We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Iron burns remain” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Australis Sovereign Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Australis Sovereign Hotel to your Saves list
Australis Sovereign Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   138 Ferny Avenue, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 58 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Iron burns remain”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Blakeysgirls from july 2013 we just left the same room as you stayed in. Carpet still has iron burns all over it in both the lounge and bedroom. Comfortable beds restaurant absolutely shocking over priced and not much 'flavor'

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager_sovereign, Assistant Manager at Australis Sovereign Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of Australis Sovereign Hotel.

I was most disappointed to read that you had not enjoyed your stay as much as we would have liked you to. I will be discussing all of your comments with all departments and we will be thoroughly investigating your concerns.

Once again thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback and I can assure you all feedback is taken very seriously and we are constantly working to improve our hotel, in fact we have now replace 75% off the rooms with new carpet with the remaining rooms due to be completed in the near future.

Kind regards,

Rachel Condell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    136
    96
    51
    39
See reviews for
102
159
22
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

We stayed at this hotel over Easter, our one bedroom apartment faced north west, we have a couple of complaints, you have to pay $1.00 each for a pool towel (although we had just spent close to $100 in the restaurant for lunch around the pool) then asked for 2 new dry room towels, to be told that they would also be $1.00 each..... We dined in the restaurant on 2 of the evenings, and the food & service was fantastic,our compliments to the czech chef, the food was very good quality... after dinner on the first night, I asked for a cup of ice to take back to our room, to be told I could buy a small bag for $2.00. We were very dissapointed in all the little added extras the hotel tried to charge us for.... little things that one would think would automatically come with the room. We would stay here again... in the hope that management would get rid of all the little extra fees.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager_sovereign, Assistant Manager at Australis Sovereign Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete the guest’s survey in relation to your stay at Australis Sovereign Hotel. It is guest participation such as yours that enormously assists the hotel in controlling service standards to ensure all our guests experience our very high standards and we take onboard your comments regarding extra fees.

Once again thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback and I can assure you all feedback is taken very seriously and we are constantly working to improve our hotel.

Kind regards,

Rachel Condell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa, Australia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Firstly let me start by saying we booked on the Thursday night before staying on Easter Saturday so it is possible we booked the last available room on the Gold Coast and so maybe we shouldn't have expected too much.

Well the room was Level 1 in the north "tower" with scenic views of the waste disposal units and loading docks of of the Marriott next door. The air conditioning was loud, think having a small tractor in your room and you have some idea of the noise.

Three of us were using the room - Queen size and two singles - why only two towels? It was no surprise we were coming so why not have the correct number of towels. Linen on the queen size didn't fit which was an unusual problem, having never seen that before.

The plasterboard/drywall at the head of the bed was shattered but given how easily the bed moved around that should not be a surprise.

Bathroom - water damage to vanity, mould in between tiles, broken plasterboard and the shower over spray saturated the toilet roll. Fortunately this was evident before we showered so we knew to move it aside - though the roll was damp.

Understanding that it was Easter and rates go up, I cannot reconcile the $250 we paid for this with the <$200 per night I spend on business travel at superior hotels.

I'm hopeful there are better rooms but this is only a hope

Room Tip: There is plenty of accomodation on the Gold Coast - this one seemed to cater for package tours ex As...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager_sovereign, Assistant Manager at Australis Sovereign Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete the guest’s survey in relation to your stay at Australis Sovereign Hotel. It is guest participation such as yours that enormously assists the hotel in controlling service standards to ensure all our guests experience our very high standards.

We are very pleased that you found our staff to be nice. However, I was most disappointed to read that you had not enjoyed all of your stay as much as we would have liked you to. I will be discussing all of your comments with all departments and we will be thoroughly investigating your concerns.

Once again thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback and I can assure you all feedback is taken very seriously and we are constantly working to improve our hotel.

Kind regards,

Rachel Condell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lennox Head, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Booked a twin room and was upgraded to a one bedroom unit with a queen bed. We got a deal online for free valet parking - it was great and no hassal. the car was there waiting when we checked out. The apartment was spacious - a little dark in the kitchen. Bathroom was HUGE. Clean, tidy and very comfortable. it was not the flashiest place I have ever stayed in but it was perfect for our needs. I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: He had a north tower it which faced east. Whilst it is right on the highway the glass is pretty nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager_sovereign, Front Office Manager at Australis Sovereign Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback on your stay at Australis Sovereign Hotel.

We are so glad we meet your needs and that you had a great stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
Rachel Condell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

Just had an enjoyable week in this hotel . I found the reception staff very helpful offering advice and booking transfers for us. The room wa spacious, tastfully furnished. We didnt have our room serviced and would have liked more than one towel for the week, although im sure if I'd asked I could have had one.
Only used the restaurant once as had cooking facilities, but found the meal really nice and staff friendly. Rooms very soundproof. Once the door to deck closed, no road noise at all.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager_sovereign, Front Office Manager at Australis Sovereign Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of Australis Sovereign Hotel.

We are happy to read that you found our reception staff very helpful. Please do not hesitate to request additional linen on your next stay.

Kind regards,
Rachel Condell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

My wife and I stayed 2 nights, avoiding a much dearer stay at the next door Marriott
The suite was clean , and sufficient. Bed smallish but comfortable. Good shower. Basic kitchenette Breakfast was fair. Gym was very basic with broken equipment - no free weights. Games room for the kids. Sauna had large hole under door. Wifi was not included ! Location a little out of Surfers main drag.
Bus directly out the front, beach a 200 metre walk. Staff were good
Good value.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager_sovereign, Front Office Manager at Australis Sovereign Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at the hotel.

We are delighted to hear you had an enjoyable stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,
Rachel Condell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gladstone, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

We were booked into this hotel by our event coordinator for our hens weekend. Service at the reception desk was very poor. They expected us to pay 2 x $200 bond for 2 rooms that were booked for the same group. I had to stand there and argue for 10 minutes until the receptionist finally looked up the booking and checked it was booked as one. As for the rooms, there were stains on the sheets, and the bathroom was poorly cleaned. Valet parking took forever. I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager_sovereign, Manager at Australis Sovereign Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback on Australis Sovereign Hotel.

I was most disappointed to read that you had not enjoyed your stay as much as we would have liked you to. I will be discussing all of your comments with all departments and we will be thoroughly investigating your concerns.

With regards to paying 2 x $200 bond, it is the hotel policy charge a security bond per room and not per group. This security bond is fully refundable upon departure if there are no outstanding charges. We do apologise if this was an unexpected amount for you.

With regards to the cleanliness of the room, please accept our apology, if the room was not up to high standard which the hotel strives to maintain.

Once again thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback and I can assure you all feedback is taken very seriously and we are constantly working to improve our hotel.

Kind regards,
Rachel Condell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Australis Sovereign Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Australis Sovereign Hotel

Address: 138 Ferny Avenue, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#9 Business Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#23 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Australis Sovereign Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gold Coast is a vibrant destination with endless sandy beaches located only 50 minutes drive south of Brisbane. The area offers sensational shopping, restaurants, nightlife, adventure parks and water based activities.Australis Sovereign is located minutes away from the beach and the buzzing town centre. For the outdoor and golf enthusiasts, the scenic hinterland and premier golf courses are close by. Australis Sovereign provides the perfect place to simply arrive, relax and unwind in a resort environment, whilst enjoying the excitement of the Gold Coast at your doorstep.Flavours Brasserie flows onto the terrace overlooking the pool area, creating a great atmosphere for breakfast, lunch and dinner. You can also enjoy an alfresco style lunch at The Pool Terrace or choose to dine in the comfort of your room with room service available 24 hours a day.Visit the tour desk to ensure you have all the information available to introduce you to the many delights the Gold Coast has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Australis Sovereign Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Australis Sovereign Surfers Paradise
Surfers Paradise Australis Sovereign
Australis Sovereign Hotel Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Australis Sovereign Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.