We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and Spacious Apartment” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Breakfree Peninsula

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Breakfree Peninsula to your Saves list
Breakfree Peninsula
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner Clifford Street & Esplanade, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 73 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
1 review
“Great Location and Spacious Apartment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We stayed in a two bedroom apartment for 3 nights and so happy to see that everything was provided. Rooms are spacious and the apartment is really close to shops and the beach. The staffs were friendly and helpful as well. We stayed on level 2 so we did not get a great sea view, I hope we could get a room on the higher levels the next time we come for a visit. Will definitely come back!

Room Tip: Get a room on Higher Levels (Level 5 and above) to get amazing sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    89
    29
    20
    17
See reviews for
192
50
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

My friends and I had a short break at peninsula and stayed in 2 bedroom deluxe apartment 6f once again, this unit is the cleanest and most well kept modern unit I have ever stayed in. Everything close by and straight across the road for a swim in the surf. Views of the beach are incredible to wake up to.
thanks once again Joanne for making our stay fantastic.
We are hoping to return in November so I will be in touch.

Room Tip: Search "unit 6F peninsula apartments" on stayz for a great apartment that sleeps 6
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

The Peninsula is a great resort in a great location. Very close to the beach, shops, restaurants, nightlife but still far enough to not be disturbed. The room was fairly clean and very spacious. My only gripe is that the curtains were dirty, the bedroom furniture was very dated and the balcony doors were hard to open and lock. There was no alarm clock either. The views were incredible with a full 200 degree outlook. I would give it five stars if those matters mentioned were fixed. Overall, and especially for the price, I would definitely stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

The views, amenity and features of the building make this resort one of the best in the Gold Coast.

Good value for money, highly recommend the D units as you get 3 balconies facing the beach on the east, north and the hinterlands on the west.

Room Tip: Choose the D units as you get 3 balconies facing the beach on the east, north and the hinterlands on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gosford
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our mini break here, location location location...perfect. Our apartment requests were granted and reception staff are fantastic, you can tell they love their jobs, it shows and it makes you feel very welcome. Any issues with our apartment were sorted promptly and the complex has everything you need for a perfect break, thank you!

Room Tip: As stated before, higher apartments, A, B or C.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

This is the second time we have stayed here. Last time was in Sep 13, but I think I forgot to write a review for that stay. We stayed here for 3 nights during the school holidays.

I was more than happy with this apartment for the price we paid. It was a nice 2 bedroom, ocean/Cavill Ave view. The downside, if you could really call it that, was the sun heated up the whole apartment (lounge and bedrooms). There was an air conditioner in the lounge area, however only ceiling fans in the bedrooms. We would close the curtains during the day, but it would still heat up. In saying that, it didn't prevent us from sleeping at night. The beds were ok, not my preference in mattress but after full days at the theme parks I would sleep anywhere.

I remember looking at the this building 25-30 years ago as a kid, thinking it was the creme de la creme, which in the 80s I am sure it was. The apartments still have that 80s feel with the mirrored walls, but I think it adds to the character of the place. Our apartment had modern kitchen and furniture.

Would I stay here again? Absolutely. I like the location, and the heated indoor pool as well as the two outdoor pools. Only a couple of blocks from Cavill makes it a great spot. Secure car parking underneath is also fabulous. Waiting for lifts was never a problem either.

Cleanliness - the apartment was clean, however with these type of accommodations I do not inspect the cleanliness too closely. There were clean sheets and the bathroom had no signs of hair floating around which is a real pet hate of mine.

Reception staff friendly, though apart from checking in and out, we had no need to bother them.

Room Tip: We stayed in a 'B' room with the lovely views, keep in mind the sun shining in, if this is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

We stayed at the Peninsula Surfers for 3 nights in a 2 bedroom apartment. The views north and south of the beach were fantastic. Waking up to a hinterland view was awesome too. Restaurants, cafe and shops are close by. There is also a patrolled beach across the road. The apartments are very spacious with fully equipped kitchen and laundry. The beds were very comfortable and the apartment was very clean on check in. We have booked to return for our Christmas break. Lots of amenities for kids and adults with pools,gym,sauna, outdoor BBQ's etc.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra and book a renovated unit on the upper floors. We were on floor 35.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Breakfree Peninsula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breakfree Peninsula

Address: Corner Clifford Street & Esplanade, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#13 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#16 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Breakfree Peninsula 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Surfers Paradise Esplanade, BreakFree Peninsula offers sweeping views from the Gold Coast hinterland to the wide expanse of the Pacific Ocean. Just 100 metres to the beach and close to the retail and dining hub of Cavill Avenue, the resort offers quality, affordable accommodation ideal for a weekend getaway or family holiday. Accommodation options include one, two and three-bedroom apartments, most with stunning ocean views. If you want to pay a small amount more you can live it up Surfers Paradise style in our 2 bedroom deluxe ocean apartments that have been completely refurbished. All apartments feature their own balcony, ceiling fans, hair dryer, in-room safe, Foxtel, security access and intercom, and full kitchen and laundry facilities. Onsite there are many facilities to choose from including three swimming pools, children's wading pool and playground, heated spa, sauna, gymnasium, tennis court, BBQ facilities and in-room massage. We are just down the road from Cavill Mall, the shopping and dining hub of Surfers Paradise, and close to all the action of Surfers Paradise without being surrounded by it all day and night. Directly opposite the beach, BreakFree Peninsula offers family friendly facilities and the perfect location for your Surfers Paradise escape. **PLEASE NOTE** Airconditioning is available in some apartments only. Hence it is on request but subject to availability. For your convenience we cannot accept bookings for same day arrivals outside of reception hours. Maintenance Advise: From 24 April until 15 December 2014 refurbishment work is being undertaken. The work includes some drilling or jack hammering noise between the hours of 8am and 4pm. The tennis court will be out of operation during this time. Entry to the driveway will be partially blocked off with entry by foot via the exit driveway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Breakfree Peninsula reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakfree Peninsula Hotel Surfers Paradise
Peninsula Hotel Breakfree
Peninsula Apartments
Surfers Paradise Peninsula
Breakfree Peninsula Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Breakfree Peninsula, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.