We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Tad Disappointing, Better to be Had Elsewhere” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Breakfree Longbeach Resort

Save Saved
You added Breakfree Longbeach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Hotels.com
and 7 more sites!
Breakfree Longbeach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   28 Northcliffe Terrace, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A Tad Disappointing, Better to be Had Elsewhere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Have just spent 3 nights here on the 4th floor in a 1 bedroom apartment. We arrived after hours and check in was great, very easy. Our apartment was nice enough, however very very very noisy from the street traffic and people. Our jug did not work (had to ask twice for a replacement), our toilet continued to run water, the washing machine needed a helping hand, but the biggest disappointment of all was the tv. We could not get Foxtel. We asked for help a lot but no one seemed to be able to help. On check out the receptionist did confide that "we have always had trouble with that room - can't seem to be able to get Foxtel no matter how hard we try". So they knew this all the time but did not confess to us, feel a little ripped off over this! We were expecting great ocean views (from previous comments and hotel jargon) but once again was very let down. So my recommendation is you could definately do better in Surfers.

Room Tip: Ask for as high up as you can get if you must stay here, and ask for a room where Foxtel actually wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan r, General Manager at Breakfree Longbeach Resort, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to send us a review to trip advisor. We appreciate your feed back, and our aim is to provide a good experience for our guests.
I have taken note of all your comments, and will certainly be working to make sure all these issues are dealt with.
I am sorry you were a bit disappointed with your stay and should you ever return to the Gold Coast please contact us directly and I will make sure you have a better experience.
Jan Rennie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    44
    31
    18
    7
    7
See reviews for
43
31
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, Queensland, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Very much just a 3 star place. The apartment we stayed in was clean on the surface however the bathroom shower (at least in the ensuite) was covered in grime and needed a good clean. The apartments aren't serviced daily so you didn't see staff. However the staff we did encounter were friendly and were happy to give advice.
The inside pool was heated but we did find quite a lot of hair in the water so we got out of the water very quickly.
The views we had were great, we even got a glimpse of a whale or two. At night leaving the balcony doors open you could hear the crashing of waves. It was about a ten minute walk to Cavell Ave.
It was extremely good value though we only paid $130 per night so it is affordable. In summer you could excuse the pool to favour the beach but in spring a heated pool is still sometimes needed.
Rooms do need updating and the bed we had in the master bedroom was very uncomfortable, I ended up sleeping on the lounge on the 2nd and 3rd night of our stay.

Room Tip: Make sure you request a room with air-conditioning (ours needed updating and didn't work). Also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan r, General Manager at Breakfree Longbeach Resort, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Thank you for your review on trip advisor. Cleanliness is a priority with us at Breakfree Longbeach and I apologise that you did you find your en suite up to standard. If reported to reception we would be happy to send the house keepers up to re-clean for you. As self contained apartments our units are not serviced daily but if you stay for 8 days or longer we do a mid stay service. The views from the apartments are amazing and at the moment with the whales migrating we do often get glimpses of them frolicking in the waters. As all the units are privately owned we are constantly working with owners to upgrade their units.
I apologise that you found hair in the heated pool. It is cleaned daily and kept up to all the council approved standards. Again it is something we would like to rectify immediately if reported to the office.

Jan Rennie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Got a 2 bedroom appartment on Wotif for $103/night. Best value accommodation I have ever found. They describe it as 180 degree views which I was a bit sceptical about but it really is! It's also about 50 meters from the beach and so is wonderful to sleep st night with the doors open and listen to the waves crashing. We were fortunate to be put on floor 20 which meant we were high enough that we could barely hear the street traffic below with the doors open but still received the full stereo sound of breaking surf. After reading other reviews on here we requested an updated room with air conditioning. Definitely make sure you do this. Even in early spring the aircon gets used when you receive the full rays of the morning sun being perched directly on the eastern seaboard. The room was also meant to be updated and whilst it was fine if this is updated I'd hate to see the older rooms! That being said it was comfortable, very spacious and clean but a bit dated and tired. But for the price we were thrilled with the quality. Just be aware that you need to clean the dishes upon vacating if you want to avoid a $25 fee. On our next visit to the Gold Coast, if we didn't stay here it would only be because as a family we feel that somewhere other than Surfers Paradise might be more suitable for us. But if you want to stay in the heart of Surfers with the beach at your door for very little money look no further than this.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan r, General Manager at Breakfree Longbeach Resort, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Thank you for your review on trip advisor.
We are lucky to have such wonderful views from all our units, and being so close to the beach is a real bonus. Definitely listening to the breaking surf and watching the sun rise are all part of the perfect holiday experience.
We would love to welcome at Breakfree Longbeach when you next visit to the Gold Coast
Jan Rennie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed at The Longbeach Resort, Gold Coast, for the first time and what a wonderful experience we had there.usually we holiday overseas and used to accommodation of a high standard. The Longbeach lived up to our expectations.The service from Jan and her staff was excellent, and their advice about things to do and places to eat was invaluable.The facilities are maintained to a very high standard, the barbecue area and pool very sparkling.The view from our room was incredible, watching the sunset with a glass of savignon blanc really relaxed us and added to the holiday.Even though Surfers is just down the road, we were never disturbed by traffic noise or hoons.
We will be back again and again, thanks to everyone.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan r, General Manager at Breakfree Longbeach Resort, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Thank you for your review on trip advisor. We are thrilled that you had a good experience at Breakfree Longbeach. Good service and cleanliness are priorities with us and I am glad that had a good experience with us. There are lovely restaurants and cafes close by, and we are always happy to give advice on goods places to eat. Surfers Paradise is very multi cultural, and we have lots of different cuisines available within walking distance.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to the Gold Coast
Jan Rennie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We had a great family getaway holiday at the Longbeach Resort. We stayed in a very comfortable two bedroom apartment, tastefully furnished, well equipped with a spectacular sea views on one side and city and mountains on the other. Jan and her Reception team provided a very friendly welcome and went out of their way to make our family holiday a very memorable one. Lovely clean BBQ area for entertaining and well maintained indoor and outdoor swimming pools.

Room Tip: Corner suits are large and sunny and also have a balcony at the front and back
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan r, General Manager at Breakfree Longbeach Resort, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review Breakfree Longbeach.
Our units are lovely and spacious and great for families. Most families enjoy having the option of a well equipped kitchen so they can do their own catering, but the option of so many great restaurants and cafes within a block of the resort if they don’t feel like cooking. It is good to have your hard work noticed and I will pass on your comments about the cleanliness to the staff.
Thanks again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to the Gold Coast
Jan Rennie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore City, null, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

This apartment has all the important utilities. The staff was amazing and friendly and I for one is a firm believer of good service. Hannah made our stay definitely a memorable one. She was willing to go the extra mile to ensure we got what we wanted.

The location is convenient to the malls and great food and entertainment. The greatest highlight of our stay was watching the sun rise from our balcony. The image will be embedded in our memories for life!

P.S
Hope you like our card and gummies :)

Room Tip: Definitely try to have a high floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan r, General Manager at Breakfree Longbeach Resort, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Thank you for your great review. We really appreciate that you took the time out to write on trip advisor about your stay at Breakfree Longbeach. We are thrilled that you had a great stay with us and that you had such good service. Like your selves service to us is very important and ensuring that our guests are well look after and made to feel welcome is our top priority. We feel we are in the perfect spot. As you mentioned fantastic views, watching the whales and the sun rise are magical experiences. Being 4 blocks from the hub of Surfers Paradise, puts us far enough to be away from the noise but close enough to have all the great cafes and restaurants right on our door step.
We hope you will return and stay with us here at Breakfree Longbeach on your next trip to the Gold Coast. Hannah said thanks for the card and gummy lollies!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We are regular visitors to the Gold Coast. The combination of the staff, the location and the facilities at Longbeach keep us coming back time and time again. Our next visit will be about our 10th visit to the facility. We have stayed in several of the units and we have yet to be disappointed with the quality of the facilities. There is nothing quite like waking up in the mornings with views of the beach and the sound of the waves. The front office staff are extremely accomodating. Nothing is too much effort and nothing is too hard. We usually arrive after hours and the office staff have always been able to arrange for convinient after hours arrivals. This makes the transition into holiday mode absolutely seamless. Longbeach is close enough to Cavill Avenue (about 3 or 4 blocks) to be part of the activities but also just far enough away to enjoy all that Surfers beaches have to offer. It has to be good, we keep going back time and time again. Keep up the good work.

Room Tip: The views of the beach are spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan r, General Manager at Breakfree Longbeach Resort, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review Breakfree Longbeach. Friendly service is a strong focus for us and I am thrilled that our staff delivered this. I will pass on your comments, and I am sure they will appreciate the recognition of their hard work. We are very lucky that all our units face the ocean and have wonderful views. It is great being just 4 blocks from Cavill Ave and all the restaurants and cafes, without being right in the middle of all the hustle and bustle. We look forward to welcoming you back for your next visit to the Gold Coast.
Jan Rennie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Breakfree Longbeach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breakfree Longbeach Resort

Also Known As:
Breakfree Longbeach Hotel Surfers Paradise
Breakfree Longbeach Hotel
Breakfree Longbeach Resort Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise
Address: 28 Northcliffe Terrace, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Breakfree Longbeach Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Breakfree Longbeach Resort offers 62 superior airconditioned, self contained apartments overlooking Surfers Paradise Beach. This popular hi rise resort has been a favourite for some time and has just recently totally refurbished to the facilities, standard and excitement of a brand new resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Breakfree Longbeach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Breakfree Longbeach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.