We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lucky for the location!!!!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Breakfree Peninsula

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Breakfree Peninsula to your Saves list
Breakfree Peninsula
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner Clifford Street & Esplanade, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 58 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Moss Vale, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Lucky for the location!!!!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We got a really good deal for 7 days to stay at one of the breakfree's in surfers paradise. We chose the peninsula and I must say, if we had paid full price I would've demanded my money back and changed hotels.
The first room we got put into was filthy, there was dust on everything and toothpaste on the back of the bedroom door and had only ceiling fans, no air conditioning. You must request it if you want it?!?!?!?!? We then asked to change to a different room as without air con the room was so stuffy and hot.
It was as though we were an inconvenience to the staff member behind the counter.
After she was all 'set up' she managed to find us another room. Again, the cleanliness was questionable.
As we have stayed at the Breakfree on George st in Sydney, our expectations were quite high. Needless to say we were extremely disappointed.
The location is great as you are in the heart of Surfers and the pools were quite nice but I would never return to this hotel.
I would recommend the cleaning staff be re-trained and the staff to be taught about customer service.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adil1, General Manager at Breakfree Peninsula, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Tash S,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at Breakfree Peninsula. I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with some aspects of your stay.

At Breakfree Peninsula, we offer good value for money accommodation. Our website clearly mentions that airconditioning is subject to availability and cannot be guaranteed. However, all our 2 bedroom Deluxe apartments have full airconditioning.

I have noted your comments about the cleanliness of the apartment and have forwarded your comments to our housekeeping supervisor for corrective action.

I apologise for any disappointment you experienced during your stay and would request you to contact me directly for your next booking. I assure you that you will definitely have a great stay with us next time.

Regards

Adil Fitter
General Manager
Breakfree Peninsula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    89
    30
    20
    19
See reviews for
194
52
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Have stayed at peninsular 2 first time great 2nd not so good. Coming back in 3 weeks with d petch and hoping for a nice apartment high up and clean comfortable with views sure it will be and not an older one like previously

Room Tip: cnr unit above 7 with sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adil1, General Manager at Breakfree Peninsula, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Hi baab808,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Breakfree Peninsula again.

I have noted your comments about your previous stay with us. Please contact me directly by e-mail: adil.fitter@breakfree.com.au and I will ensure that you will have a great stay with us.

Looking forward to welcoming you at Breakfree Peninsula soon.

Regards

Adil Fitter
General Manager
Breakfree Peninsula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The Peninsula is in a great location right across the road from the beach and only a few minutes walk to the shops. We were on the 30th floor in a 2-bdrm apartment and had brilliant unobstructed views of the beach and the coast to the south from our lounge and balcony, with river views from the kitchen and the bedrooms. The apartment itself was a little tired and dated but most disappointing was the appliances. The dishwasher was falling apart (although sort of still functional) and the dishes needed to be rinsed clean before being put in the dishwasher. The washing machine and dryer weren't too bad but the placement of the dryer meant that you couldn't fully open the lid of the washing machine so needed 2 pairs of hands to load and unload the washing machine. We also had trouble adjusting the taps in the showers to get the temperature right, consequently wasting a lot of water in the process. Although there was a safe in our room, we couldn't use it because the key wouldn't work in it. We tried 2 different keys that reception gave us but to no avail. The man at reception promised to get in a locksmith the next day to rectify the problem but this never happened. Grounds and pools are nicely landscaped so a bit more attention to the rooms would make this a very desirable property.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adil1, General Manager at Breakfree Peninsula, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Dear Michelle C,

Thank you for sharing your holiday experience about your recent stay at Breakfree Peninsula.

I have noted your comments about the condition of the apartment and the appliances. I have informed the concerned owner about your comments. The apartment is sheduled for a refurbishment which will enhance the overall presentation of the apartment and also the guest experience.

As regards the safe key, we had contacted a locksmith but he was unable to attend during your stay. Corrective action has since been taken.

This is not up to our usual standard and I apologise for any disappointment you experienced during your stay.

Regards

Adil Fitter
General Manager
Breakfree Peninsula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brightwaters, NSW Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

what a fabulous time we had. we were given rooms on the same floor as our friends which meant the kids could go from room to room easily and safely. Our room was well set up and the beds were wonderfully comfortable for a holiday. It was so relaxing hearing the surf at night as we drifted to sleep . The kitchen was handy and the dishwasher was well used. Having a Iaundry meant we went home with no washing. It was a great location for beach access, shopping and day tripping anywhere we wanted to go. we would love to go again and the kids certainly are making plans already. The pools were fantastic.... Hope to see you there .

Room Tip: we had a direct beachfront room It was a little warm with the morning sun but the a/c took care of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adil1, General Manager at Breakfree Peninsula, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Der Tania A,

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor about your recent stay at Breakfree Peninsula.

It is pleasing to hear that you and your family had a fabulous time staying at Breakfree Peninsula and enjoying the facilities which we offer.

I am delighted to hear that we were able to provide you and your family with a memorable holiday experience.

I look forward to welcoming you and your family back at Breakfree Peninsula on your next visit soon.

Regards

Adil Fitter
General Manager
Breakfree Peninsula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
griffith
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

Been going for 8yrs to the Peninsula we love everything about it!!! Its clean, friendly staff, close to a clean flagged beach. The shops are close with lots of different restaurants to choose from!! Great place to be :)

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adil1, General Manager at Breakfree Peninsula, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Dear Petalgriffith,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us.

It is pleasing to hear that you are a regular visitor at Breakfree Peninsula and enjoy your stay with us with your family. I fully endorse your comments about our central location, spacious and clean apartments and our friendly team.

I look forward to welcoming you and your family again in the near future.

Regards

Adil Fitter
General Manager
Breakfree Peninsula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Excellent value. Great service. Good beds. Level 34 was excellent with great views of the coast to the east. The rooms are a great size and functionable. The location is excellent being within a few minutes from the beach and Surfers. Quiet area and able to leave the windows open and listen to the beach at night. Facilites are great for kids. Our apartment was perfect for us but if you wanted to be picky it could do with a update but based on value for money you couldn't go past Peninsular. Susanne

Room Tip: Higher floors have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adil1, General Manager at Breakfree Peninsula, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Dear Susanne,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at Breakfree Peninsula.

I am delighted to hear that you and your family had a great stay at Breakfree Peninsula. It is pleasing to hear your comments about our central location, spacious apartments with ocean views and common area facilities. I am very happy that we were able to assist in providing you with a memorable holiday.

I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you and your family back to Breakfree Peninsula again soon.


Regards

Adil Fitter
General Manager
Breakfree Peninsula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallsend, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

My family and I have stayed at Peninsula Apartments on several occasions when holidaying on the Gold Coast. We chose Peninsula initially as they were central to all facilities etc. We fly up so rely on walking to restaurants beaches etc and so for that reason Peninsula is perfect for us. The rooms are spacious and clean and the staff are polite and very helpful. Would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: A room overlooking the beach is great for families. Did find that lower floors were a lot noisier th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adil1, General Manager at Breakfree Peninsula, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Dear Annissa C,

Thank you for your feeback about your holiday experience at Breakfree Peninsula.

I am glad to hear your comments about our central location, spacious apartments and friendly staff. I sincerely thank you for recommending us on Trip Advisor.

I look forward to welcoming you and your family again at Breakfree Peninsula on your next visit.

Regards

Adil Fitter
General Manager
Breakfree Peninsula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Breakfree Peninsula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breakfree Peninsula

Address: Corner Clifford Street & Esplanade, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#11 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#15 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Breakfree Peninsula 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Surfers Paradise Esplanade, BreakFree Peninsula offers sweeping views from the Gold Coast hinterland to the wide expanse of the Pacific Ocean. Just 100 metres to the beach and close to the retail and dining hub of Cavill Avenue, the resort offers quality, affordable accommodation ideal for a weekend getaway or family holiday. Accommodation options include one, two and three-bedroom apartments, most with stunning ocean views. If you want to pay a small amount more you can live it up Surfers Paradise style in our 2 bedroom deluxe ocean apartments that have been completely refurbished. All apartments feature their own balcony, ceiling fans, hair dryer, in-room safe, Foxtel, security access and intercom, and full kitchen and laundry facilities. Onsite there are many facilities to choose from including three swimming pools, children's wading pool and playground, heated spa, sauna, gymnasium, tennis court, BBQ facilities and in-room massage. We are just down the road from Cavill Mall, the shopping and dining hub of Surfers Paradise, and close to all the action of Surfers Paradise without being surrounded by it all day and night. Directly opposite the beach, BreakFree Peninsula offers family friendly facilities and the perfect location for your Surfers Paradise escape. **PLEASE NOTE** Airconditioning is available in some apartments only. Hence it is on request but subject to availability. For your convenience we cannot accept bookings for same day arrivals outside of reception hours. Maintenance Advise: BreakFree Peninsula Refurbishment Works: 1 October - 19 December 2014 & 27 January to 19 September 2015 From 1 October until 19 December 2014 and 27 January to 19 September 2015 refurbishment work is being undertaken. The work includes some drilling and jack hammering noise between the hours of 8am and 4pm. During the refurbishment dates entry to the property will be partially blocked off and there will be restricted access to some balconies. Until 19 December 2014 the outdoor pool area will be closed until 11am daily. From 27 January until 19 September 2015 the outdoor pool area will be out of operation. The indoor pool will remain open from 7am until 9pm throughout the entire refurbishment period. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Breakfree Peninsula reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakfree Peninsula Hotel Surfers Paradise
Peninsula Hotel Breakfree
Peninsula Apartments
Surfers Paradise Peninsula
Breakfree Peninsula Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Breakfree Peninsula, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.