We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“enjoyable meal” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Coast Steak & Seafood

Coast Steak & Seafood
Palm Avenue, Surfers Paradise, Queensland, Australia
Improve this listing
Ranked #161 of 277 Restaurants in Surfers Paradise
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Tweed Heads, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“enjoyable meal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

we were happy with our meal - salmon was cooked to our liking - the setting lets this restaurant down - on arriving it looks like a café - the signs hanging near the counter advertising icecreams for sale ala "Peter's or Street's " style brings this place down from being a restaurant to the corner 7 /11.
But we did enjoy our meal, though we wouldn't consider it for a special occasion as you are sitting in an open foyer watching the hotel patrons running passed in their gym gear or bathing costumes to get to the pool. We also had a problem understanding the waitress who spoke scattered broken English.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    10
    11
    6
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“CAVERNOUS... NO CHARACTER but good food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We had lunch here last Friday, and were the only people in the restaurant, as it was off season. Anyway, that aside I believe it would've had no atmostphere even if full as the space it is in is the foyer of the large Crowne Resort at Surfers Paradise. The service was nice, but nothing special. The food was lovely.... the fish my parnter had was devine.... but my salmon was obviously frozen before it was cooked.
For what it was it was pricey. I wouldn't pay that amount if I'd comein off the street.
We only ate here because we had a Scoopon.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good food lousy atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

Our meal began with supermarket garlic breal so I wasn't expecting much from the salmon and steak we ordered. I was pleasantly surprised by our perfectly cooked and delicious mains. It's not a restaurant we will return to for 2 reasons 1. The unforgivable garlic bread and 2. There is really no atmosphere to speak Of. Staff were setting up for breakfast while we ate out meal and they were moving tabes around us.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wingham, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Soooo Good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We loved our visits to Coast Steak and Seafood when staying at Crown Towers. From having a top coffee to a formal meal waterside, the food was superb and the location exquisite. We loved the personalised service from the owner to the delightful attention from the day time staff. This is such a great alternative to the Thai just outside. We also had an evening meal take out to our room was was also just great. Don't miss an evening by the water features!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Coast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We ate breakfast there each day and it was good food but service was a little variable in terms of getting orders right and timing. Also portions could be a little large and most options weren't too healthy.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coast Steak & Seafood also viewed

 
Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast
 

Been to Coast Steak & Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coast Steak & Seafood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.