We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Breakfree Peninsula

Save Saved
You added Breakfree Peninsula to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Breakfree Peninsula
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner Clifford Street & Esplanade, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 74 hotels in Surfers Paradise
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Stayed at Peninsula recently for the first time after coming to surfers paradise for many years. We had an apartment high up with fantastic views and plenty of space. Peninsula is very well located close to shops and beach and the room was well equipped and clean. Many thanks to Adil and the reception team for helping make our stay an enjoyable one. We look forward to returning.knoxdebra2

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adil1, General Manager at Breakfree Peninsula, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Peter K,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at Breakfree Peninsula.

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our location to the beach & local shops convenient. Our team is very focussed on guest satisfaction and I am pleased to hear your comments about the same.

I look forward to welcoming you and your partner again at Breakfree Peninsula in the near future.

Regards

Adil Fitter
General Manager
Breakfree Peninsula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    171
    87
    27
    20
    15
See reviews for
185
49
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Rapallo, Italy
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

This was our second stay at the Peninsula and it was thoroughly enjoyable thanks to the Managing Director, Adil Fitter, who assured us that we would have a beautiful apartment with a spectacular view. And so it was was! The deluxe apartment was located on a high floor with ocean and beach views from the huge living/dining area and kitchen and was a treat to the eyes. Could not have been better. I should add that the staff, in addition to Mr. Fitter, were all pleasant, professional and helpful. We definitely plan to return next year.

Room Tip: Make your booking early to ensure you get the best views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adil1, General Manager at Breakfree Peninsula, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Franc-Rapallo,

Thank you for posting such a fabulous review for Breakfree Peninsula.

I am delighted to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay again with us. Our spacious apartments have breathtaking views and our location is very central to all amenities.

It is pleasing to hear your comments about our friendly team who go the extra distance to ensure that guests are well looked after.

I look forward to welcoming you and your family again at Breakfree Peninsula on your next visit to the sunny Gold Coast.

Regards

Adil Fitter
General Manager
Breakfree Peninsula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moss Vale, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We got a really good deal for 7 days to stay at one of the breakfree's in surfers paradise. We chose the peninsula and I must say, if we had paid full price I would've demanded my money back and changed hotels.
The first room we got put into was filthy, there was dust on everything and toothpaste on the back of the bedroom door and had only ceiling fans, no air conditioning. You must request it if you want it?!?!?!?!? We then asked to change to a different room as without air con the room was so stuffy and hot.
It was as though we were an inconvenience to the staff member behind the counter.
After she was all 'set up' she managed to find us another room. Again, the cleanliness was questionable.
As we have stayed at the Breakfree on George st in Sydney, our expectations were quite high. Needless to say we were extremely disappointed.
The location is great as you are in the heart of Surfers and the pools were quite nice but I would never return to this hotel.
I would recommend the cleaning staff be re-trained and the staff to be taught about customer service.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adil1, General Manager at Breakfree Peninsula, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Tash S,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at Breakfree Peninsula. I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with some aspects of your stay.

At Breakfree Peninsula, we offer good value for money accommodation. Our website clearly mentions that airconditioning is subject to availability and cannot be guaranteed. However, all our 2 bedroom Deluxe apartments have full airconditioning.

I have noted your comments about the cleanliness of the apartment and have forwarded your comments to our housekeeping supervisor for corrective action.

I apologise for any disappointment you experienced during your stay and would request you to contact me directly for your next booking. I assure you that you will definitely have a great stay with us next time.

Regards

Adil Fitter
General Manager
Breakfree Peninsula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Have stayed at peninsular 2 first time great 2nd not so good. Coming back in 3 weeks with d petch and hoping for a nice apartment high up and clean comfortable with views sure it will be and not an older one like previously

Room Tip: cnr unit above 7 with sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adil1, General Manager at Breakfree Peninsula, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Hi baab808,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Breakfree Peninsula again.

I have noted your comments about your previous stay with us. Please contact me directly by e-mail: adil.fitter@breakfree.com.au and I will ensure that you will have a great stay with us.

Looking forward to welcoming you at Breakfree Peninsula soon.

Regards

Adil Fitter
General Manager
Breakfree Peninsula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The Peninsula is in a great location right across the road from the beach and only a few minutes walk to the shops. We were on the 30th floor in a 2-bdrm apartment and had brilliant unobstructed views of the beach and the coast to the south from our lounge and balcony, with river views from the kitchen and the bedrooms. The apartment itself was a little tired and dated but most disappointing was the appliances. The dishwasher was falling apart (although sort of still functional) and the dishes needed to be rinsed clean before being put in the dishwasher. The washing machine and dryer weren't too bad but the placement of the dryer meant that you couldn't fully open the lid of the washing machine so needed 2 pairs of hands to load and unload the washing machine. We also had trouble adjusting the taps in the showers to get the temperature right, consequently wasting a lot of water in the process. Although there was a safe in our room, we couldn't use it because the key wouldn't work in it. We tried 2 different keys that reception gave us but to no avail. The man at reception promised to get in a locksmith the next day to rectify the problem but this never happened. Grounds and pools are nicely landscaped so a bit more attention to the rooms would make this a very desirable property.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adil1, General Manager at Breakfree Peninsula, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Dear Michelle C,

Thank you for sharing your holiday experience about your recent stay at Breakfree Peninsula.

I have noted your comments about the condition of the apartment and the appliances. I have informed the concerned owner about your comments. The apartment is sheduled for a refurbishment which will enhance the overall presentation of the apartment and also the guest experience.

As regards the safe key, we had contacted a locksmith but he was unable to attend during your stay. Corrective action has since been taken.

This is not up to our usual standard and I apologise for any disappointment you experienced during your stay.

Regards

Adil Fitter
General Manager
Breakfree Peninsula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brightwaters, NSW Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

what a fabulous time we had. we were given rooms on the same floor as our friends which meant the kids could go from room to room easily and safely. Our room was well set up and the beds were wonderfully comfortable for a holiday. It was so relaxing hearing the surf at night as we drifted to sleep . The kitchen was handy and the dishwasher was well used. Having a Iaundry meant we went home with no washing. It was a great location for beach access, shopping and day tripping anywhere we wanted to go. we would love to go again and the kids certainly are making plans already. The pools were fantastic.... Hope to see you there .

Room Tip: we had a direct beachfront room It was a little warm with the morning sun but the a/c took care of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adil1, General Manager at Breakfree Peninsula, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Der Tania A,

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor about your recent stay at Breakfree Peninsula.

It is pleasing to hear that you and your family had a fabulous time staying at Breakfree Peninsula and enjoying the facilities which we offer.

I am delighted to hear that we were able to provide you and your family with a memorable holiday experience.

I look forward to welcoming you and your family back at Breakfree Peninsula on your next visit soon.

Regards

Adil Fitter
General Manager
Breakfree Peninsula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
griffith
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

Been going for 8yrs to the Peninsula we love everything about it!!! Its clean, friendly staff, close to a clean flagged beach. The shops are close with lots of different restaurants to choose from!! Great place to be :)

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adil1, General Manager at Breakfree Peninsula, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Dear Petalgriffith,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us.

It is pleasing to hear that you are a regular visitor at Breakfree Peninsula and enjoy your stay with us with your family. I fully endorse your comments about our central location, spacious and clean apartments and our friendly team.

I look forward to welcoming you and your family again in the near future.

Regards

Adil Fitter
General Manager
Breakfree Peninsula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Breakfree Peninsula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breakfree Peninsula

Address: Corner Clifford Street & Esplanade, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#12 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Breakfree Peninsula 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Surfers Paradise Esplanade, BreakFree Peninsula offers sweeping views from the Gold Coast hinterland to the wide expanse of the Pacific Ocean. Just 100 metres to the beach and close to the retail and dining hub of Cavill Avenue, the resort offers quality, affordable accommodation ideal for a weekend getaway or family holiday. Accommodation options include one, two and three-bedroom apartments, most with stunning ocean views. If you want to pay a small amount more you can live it up Surfers Paradise style in our 2 bedroom deluxe ocean apartments that have been completely refurbished. All apartments feature their own balcony, ceiling fans, hair dryer, in-room safe, Foxtel, security access and intercom, and full kitchen and laundry facilities. Onsite there are many facilities to choose from including three swimming pools, children's wading pool and playground, heated spa, sauna, gymnasium, tennis court, BBQ facilities and in-room massage. We are just down the road from Cavill Mall, the shopping and dining hub of Surfers Paradise, and close to all the action of Surfers Paradise without being surrounded by it all day and night. Directly opposite the beach, BreakFree Peninsula offers family friendly facilities and the perfect location for your Surfers Paradise escape. **PLEASE NOTE** Airconditioning is available in some apartments only. Hence it is on request but subject to availability. For your convenience we cannot accept bookings for same day arrivals outside of reception hours. Maintenance Advise: From 24 April until 15 December 2014 refurbishment work is being undertaken. The work includes some drilling or jack hammering noise between the hours of 8am and 4pm. The tennis court will be out of operation during this time. Entry to the driveway will be partially blocked off with entry by foot via the exit driveway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Breakfree Peninsula reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakfree Peninsula Hotel Surfers Paradise
Peninsula Hotel Breakfree
Peninsula Apartments
Surfers Paradise Peninsula
Breakfree Peninsula Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Breakfree Peninsula, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.