We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant place for family” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Surfers Plaza Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Surfers Plaza Resort to your Saves list
Surfers Plaza Resort
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   70 Remembrance Drive, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia (Formerly BreakFree Surfers Plaza Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Pleasant place for family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

While the place may be a bit dated, it is clean and has the usual facilities such as air con, kitchen, dish washer, washing machine and dryer, etc. There is security as entry and exit requires the use of a tag. The location is very good, along the main road, yet minutes walk to the beach and Cavil Avenue - near enough but not directly in the midst of retail (noise) shops and bars like some other establishment. So safety is much better than the rest.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    6
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
5
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

Firstly leaking hot water in shower had to be relocated to another room.
Rooms are not decorated as shown on the brochure/site. Very old microwave, dishwasher etc.
Pool was closed. spa in apartment did not operate.
Curtains quite dirty. Old blind cords tracks still in room. Mattresses on twin bed needs replacement.

The only plus was the rooms were clean, staff very friendly & helpful. Good location.

Overall very disappointing, certainly didn't get what we paid for would not recommend unless rooms refurbished.



  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

Customer service was excellent, room clean but 1st apartment we were booked into (1510) the hot water in the bathroom didn't turn off so we were moved to apartment 811, the spa didn't work in that room. Both were very dated

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surfplaza, Manager at Surfers Plaza Resort, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
We value your comments and are working relentlessly to bring this apartment into the 21st century! Also wanted to thank you for bringing the issues that arose to our attention enabling us to resolve accordingly. Love to see you back again for a re-evaluation on your next trip to the Gold Coast. Thanks for staying - Viv & Dennis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

Not a big fan on writing reviews for places that I stay at but this definitely deserves the utmost compliment. It was very clean, location, it's close to everything that you need on your short/long term stay. It's the perfect stay for families, couples and singles. The receptionist team is very lovely, a special thanks to Vivian for making us feel welcome. I would HIGHLY RECOMMEND this place to all my friends and family as it would be the perfect location and a very short stroll to the beach. Definitely booking my next stay here again in the next couple of weeks.

Thank you Surfers Plaza Resort. You have made a new friend and also a new regular customer.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surfplaza, Manager at Surfers Plaza Resort, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thanks for your wonderful feedback - we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Surfers Paradise. Viv & Dennis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Brisbane
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We only one day/night to dedicate to Surfers and all of us had been there many years previously so we wanted something reasonably priced and central.. This was it great staff, excellent location and a very easy place to stay. Great spacious apartments and fully self contained and they are beautifully maintained

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surfplaza, Manager at Surfers Plaza Resort, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thanks for your feedback - we'd love to see you again for a longer stay! Viv & Dennis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

At such an amazing rate I wasn't expecting such an amazing apartment but it blew me away. Stayed in room 1407, 2 bedroom apartment for 9 nights and couldn't have asked for more. So spacious, perfect for my 2 kids, my husband and myself. Fully equipped kitchen including a dishwasher. 2 bathrooms which was nice surprise and a spa in the main bathroom and washer and dryer in the other which were a nice surprise. All modern furniture and spotlessly clean. The staff were so friendly and helpful, bus stop right on our doorstep, and cavil ave just a few minutes away. Perfect location, amazing views and a beautiful room. We went in the hotel spa everyday on level 3 as well, the kids loved it. Very child friendly. Definitely going back again, highly recommend to all. Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

Traveling with young kids and being away from home and our local delicacies, a good fully-equipped accommodation esp kitchen, is definitely a must. Surfers Plaza Resort is not only a good option but an excellent one too! Bus stop is just steps away so does Cavill Ave, the heart of Surfers Paradise. There is an onsite car park and security at night had put us at ease.

Our apartment 401 might not have a good scenery like those at 1407, but it was fine for us. For the budget, the apartment was spacious and airy indeed. But being there during winter without heater in the apartment and being us, coming frm all year round sunny Singapore, it was difficult indeed. We, especially the kids, were shivering on the first night when the temp dropped to 7deg. Eventually the cute little heater came the day after, after we asked for it. The apartment was large that the cute tiny heater couldn't do justice. So we ended up placing the heater in the kids room and bunked in together with the kids. It was fine for us though.

The overall cleanliness is excellent. The mattresses/bed though can be a bit better. Not sure how long the apartment were left empty before we came or how long ago it was properly sanitized, but the kids were scratching all over when sleeping on the bed and also after waking up, before their shower. Indeed, the kids have sensitive skin and allergy to dust mite n others. My husband too felt some tingling/itchiness. Perhaps it was just apartment 401 or perhaps we were not used to the weather and fully carpeted accommodation or perhaps we indeed have sensitive skin?! But other than that, it was an excellent stay.

The two bathrooms were very clean. Water pressure was excellent. Washer/dryer/iron were functioning well. Kitchen was really clean too. It could have been much better if some of the over-used cooking utensils were replaced. Other than that, being someone who loves cooking very much, I was a happy cook while we were there! The kids were happy too to be able to get our local home cooked food there! :) Thanks to the fully equipped and functioning kitchen!

Location wise was excellent. Near to all the happening spots/attractions but far enough from all the noise and crowds. After hour check-in at nearly 2am was a breeze and checking out was no fuss at all! Thanks to Vivienne for her excellent customer service and very prompt reply even in emails while we were still in SG. It was a family friendly apartment, very inviting, cozy and friendly service. An excellent stay overall.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Surfers Plaza Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfers Plaza Resort

Address: 70 Remembrance Drive, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia (Formerly BreakFree Surfers Plaza Resort)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 102 Specialty Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Surfers Plaza Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surfers Plaza ResortWhere paradise doesn’t cost the earth.Surfers Plaza Resort is centrally located in the heart of Surfers Paradise and is just a short stroll to all the attractions. Leave the car and take a leisurely walk to the cafes, restaurants, shops, the fantastic nightlife and the fabulous Surfers Paradise Beach.The resort offers a range of one and two bedroom self-contained apartments with stunning views of the Gold Coast waterways and hinterland, offering comfort and convenience for your Gold Coast holiday.Facilities include a heated outdoor pool, BBQ area, indoor spa pool and sauna and secure undercover parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Surfers Plaza Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfers Plaza Resort Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surfers Plaza Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.