet spot, but if it hadn't been Schoolies I'm sure other more modern options would've been available. It is just a bit tired but certainly good enough for a budget stay.

Room Tip: Front rooms overlook the pool, we had a side room which overlooked a number of the neighbours - whic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    22
    11
    11
    5
See reviews for
17
39
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We love Karana Palms. The location is fantastic an easy walk to patroled beach and all the attractions and restaurants in Surfers Paradise. The pool and BBQ area was great for children and parents. Very quiet and secure at night. The most helpful and freindly Management ever, nothing ever too much trouble. We have booked to come back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beerwah, Queensland, Australia
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

After paying for 4 nights we arrived to a filthy apartment with rude management.
Wall connections were hanging from wires out of the wall, chipped glass table, light switches were broken, balcony was riddled with cockroaches and all plants throughout the apartment were dead.
We were woken on the first night at 3am by a young man trying to break in through the balcony door, we were lucky the police acted to swiftly. There is no privacy at all while sitting on balconies.
After complaining we were told if we didn't like it then we were to leave, so we were given the hassle of finding and paying for another place.
DON'T STAY HERE! save your money and stay somewhere nice and safe.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

stayed here back in July 2012 with a friend. It had all the amenties i needed but was a little small. After staying in surfers again in october 2012 i have stayed somewhere else which was about $70 per night which is alot better in the self conatined style accomidation. Karana Palms is very close to surfers which is really good if you dont have a car with you. The hotel management were friendly. It was fairly clean however i did see one roach crawl out of my cupboard theres no dishwasher which was a bit of a bummer. Overall it was a good experience.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunbury, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We stayed for 10 days and were very happy with the apartments they had everything we needed including foxtel for the kids to watch after long days site seeing. The location is fantastic and in walking distance to the shops, beach and several attractions. The management staff were extremely helpful and very friendly they made our trip more enjoyable and went out of their way for us on several occasions during our stay fixing several mistakes made by our not so good travel agent. Recommend to everyone visiting Surfer's Paradise

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed at Karana Palms resort for 2 nights on 15/16 September 2012, stayed so many times on the gold coast, staying in this location didn't realise it was so close to the beach, just a few minutes walk over the bridge which is very pleasant, then a few minutes up the road and you are at the beach so close, the most 10 minute walk to Cavil Avenue, The facilities were excellent, the apartment was really clean and very comfortable, for the price this is very good value and I would defiantly stay again, the staff were there whenever you needed them, and very friendly they really make you feel at home. If you want to go for a lovely breakfast they have a few cafes and cloths shops on Chevron Island just 5 mins walk the opposite way from the bridge, great cafe not sure of the name you can't miss it just on the corner, great coffee and fab breakfast, and not expensive. Great place, and only a 20 minute bus trip to the Theme Parks and Coolangatta Airport.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We have spent 3 nights at Karana Palms and were very happy with the apartment. It has everything we need for a short holiday. The staffs were very friendly and helpful. The location is excellent, close to everything but quiet for sleeping.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Karana Palms Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karana Palms Resort

Address: 40-42 Tarcoola Crescent | Chevron Island, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 102 Specialty Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Karana Palms Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Karana Palms Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karana Palms Hotel Surfers Paradise
Karana Palms Resort Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Karana Palms Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.