We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful staff with lovely smile!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Surfers Paradise YHA at Main Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Surfers Paradise YHA at Main Beach to your Saves list
Surfers Paradise YHA at Main Beach
Mariners Cove, 70 Seaworld Drive, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Helpful staff with lovely smile!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2010

Stayed at YHA Surfers Paradise on 21 April to 24 April. Can't forget Ms Tamaran's (YHA staff) smilling face and warm welcome, A small backpacker hostel as compared with others YHA hostels, but it has everything you need, for sure you will enjoy the stay.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    18
    21
    6
    1
See reviews for
1
8
18
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derbyshire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2009

This was the third YHA we stayed in during our visit to Oz and we were greeted by a courtesy bus to pick us up from the greyhound stop. If we hadn't been we certainly wouldn't have gone there because it is so far out of town. This makes it not an ideal choice unless you prefer the marina environment. As for the YHA itself, the staff are helpful and the site is very secure. The rooms are a bit tight but well cleaned. The shower area is strangely sited near the kitchen end of the hostel and the kithcen gets rather busy and congested.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2005

Great stay whilst in Surfers Paradise. Everything about this place was laid back right down to their friendly staff. Nightly outings to the clubs, thats if you can be bothered to leave their own pub on the waterfront. Wish I was back there now!

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2005

Originally booked for 2 nights here, stayed a week. Excellent facilities, good location, nice rooms--though the TV room stank of sweaty backpackers--and the staff were nice enough when taking your money, but a bit grumpy at all other times...CHEER UP! YOU LIVE IN THE NICEST PLACE IN THE WORLD....SMILE!!!

Never mind all that though, the Swedish girl who drove the bus was enough for me, she was gorgeous and chatty, very friendly indeed!

All in all a 4/5 stay, i recommend it to anyone

Stayed May 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2004

What an awesome waterfront hostel! Luxury boats, bars, restaurants and shops all around, and the beach just across the road. Just the best position, great kitchen and chill-out facilities, but the best thing is the friendly, party atmoshphere.

The staff and owner are so friendly and helpful - plenty of things to do, free bus into town with many organized club crawls and party nights. Free bicycles, boogie boards and fishing rods for something to do when not on tours or watersports (great discounts for backpackers).

They even published my comments in their online guest book and I can see myself in the club crawl photos.

Thanks British Arms, you made my stay in Australia fantastic. To Ross, Ritchie and the staff - you run the best backpacker hostel in Australia for sure!!

  • Stayed June 2004
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2004

Wow, I'm impressed!

Last time I stayed, the management was lousy and ruined the positive aspectss of the hostel, but the new owner and staff make the British Arms one of the best backpacker resorts I've been to. It's just so friendly!

I love the position - beautiful boats everywhere, the beach across the road and there's a new hotel (Aussies say 'pub') right next door that rocks.

Being a diver into most watersports, the backpacker deals on the marina saved me heaps, and I got to swim with live sharks at Seaworld - unreal! I even stood up on a surfboard on my first lesson.

But the best things about the actual hostel would have to be 1. the friendly staff who party hard, keep the place spotlessly clean, drive you to the night clubs and do almost anything to make guests happy.....
2. the new air-conditioned kitchen with lots of appliances and stuff for cooking
3. the free bus and all the other free stuff like fishing rods, bikes (there's an awesome bike track along the beach) and boogie boards.

The worst thing is having to move on. The friendly party atmosphere and all the luxury is hard to leave.







Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2004

was only supossed to stay for 2 day's ended up being there for two weeks . the staff were friendly and helpful . the new managment has done a great job of cleaning the place up . the new kitchen , internet facilities are very convienient. thefrequent trips to town make the out of town location a non issue . i would reccomend you come here and check this place out

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Surfers Paradise YHA at Main Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfers Paradise YHA at Main Beach

Address: Mariners Cove, 70 Seaworld Drive, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 101 Specialty Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is something for every backpacker at Surfers Paradise YHA hostel; white sandy beaches, 24 hour shopping, theme parks (Seaworld down the road) and national parks, adrenalin kicks on the ground, in the air and underwater, city sights and rainforest hinterland. Surfers Paradise is all about action, excitement and adventure! The tour desk at Surfers Paradise YHA can help organise all your tours and activites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Surfers Paradise YHA at Main Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfers Paradise Yha At Main Beach Hotel Surfers Paradise
Surfers Paradise YHA At Main Beach Gold Coast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surfers Paradise YHA at Main Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.