We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable, decor outdated.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Australis Sovereign Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Australis Sovereign Hotel to your Saves list
Australis Sovereign Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   138 Ferny Avenue, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 58 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable, decor outdated.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I stayed at the Australis Sovereign while attending a conference held next door at the Marriott; my three night stay was uneventful. An older hotel, my room was large with a separated living/bedroom area and large balcony. Friendly staff even going so far as to procure an apple for my collegue and a good location make this hotel is very suited to a family holiday or business trip. A buffet breakfast is available downstairs which was of fair quality.

A good, clean basic hotel with large rooms doesn't have the ambience of the nearby Marriott but nor does it have the price tag.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager_sovereign, Reservations and Yield Manager at Australis Sovereign Hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent feedback on Australis Sovereign Hotel. With you valuable feedback we are able to improve the hotel.

At Australis Sovereign Hotel we pride ourselves on providing excellence in customer service, and great value for money and we are delighted to hear that you found your stay to be clean and comfortable.

We look forward to hopefully welcoming you again in the future.

Kind regards,
Rachel Condell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    205
    118
    61
    49
See reviews for
149
224
32
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Invercargill, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

After reading some previous reviews I was slightly apprehensive about our stay. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We had a one bedroom unit with fold out sofa sleeper in the lounge. We were in the North wing and faced west, which was away from the street noise and sheltered from the strong easterly wind. There are a lot of roadworks on Ferny Avenue near the complex. We dined one night at the hotel restaurant and the food was reasonably priced and staff very friendly. We stayed for three nights and had a most enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: North wing facing west is away from the street noise of Ferny Avenue
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager_sovereign, Reservations and Yield Manager at Australis Sovereign Hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your valuable review of Australis Sovereign Hotel. We are so glad you had positive experience at the hotel. Fortunately, the road works on Ferny Avenue are nearly complete and upon their completion will provide the infrastructure for the light rail service.

Kind regards,
Rachel Condell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed here for a week in february and we found it to be a nice little base for what we needed. The beds were so comfy and we loved our little balcony (partial sea view, obscured by a few other hotel block buildings.) The pool and jacuzzi were small, but adequate for the size of the hotel, they were never too crowded when we went in (tip, go in later in the evening if you prefer it when it's quiet, and if you have kids, the morning and afternoon is a good time to take them, as thats when there will be other kids around for them to make friends with). We also made use of the sauna and although we didn't use the gym, it had most of the machines you would find in a regular gym. We didn't eat any meals there, but the restaurant looked like it had a nice atmosphere to it.
The staff were helpful and were able to give us advice on transport, as we hadn't hired a car. It was also in good walking distance to most of the facilities in Surfer's itself, and there was a bus stop right outside it that took you to all the theme parks and beyond.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager_sovereign, Reservations and Yield Manager at Australis Sovereign Hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of Australis Sovereign Hotel. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and found the hotel's location to be convenient.

Kind regards,
Rachel Condell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

My family of 6 with three adults and three children age 8, 6 & 5 stayed for a week in a two bedroom apartment as part of holiday club membership. Location is close to the beach and a decent 10-15 minute walk to main city centre. It was also next to Paradise Resort which has an ice skating rink for kids but we didn't get to try it but worth a look. The front desk service was friendly and helpful. The valet parking was a great luxury and complimentary for our room, although this wasn't the case for all guests. The apartment was reasonably comfortable with wooden floors and aircon in the main area, although unbearably hot in the bedrooms with use of the wall fans. The beds were okay although my husband complained of the bed was too soft and uncomfortable. My children enjoyed the pool and the spa and sauna was nice enough. The gym was a decent size with basic equipment, but no aircon. We had breakfast in the restaurant which was average and best to go to cavill ave for something more appetising. My main gripe was no oven which was removed from the apartments last year due to smoke alarms. As we didn't pay for any cleaning during our stay, we were surprised there was no broom, dustpan or vacuum to clean the room and had to call the service desk to borrow a vacuum everyday as you can appreciate with kids how messy it can get. All in all, a pleasant stay but not great enough to return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager_sovereign, Reservations and Yield Manager at Australis Sovereign Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your valuable review of Australis Sovereign Hotel. We are very happy to hear that you did in enjoy some aspects of your stay including our friendly staff.

We apologise that you were under the impression that the room would have an oven and cleaning equipment. As our rooms are not self contained we have never had these facilities. Should you wish to book again, we would be very happy to arrange for your room to be serviced throughout your stay.

Kind regards,
Rachel Condell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

I was at Australis Sovereign for business and found it to be very convenient for my business needs. Also, the relaxed atmosphere of the bar area and the pool was a great way to unwind after a hard day on the road.
The room had a kitchenette and there was a door that separated the bedroom and the living area. The spa bath was a great finishing touch to the room and totally relaxing.
The location was great but it may be a bit of a walk to the main restaurants if you don't have your own transportation. Bt all is still within walking distance.

Room Tip: Try and get the spa room. Very nice indeed and really spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager_sovereign, Reservations and Yield Manager at Australis Sovereign Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your valuable review of Australis Sovereign Hotel. We are delighted to hear that your requirements during your stay for business were meet and that you found your Spa Suite to be spacious and relaxing.

We look forward to seeing you at Australis Sovereign Hotel again.

Kind regards,
Rachel Condell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braybrook, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

My partner and I had an amazing stay at australis, it was a pleasure to actually have good service for once. The room was so nice with a great view. Everything was in walking distance from the hotel. Would recommend australis to every

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager_sovereign, Reservations and Yield Manager at Australis Sovereign Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive review of Australis Sovereign Hotel. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind regards,
Rachel Condell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We stayed for a 2 night weekend. The entrance is very nice and pool/spa area is also beautiful. No view of the beach but very easy walking distance to the beach and heart of surfers. Facilities were 4.5 star and restaurant buffet breakfast was nice. Room was 1 bedroom on 5th floor. Room was very big however smelled musty due to age of carpet. Room was very clean. The carpet in our room had burn marks everywhere from the iron. Lounge wasn't comfortable due to age and foam losing firmness. If carpet and lounge were replaced it would be worth the self 4.5 rating. Weekend was on a deal so didn't pay full price and I'm glad we did that. Would recommend but would find more modern accommodation for better price.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager_sovereign, Reservations and Yield Manager at Australis Sovereign Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for providing your valuable feedback of Australis Sovereign Hotel. We are very happy to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay. Further, we are pleased to advise that we are in the process of having the carpet and some furniture replaced to lift the standard of our rooms.

We would love the opportunity to welcome you again at the hotel in the future.

Kind regards,
Rachel Condell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Australis Sovereign Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Australis Sovereign Hotel

Address: 138 Ferny Avenue, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#20 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Australis Sovereign Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gold Coast is a vibrant destination with endless sandy beaches located only 50 minutes drive south of Brisbane. The area offers sensational shopping, restaurants, nightlife, adventure parks and water based activities.Australis Sovereign is located minutes away from the beach and the buzzing town centre. For the outdoor and golf enthusiasts, the scenic hinterland and premier golf courses are close by. Australis Sovereign provides the perfect place to simply arrive, relax and unwind in a resort environment, whilst enjoying the excitement of the Gold Coast at your doorstep.Flavours Brasserie flows onto the terrace overlooking the pool area, creating a great atmosphere for breakfast, lunch and dinner. You can also enjoy an alfresco style lunch at The Pool Terrace or choose to dine in the comfort of your room with room service available 24 hours a day.Visit the tour desk to ensure you have all the information available to introduce you to the many delights the Gold Coast has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Australis Sovereign Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Australis Sovereign Surfers Paradise
Surfers Paradise Australis Sovereign
Australis Sovereign Hotel Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Australis Sovereign Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.