We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great View, Helpful Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Breakfree Longbeach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Breakfree Longbeach Resort to your Saves list
Breakfree Longbeach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   28 Northcliffe Terrace, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 58 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great View, Helpful Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

This was not the first time we have stayed at the breakfree. The Front desk staff are always helpful, I can not thank Ben enough for helping us on check in and giving us two wonderful apartments. The apartments were very clean and both had excellent views of the surfers beach. The long beach is situated in a fantastic spot just one or two blocks from the main part of surfers, in the other direction there are lots of restaurants and surf club to dine at! Overall great location, value for money will be going back again! Thanks for the stay :)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IMPMANAGER, General Manager at Breakfree Longbeach Resort, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you for your recent feedback. we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back to BreakFree longbeach when you next return to the Gold Coast. Kind Regards BreakFree Management and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    41
    20
    7
    9
See reviews for
49
40
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Solihull, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Great Location short walk to both the beach and the central shopping area. We were expecting to stay in a modern apartment, however ours was very traditional , on discussing this with reception we were advised that the apartments are owned individually and therefore decorated to the owners taste. Our apartment had the most stunning views which was the main attraction of our room . There was every utensil you could think of for self catering and there were some chairs provided that you could take and use on the beach which was appreciated. Overall the apartment was tired , needed refurbishment to freshen it up. This was also reflected in the general areas of the hotel -in my opinion the hotel needs refurbishment and modernisation .

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IMPMANAGER, General Manager at Breakfree Longbeach Resort, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feed back on your recent stay. The Resort is thirty years old and so is not as modern as the new ones, but overall has been well maintained. We are glad that you liked the location and views. Regards BreakFree Longbeach Management and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

great location as it is only short walk to beach and main shopping area. However, if you value your money then stay somewhere else. Upon arrival one staff member told us a $100 deposit was required which would be returned on checkout which was no dramas. But on check out another staff member told us it would be returned in 5 days and gave contradictory information about the deposit to first staff member.

Our room had grotty scuffed and stained walls. All the blind mechanisms were broken and when the blinds did come down, they were stained and dirty. The toilet seat was broken in one room and the utensils plastic tray was disgusting, dirty and had what looked like cigarette burns in it. All utensils felt furry. Plaster cracks all through apartment and 40cm of ceiling cornice was hanging down. Reception also had holes in ceiling plaster?????? We had no information book in our room and when I asked for one, was told it would be there shortly. After 40 min. I went downstairs to get it and the staff member obviously forgot but told me it was coming. He rang me ten minutes later to say he doesn't have one but one would come tomorrow. 4 days later it arrived after numerous asking on my behalf. All reception staff were rude, grumpy and unhelpful. Even buying tickets for attractions was a saga for them so just go direct. Cleaner/groundsman was friendly though.

Comes across as a place that has been resting on its past laurels or success for the past 10 years while newer and nicer places have opened. The room was practical but just disgusting with the nicer touches all missing. Even the sliding robe door tracks were just full of grime and mould. Tiles were filthy in bathroom too.

Keep your money as you can get better value elsewhere. It is over priced for what it is and I expected better for what we paid.

However, room was practical and location was good. But I wont be telling others to stay there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IMPMANAGER, General Manager at Breakfree Longbeach Resort, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
I apologise we didn't meet your expectations. We aim to make everyone's stay at BreakFree Longbeach a comfortable and enjoyable experience. We're committed to providing the best possible accommodation and service so I've taken your review on board to help us improve our day to day operations. In regard to the Security Bond taken on arrival, if it is in cash it is refunded once your room has been inspected on departure or if by credit card the bank automatically release the hold on this within seven working days. Regards Management and Staff BreakFree Longbeach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

My best friend and I stayed at Breakfree Longbeach earlier this year, in the Summer season (which actually ended up being the rainiest week of summer!)
While our view was stunning and the location great (quick walk into town), our room was in SERIOUS need of some attention.
In our room one of the blinds was broken, and there was mould on the walls behind. In the bathroom there were dirty fingermarks on the sides of the sink cupboard and on the inside of the overhead cupboard. Also, the dishes in the kitchen cupboard were dirty and the dish brush was full of some strange smelling bright orange stuff (some type of curry maybe?). The outside light on our balcony was smashed and didn't work and our dryer didn't work? However, the worst part of it all is yet to come......there was a pair of WORN lace underwear in the side of the couch (I'm guessing from the previous guest). How did the cleaners not find this?? After this we found there were also chips, lollies, rubbish etc shoved down the side of the couch cushions. We called the reception to remove the underwear, a lady came up and removed it with a laugh and 'that's not what you want to find on holiday', not even a sincere apology? Disappointing, would stay somewhere else in future.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IMPMANAGER, Manager at Breakfree Longbeach Resort, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Thank you for your time in addressing your concerns on Trip Advisor. We apologise that you had an issue with some of the housekeeping in your apartment and the way in which this was dealt with. I have spoken to Housekeeping about your concerns and the need for them to keep the apartments to our required standard. Kind Regards BreakFree Longbeach Management & Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here because of location and because it has a Pool and Gym. Back on the 28th March a guest mentioned that the controls were broken on all the Gym equipment. The General Manager of the hotel responded and thanked her for bringing it to his attention and claimed a maintenance contractor regularly repaired all the equipment. Well this is clearly not true and as the controls are missing altogether it is obvious the equipment will never be repaired. The gym is useless. Dont stay here if you want a gym. Otherwise a great property.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IMPMANAGER, Manager at Breakfree Longbeach Resort, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. All the equipment in the Gym is working except with some of them the computerised componants that record the distance that you have gone of the calaries that you have used are not. We are currently waiting on new walkers and excercyle to arrive. We are pleased that otherwise you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to the Gold Coast. Kind Regards BreakFree Longbeach Management and Staff,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yamba NSW
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Whilst visiting Breakfree Longbeach Resort with my family, we were taken care of and made to feel very welcome. Management and staff were very pleasant and courteous to all our needs.
The Resort is within walking distance to the beach and Cavil Mall. The gym, pool and BBQ area were very user friendly.
Look forward to a longer stay next time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan r, General Manager at Breakfree Longbeach Resort, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review. We are thrilled that you had a good stay with us here at Breakfree Longbeach. Our aim is to provide an excellent holiday experience for our guests. Having great ocean views and facilities certainly helps. We look forward to having you back when you are next on the Gold Coast
Regards
Jan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Excellent location, easy walk to Centro & Cavill Mall along beach. Close to public transport all the way to the Gold Coast Airport. Great value 1 bedroom (very good sized) apartment with all facilities and fully equipped kitchen. All the comforts of home. Clean with comfortable king bed and lounge. We had a great view directly onto the beach with balcony. Very helpful staff. We arrived after hours and was easy to gain access. Will be visiting again for sure.

Room Tip: I would expect all rooms would be great. You get ocean sounds but it is light during the evening as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan r, General Manager at Breakfree Longbeach Resort, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for taking your valuable time to write a review on trip advisor.
We are thrilled that you had a good holiday and that our facilities and service met your expectations. We do pride ourselves on our good customer’s service value for money and great facilities. I will definitely pass on your comments to the team. It is always very encouraging for us to receive good feedback.
Kind regards
Jan Rennie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Breakfree Longbeach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breakfree Longbeach Resort

Address: 28 Northcliffe Terrace, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#9 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Breakfree Longbeach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Breakfree Longbeach Resort offers 62 superior airconditioned, self contained apartments overlooking Surfers Paradise Beach. This popular hi rise resort has been a favourite for some time and has just recently totally refurbished to the facilities, standard and excitement of a brand new resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Breakfree Longbeach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakfree Longbeach Hotel Surfers Paradise
Breakfree Longbeach Resort Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Breakfree Longbeach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.